Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array smegmer PC Specs
    smegmer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorI7 4770k (4.4) 1.198v
    Memory (part number)Hyperx savage 2200mhz CL11
    Graphics Card #1GTX Msi 980 Gaming 0c
    MonitorSamsung 55inch tv
    Storage #1Bx 100 250gig
    Storage #2Intel 530 120 gig
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-d15
    CaseFractal Design R4
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax 1200i
    Keyboard Logitech m700
    Mouse Logitech mx professional
    OS Win 10 home 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Pro opinions and commentet's on my setup (my goal is as powerful 24/7 use at Oc)

    Hello!

    I'm new to this forum, tough I have read alot of the threads I feel that I would like to discuss the gear in my rig.

    I'm active in alot of forums but in this I really think that I will get valuable and really useful info, cause you guys really seems to know your stuff!

    For starter I will post my gear and how it's built, and later on I'll going to ask som questions and a really hope they are to you guys worth discussin!

    Case: coolermaster HAF 912+

    Motherboard: Asus maximus hero Vii

    Cpu: i7 4770k (running as we speak at 4.4)

    Gpu: Sapphire r9 290 trix oc edition (now running at stock speed)

    Psu: corsair AX1200i

    Memmory: 4x4 dual 1333mhz (running at 1600mhz xmp)

    Ssd 1 (system disk, programs games): bx 100 250gig (latest software)

    Ssd 2 (other misc stuff, movies etc): Intel 530 (latest software)

    OS: windows 10 home 64bit

    For cooling I have gone for aircooling straight thru.

    Cpu cooler: noctua nh-d15 (noctua nt-h1 cooling paste)

    Front air intake: 2x noctua NF-f12 120mm pmw

    Back air exhaust: 1 noctua NF-S12A 120mm pmw

    Side air intake: 1 noctua NF-f12 120mm pmw

    Top air exhaust: 2x noctua NF-S12A 120mm pmw

    I aimd for very low noise level while idle tough very serious cooling at full load, and I didn't want to watercool it because of the expense and lack of
    knowledge.

    So there it is, iknow it's not the latest gen cpu and most expensive gpu or highest memory speed but I think it's pretty solid for gaming at 1080x1920 on my Samsung 55inch tv.

    My goal was that I wanted to play games like fallout 4 and the Witcher 3 etc at higher fps and better graphics then on a Ps4 (and I've spent almost the same cash for this rigg as what a ps4 would have cost me in Sweden so I think I've succeed with my goal with this gear)

    In the future I think that maybe I will crossfire another 290 or 290x card (with a highend cooler like the one I have) or maybe change to a gtx 980ssc or something like that but that is in the future (like 6 months or so) until then this will due.

    My questions to you all is about oc'ing the Cpu further, temp questions and alike.

    My current oc on my Cpu as I wrote is 4.4 on alcores, vcore is set to Manuel at 1.198 (rog Cpu says 1.198 and AI suit says 2.000) (xmp is enable) other than that everything is set to what it was default.

    So it seems by my various programs that it runs on 4.4 all the time sould I make it downclock it self down while it's in idle etc or should I leav it at running 4.4 all the time? If not how do I make it downclock at idle?

    Should I set vcore to something else like adaptive or offset or should I go Manuel all the time? If I sould choose another vcore setting witch one and why and what settings should I put in to tex offset volt etc?

    Should I disable or enable or change some other setting? (for better oc)

    Should I disable internal gpu does it matter? Now it's on auto detect or something like that

    I've only tested this with rogbench and it's no problem at 4.4 at this vcore temp has been 71 celsius on the hottest core (at the same time the lowest core temp where 63 is it normal to vary that much between cores?)
    And in idel it lays on about 33-34-35 Celsius.

    I have set my own fan curve in ai suit, on idle the temp is about highest 35 Celsius at 700-780 rpm on the dh-15.

    So is rogbench reliable?

    Should I stress it with some other program? If so witch?

    Do I have a good chip? (I think so because of the low vcore at that multiplier) from what I have read ofcourse.

    Should I push for higher multiplier or lower vcore? Or both, if so witch first?

    Witch tempreading software should I use?
    Hw monitor
    AI suite
    Realtemp
    Corsair link
    I have them all witch one do you think reeds most accurate?

    I really hope to get alot of comments, opinions and answer's from you guys!

    Do you need more info of my rig just ask!

    Kindest regards John/smegmer

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,427

    Hello smegmer

    You have a very good 4770k if you can pass the realbnch stress test with 1.198v at 4.4GHz and is a good stress testing program to use. Trust what cpu-z says and don't run ai suite with cpu-z, they will conflict with each other and give you inaccurate readings. If ai suite is showing 2.000v that obviously is not correct or your cpu would be dead.

    You can run it in manual mode and have your cpu stay at your overclock or you can use adaptive or offset mode to drop the frequency and voltage when at idle, I personally choose to run mine in manual mode.

    if you want to use adaptive, set the cpu core voltage to adaptive then enter your voltage 1.198v in the "Additional turbo voltage" enter in an offset of -.001v or +.001v. Be sure the windows power plan is set to balanced then check cpu-z to see if frequency and voltage has dropped.

    With max temp of 71c during the realbench stress test you can try for 4.5GHz - 4.6GHz, your Noctua cooler should get you there as it is one of if not the best air cpu coolers.

    To overclock higher and you have room to push higher, set the cpu core ratio to 45 and cpu core voltage to 1.24v if it fails the test set it to 1.25v and test again. keep adding .01v until you can pass the test. You can overclock until temps hit 90c with realbench then you know you're at the limit. I don't like to leave it at 90c for too long though as cpu degredation could start setting in.

    Use Realtemp 3.70 and ROG cpu-z for monitoring, do not have ai suite open in fact I would recommend uninstalling it and then run this cleaner.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...te-III-Cleaner

    I don't consider myself a pro but I do have my 3770k at 5.0GHz.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5.0GHz.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	159.2 KB 
ID:	53997
    Last edited by Nate152; 12-07-2015 at 06:36 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array smegmer PC Specs
    smegmer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorI7 4770k (4.4) 1.198v
    Memory (part number)Hyperx savage 2200mhz CL11
    Graphics Card #1GTX Msi 980 Gaming 0c
    MonitorSamsung 55inch tv
    Storage #1Bx 100 250gig
    Storage #2Intel 530 120 gig
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-d15
    CaseFractal Design R4
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax 1200i
    Keyboard Logitech m700
    Mouse Logitech mx professional
    OS Win 10 home 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello smegmer

    You have a very good 4770k if you can pass the realbnch stress test with 1.198v at 4.4GHz and is a good stress testing program to use. Trust what cpu-z says and don't run ai suite with cpu-z, they will conflict with each other and give you inaccurate readings. If ai suite is showing 2.000v that obviously is not correct or your cpu would be dead.

    You can run it in manual mode and have your cpu stay at your overclock or you can use adaptive or offset mode to drop the frequency and voltage when at idle, I personally choose to run mine in manual mode.

    if you want to use adaptive, set the cpu core voltage to adaptive then enter your voltage 1.198v in the "Additional turbo voltage" enter in an offset of -.001v or +.001v. Be sure the windows power plan is set to balanced then check cpu-z to see if frequency and voltage has dropped.

    With max temp of 71c during the realbench stress test you can try for 4.5GHz - 4.6GHz, your Noctua cooler should get you there as it is one of if not the best air cpu coolers.

    To overclock higher and you have room to push higher, set the cpu core ratio to 45 and cpu core voltage to 1.24v if it fails the test set it to 1.25v and test again. keep adding .01v until you can pass the test. You can overclock until temps hit 90c with realbench then you know you're at the limit. I don't like to leave it at 90c for too long though as cpu degredation could start setting in.

    Use Realtemp 3.70 and ROG cpu-z for monitoring, do not have ai suite open in fact I would recommend uninstalling it and then run this cleaner.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...te-III-Cleaner

    I don't consider myself a pro but I do have my 3770k at 5.0GHz.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5.0GHz.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	159.2 KB 
ID:	53997
    Hey! Almost gave up hope on getting a reply from someone so thank you for taking your time to respond to my thread!

    Thanks I think so too seems like alot of people need alot more volt to even oc less then I've done, so I'm pretty happy with my sample!

    Yes I'm using rog cpu-z and in that program my vcore says 1.198 (and Btw I meant 1.200 vcore in ai suit not 2.000 my bad sorry)

    Yes I've read that to about the tempreading software are supposed to run one at the time. (using Realtemp as we speak)

    I've have already uninstalld ai suit (the only reason I installed it was because of the fan profile stuff but that worked terribly so Ive set my fan profile straight in bios). The link you gave me worked but Ive got a error code while running the file (tough I have a very good clean up software that erase every thing down to registrylevel so I think I've got it all erased anyway) but thanks for the link and tip!

    I think I leave my volt at manual for now kind of like it that way and I don't care if it draws more power, bur if I ever in the future change my mind I'm really grateful for the information regarding offset and adaptive volt.

    I'm currently playing the Witcher 3 with everything set to ultra+++ and all the other setting as high as it goes, and it flows super smooth haven't had a single noticeable lag, glitch, drop not anything at all so it does the job perfectly my Cpu is steady at 52 highest core temp (bearly hearing the noctua nh d15) and the 290 at 63 highest temp (with a manual fan curve at about 25% to 70 degrees and after that 35% up to 90 degrees.

    I will tough aim for 4.5 4.6 for the fun of it som day when I have the time, think I will be able to do that at maybe 1.250 volt at highest but that's just a guess from my side, looking forward to it tough

    With a 5.0 3770k it sounds like you know what you are talking about

    Thanks for your time and I hope more people join in to discuss and compare

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Sweet spot for DDR3 memory on that platform is 1866MHz in real life performance.
    2400MHz for benchmarking.

    2x8GB would put less stress on the CPU IMC, allowing better OC'ing potential.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array smegmer PC Specs
    smegmer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorI7 4770k (4.4) 1.198v
    Memory (part number)Hyperx savage 2200mhz CL11
    Graphics Card #1GTX Msi 980 Gaming 0c
    MonitorSamsung 55inch tv
    Storage #1Bx 100 250gig
    Storage #2Intel 530 120 gig
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-d15
    CaseFractal Design R4
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax 1200i
    Keyboard Logitech m700
    Mouse Logitech mx professional
    OS Win 10 home 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Sweet spot for DDR3 memory on that platform is 1866MHz in real life performance.
    2400MHz for benchmarking.

    2x8GB would put less stress on the CPU IMC, allowing better OC'ing potential.
    I'm planning to upgrade the ram because the ram I have now was kind of left over sort of thing and I thought "what the hell I use it for now"

    And then it's going to be 2x8 instead of 4x4. I've read somewhere (don't remember where) that 1600mhz was the sweet spot for this Cpu (but maybe it was for stock speed, I don't remember)

    In the future it will be 2x8 1866mhz thanks for the advice!

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,427

    You can run 2400MHz ram if you wanted but if you have 1600MHz ram that works I'd just stick with that. You won't get much of a performance gain going with 1866MHz - 2400MHz ram. The gpu is where you would get a nice performance increase, in my opinion it wouldn't justify the cost to upgrade your ram, I'd put it towards a gtx 970 or 980.

    http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=...7EE545F5295181
    Last edited by Nate152; 12-13-2015 at 02:54 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array smegmer PC Specs
    smegmer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorI7 4770k (4.4) 1.198v
    Memory (part number)Hyperx savage 2200mhz CL11
    Graphics Card #1GTX Msi 980 Gaming 0c
    MonitorSamsung 55inch tv
    Storage #1Bx 100 250gig
    Storage #2Intel 530 120 gig
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-d15
    CaseFractal Design R4
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax 1200i
    Keyboard Logitech m700
    Mouse Logitech mx professional
    OS Win 10 home 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    You can run 2400MHz ram if you wanted but if you have 1600MHz ram that works I'd just stick with that. You won't get much of a performance gain going with 1866MHz - 2400MHz ram. The gpu is where you would get a nice performance increase, in my opinion it wouldn't justify the cost to upgrade your ram, I'd put it towards a gtx 970 or 980.

    http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=...7EE545F5295181
    For now 1600mhz works just fine, and yeah I rather put my money on a new gpu.
    But then I think I aim for a 980 SC 980Ti or the most likely a 290 tri x or 290x trix to crossfire my previous 290 (that's way I bought a 1200axi)
    Now currently I'm playing the Witcher 3 on ultra and all the settings set as high as it goes (even hairworks etc at max) don't know if I have do do sorting in the crimson profile to fully take advantage of hairworks (because it's a AMD gpu)? Does anybody know? Anyway while I play my gpu is at 60-70 degrees (fixed fan curve 25% up to 70 degrees and 35% from 70 to 90 degrees) I cant even hear the fans on the gpu because it never goes on 70 degrees. My Cpu stays at about 50- 55 degrees and can't even hear the noctua nh-d15 at that fan speed it takes to cool it.

    To the point

    My friend has a i7 4790k at stock and a gtx 970 the same amount of ram (and speed) and he can't play with hairworks on atleast not at max (I think he plays without it) so I don't think I will buy a 970 because the fan/heat on my 290 isn't bother me and I think it performs better as it seems and it runs at stock speed.

    I know my screen is at 1080p etc the max fps is 75 and for me it's enough it runs incredibly smooth and it never stutter or glitch etc even in big cities lots of people, or I Fast fights with many enemy's.

    But thanks for info and tips and opinions

    I do think I will crossfire for the fun of it in the future tough just for the fun

    And maybe I will try to unlock my card (if it is one of the lucky ones) just for fun anyone having a good guide, tip etc on that subject?
    Last edited by smegmer; 12-14-2015 at 11:21 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,427

    Oh yeah you'd get a nice performance increase adding another r9 290 for crossfire.

    Here is an article on the witcher 3 improving hairworks with AMD.


    http://wccftech.com/amd-announces-wi...n-performance/

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array smegmer PC Specs
    smegmer PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorI7 4770k (4.4) 1.198v
    Memory (part number)Hyperx savage 2200mhz CL11
    Graphics Card #1GTX Msi 980 Gaming 0c
    MonitorSamsung 55inch tv
    Storage #1Bx 100 250gig
    Storage #2Intel 530 120 gig
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-d15
    CaseFractal Design R4
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax 1200i
    Keyboard Logitech m700
    Mouse Logitech mx professional
    OS Win 10 home 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Oh yeah you'd get a nice performance increase adding another r9 290 for crossfire.

    Here is an article on the witcher 3 improving hairworks with AMD.


    http://wccftech.com/amd-announces-wi...n-performance/
    Yes I think it will boost the system alot, the 290 card is a real powerhorse (for that amount of casch)

    Thanks for the article, it seems thoe that the article is for when you have a problem to run it with hairworks on and want to tweak it to work, I don't it runs really good and I want to max it out more if it's possible (if it is something that's holding the performance of hairworks back in crimson for AMD cpu's) maybe I suck to explain

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •