Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by the wee man View Post
    Hello everyone again, been a while since I have been on as I have been in Hospital etc.

    Anyways, on the same subject of this thread and the answer that ondersma80 gave me, those instructions did work fine before like I mentioned but now I cant see the option to boot into bios/UEFI when I restart using the method that did work.

    Holding shift when clicking restart still takes me to some options but I cant see any for booting into bios/uefi, I was able to before obviously but something seems as if its changed now for some reason, I dont know what though, maybe a windows update or something ? I dont know.

    Someone else was using the pc while I was in the hospital so its possible that windows done updates I guess, not sure though.

    Anyway, question is, can I still boot into bios using this method on windows 10, if so can someone tell me how I do it please ?

    Thanks.
    anyone please ?

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Clear your CMOS. It will then prompt you to enter the BIOS when you turn on your system just right after clearing it.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array NoSpeed PC Specs
    NoSpeed PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Extreme/Assembly
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K 2 Cores@4.7 and 2@4.6 GHz
    Memory (part number)G. Skill TridentZ Series F4-3866C18Q-16GTZ w/XMP Enabled
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Matrix GTX 980 Ti Platinum
    MonitorNEC MultiSync LCD2490WUXi2
    Storage #1Intel SSD 750 Series 1.2 TB 2.5" U.2
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 300GB 7200.9 HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110i GTX
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe in White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Mionix Castor
    Mouse Pad X-Ray Thunder 8
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Surround Sound Speakers Z906
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterBelkin AC1200 DB

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    While we do not have the same motherboard, your mobo may be equipped with a black Safe Boot button. Look for it in your manual. I have used it successfully several times when my O/C of the DRAM would not allow the system to POST. Also, when using the DEL key, do not hold it down. Just hit it every couple of seconds to get into the UEFI. I can sympathize with you about others not getting back to you quickly. Hope this helps. Please report back on your experience. Thanks.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array AmirShred PC Specs
    AmirShred PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Graphics Card #1GTX 970
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by the wee man View Post
    Does anyone still actually use this forum much anymore ?

    I have noticed lots and lots of people posting messages up asking that same question.
    I haven't noticed anything unusual, people just can't answer if the problem is uncommon. If you hold shift when clicking restart and it worked before, it should work now. Boot to UEFI should be under troubleshooting. If it isn't, something is wrong with your OS install.

    Quote Originally Posted by the wee man View Post
    Is this forum linked officially in any way to Asus ?? If so then they sure have extremely poor support, dont get me wrong though, the people that have helped me in the forum with other things so far have been great but its just very strange that the forum seems deserted most of the time, hmmm
    There are some technical marketing guys that offer some support. However, again this isn't really a motherboard issue if the OS isn't displaying the usual menus. Honestly though, ASUS support is pretty bad just like the other DIY motherboard manufacturers. But they aren't supposed to be great support - system building is a responsibility thing. They really help with RMAs or repairs if the board physically doesn't work.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    If you use a modern OS like Windows 10 installed in UEFI mode you also have the option built right in. Just hold SHIFT down when clicking restart in the start menu. It will give you the option to boot into UEFI under the troubleshooting menu.
    thanks you all for the responses

    strange though how this option that ondersman80 posted earlier used to work but Its like I said previously, I can still get some options that way but I dont see any option for booting into the bios now, thats the strange part.

    Can someone with windows 10 please try what is described in ondersman80's post and see if you can see the option I used to be able to get that allowed that allowed me to boot into bios ?

    Cheers and thanks again.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    I guess theres no one with a z170 motherboard and windows 10 then ?

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by the wee man View Post
    I guess theres no one with a z170 motherboard and windows 10 then ?
    I think you wanted confirmation from someone else but I did just check this, latest public build with all updates and the troubleshooting boot to UEFI is still available.

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    I think you wanted confirmation from someone else but I did just check this, latest public build with all updates and the troubleshooting boot to UEFI is still available.
    Thanks mate for replying, could you do me a massive favour and show me a few screenshots or photos of each option i select to get me into bios then as I just dont see the option and am probably overlooking it or something silly like that, plus I also have the very latest build of windows 10 pro x64 with all the latest updates etc (genuine copy with genuine MS Licence).

    Thanks again mate, It would be really great if you could do this for me, thank you

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array AmirShred PC Specs
    AmirShred PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Graphics Card #1GTX 970
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    26

    You can't take screenshot of those screens. I checked this and it is also working for me. The simple test directions are SHIFT + RESTART, then it will say please wait. After please wait click TROUBLESHOOT then ADVANCED OPTIONS then UEFI FIRMWARE SETTINGS. That should be it if you installed in true UEFI mode. You can doublecheck my running msinfo32 in run or at the command prompt.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    Hi Wee Man... got your PM. Here are the screenshots. The steps are as Amir desribed.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 1.jpg  

    2.jpg  

    3.jpg  


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •