Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Greetings, I just purchased the "GL752VWDH71"- I have a few upgrade questions ...

    So, I purchased the GL752VWDH71 (have not received it yet). I keep seeing conflicting information from amazon.. receiving conflicting information from asus reps ... my biggest question is can this be updated to 32GB RAM ??? and will the machine successfully utilize all or majority of the ram if I pay for the upgrade? ... Also, is there anyway possible to put windows 7 professional on this machine ? Or should I just stick with Windows 10? Also, I would like to add a Solid State Drive- I had purchased one but then realized I purchased the wrong because the rep at Bestbuy was unsure about what he was selling me. I read somewhere that GL752VWDH71 can only handle a 256GB SSD? Is that true? If so, can someone please point me exactly which SSD I should buy? I plan to keep the 1TB in there for storage but would like something additional ... if you are able to upgrade beyong the 256SSd ... I would like either 500GB SSD or 1TB SSD? ... Please help... I have been searching and searching and reading and searching lol and I cannot seem to get a solid answer on any of this stuff. Much thanks in adadvance...

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    There's plenty of info in this forums about this.
    I will tell you more.. Just by a quick look at the official ASUS specs page on the net, you could get almost all your answers answered.

    YES it can be updated onto 32gigs ram divided in two 16gb ddr4 modules. As the asus specs web says;

    https://www.asus.com/Notebooks/ROG-G...pecifications/
    "DDR4 2133 MHz SDRAM, 2 x SO-DIMM socket for expansion up to 32 GB SDRAM"

    YES you can put W7 onto the machine. You can put W98 if you want to. But keep in mind that ASUS will launch the drivers for W10 and the functions on previous OS is not guaranteed.

    What SSD did you pursached? Most of the GL752 owners (included myself) have been installing SSD M.2 SATA AHCI mode successfully.
    Yes, it has been released the info that this ASUS do only support SSD on the M.2 bay until 256gb. Anyway, the question about "500gb or 1tb ssd" simply relies on you, you and you are the only one who knows what kind of use is going to be made on the laptop. Myself, I think it's enough with a 128gb SSD for windows and basic apps. Only more if you really need the speed as you work with some proffesional apps.
    Go for this one;

    http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-850-EV...amsung+850+m.2

    make sure to buy separately a screw for the installation. Not included on the ssd nor the laptop.

    Last sentence you wrote; you have not been searching quite a lot, I'm sure here in the forums most people don't mind helping anyone, but it gets easier when the asker has just investigated at least 5 mins on the net.

    Greetings

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I have been searching a lot. Trust me.. Where would you recommend buying the two 16GB sticks? thanks

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    What size screw do I need for the SSD?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    thanks, just bought it through crucial

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    I don't know where you from, and I don't know any shops outside the EU so I'd reccomend amazon. I will soon buy the kingston hyperx series, so you can get a clue.
    The screw, I dont know the specific measures, only that it's 3mm deep, but in an electronic/computer shop should have them categorised as ssd fix screw

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    I am also using this model and my shipment arrived in the morning. I will buy samsung evo for the ssd. can you please tell me how to upgrade my bios? i searched the asus website and they are using a programme but some people say they did it with a usb flash drive. I'm confused.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by innocent_ View Post
    I am also using this model and my shipment arrived in the morning. I will buy samsung evo for the ssd. can you please tell me how to upgrade my bios? i searched the asus website and they are using a programme but some people say they did it with a usb flash drive. I'm confused.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1008859

    here! via BIOS Easy Flash. BIOS Version 210 is the most recent.
    Last edited by Fipser; 01-11-2016 at 05:54 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Fipser View Post
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1008859

    here! via BIOS Easy Flash. BIOS Version 210 is the most recent.
    Thank you.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by iamjuggernaut View Post
    So, I purchased the GL752VWDH71 ... my biggest question is can this be updated to 32GB RAM ???
    and will the machine successfully utilize all or majority of the ram if I pay for the upgrade?
    According to Asus GL752VW-DH71 specifications, the device has Intel HM170 chipset and Intel Core i7-6700HQ processor, and it has two SO-DIMM sockets which can address up to 32GB of DDR4-2133.

    The HM170 (GL82HM170 PCH, "Sunrise Point" Mobile Home) chipset supports a maximum of 2 DIMMs per memory channel. The i7-6700HQ ("Skylake" High Performance Graphics, Quad Core) processor supports a maximum of 2 memory channels (and can natively address a maximum of 64GB DDR4-2133/LPDDR3-1866/DDR3L-1600). It appears that the GL752VW-DH71 (and every ROG GL752 model) allocates one SODIMM slot per channel, and you can't mix mismatched DDR4 so you'll have to remove the two preinstalled 8GB SODIMMs to install two 16GB SODIMMs.

    32GB SODIMMs will probably become available in time, and likely a firmware update for your device will support them, theoretically allowing up to 2x32GB = 64GB total memory - or maybe Asus will entirely abandon your device when they move on to newer things - but for now your maximum addressable memory is definitely 2x16GB = 32GB. Some Microsoft WinOS versions impose limits on maximum addressable memory, but this isn't an issue with 64-bit Win7Pro and 64-bit Win10. Memory allocated to software ROG RAMDisk or Samsung RAPID Magician will not be available for other uses. The BIOS may consume a small amount of memory overhead for "System Reserved" firmware/hardware buffering functions. Otherwise, the machine will address all installed memory.

    Quote Originally Posted by iamjuggernaut View Post
    ... Also, is there anyway possible to put windows 7 professional on this machine ? Or should I just stick with Windows 10?
    You can always purchase a physical copy of Win7Pro to install on this machine. Or you can install from a downloaded Win7 image and purchase a Genuine Licensed Windows Product Key online through your regional Microsoft Product Store (or reinstall the OS every 30 days forever, lol), but Win7 is now officially EOL so obtaining an unregistered unused unpirated Win7 Product Key can be challenging in most regions. Or you could call Microsoft and explain what you want to do, it's a waste of time but they can usually be convinced to issue a new Windows Product Key (and update their internal product registration database) if you're not pirating because you've already paid for and own the existing Windows Product Key. You may also have problems obtaining working Win7 driver versions for all your GL752VW-DH71 hardware.

    And you can always install a free non-Microsoft OS like linux Mint instead. Again, getting all the hardware drivers to work might be a bit of a hassle.

    The laptop comes with Win10 Home, it's already included in the price, and it's (supposedly) completely preconfigured with proper working Win10 drivers. And all future Asus support will likely focus on Win10, of course, so you'll largely be on your own if you use a different OS.
    I would recommend making a backup/clone/image of the entire Win10 installation before changing anything so that you can always rollback to the Asus Win10 installation without issue - it'll probably save you a lot of time over years of use.

    Quote Originally Posted by iamjuggernaut View Post
    Also, I would like to add a Solid State Drive- I had purchased one but then realized I purchased the wrong because the rep at Bestbuy was unsure about what he was selling me. I read somewhere that GL752VWDH71 can only handle a 256GB SSD? Is that true? If so, can someone please point me exactly which SSD I should buy? I plan to keep the 1TB in there for storage but would like something additional ... if you are able to upgrade beyong the 256SSd ... I would like either 500GB SSD or 1TB SSD?
    You can replace any of your SATA HDDs with SATA SDDs (provided they have identical physical and electrical form factors). There are no (realistic) technical capacity limits. SSDs are basically superior to HDDs in every way except cost - they're faster, they use much less precious battery power, they're nearly impervious to dropping and impacts, they do degrade but will likely still outlast the rest of the laptop - they invariably have smaller storage capacities because of cost. SSDs will even outperform HDDs when installed in slower SATA ports.

    You can replace any M.2 SSD with another M.2 SSD. There are no (realistic) technical capacity limits, there are economic capacity limits.
    But I see many reviewers are complaining about some sort of M.2 issue with this laptop - nobody really knows yet if the issue is hardware, firmware, or software - nobody really knows yet if a patch will be issued to correct the issue. My advice is to simply avoid buying any M.2 hardware upgrades until the issue has been fully resolved - just use whatever M.2 was included by Asus, register your product, and wait for a patch or a recall notice.

    Note that a lot of recent M.2 and NVMe PCI SSDs have issues on many (most?) X99/Skylake motherboards, and manufacturers like Samsung appear to be aggressively working on solutions.
    Last edited by Korth; 01-11-2016 at 08:15 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •