Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    Help needed - Dell 330w PSU goes down

    Guys, 2 weeks ago I got a Dell 330W PSU from amazon as was suggested by people who had it here and was seemed ok since its statistics proves it a better match for a GTX980Ti.

    I didnt have time to test it properly but last 3 days I noticed everytime I run FireStrike GPU shuts down and when I look at the green light of the 330w PSU its turning off meaning the PSU is shutting down or going to safe mode but GTX980Ti fans are still spinning.

    You know what is the weirdest thing? When I plug my old Asus 230W PSU into my GTX980Ti it works like a charm without a single issue so it can not be that my GPU is damaged.

    I should say my GPU is overclocked with 210 MHZ Core clock offset and 300 MHZ Memory Clock offset.

    Anyone else got a dell 330w PSU and having the same issue? or should I consider my Dell 330w PSU defective? because as I said a much weaker 230W PSU which I got by stock works issue free!

    Appreciate all your help.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    64

    Yeah its a common issue, its not the PSU failing the problem is the PSU itself does not have a high enough amperage (despite having the wattage) so sometimes the power draw can shut it down (safety feature) so what happens is your video card is still 'running' hence the fan speed, but cannot process video.
    The only way around it is to throttle yourself to like 92% power using MSI Afterburner. I only experienced this with two things. Battlefield 4 (running MAX all settings and then 150-175% pscale) if i run the same at only 100% its fine. and Assassins creed Unity, which btw is a piece of crap that does this without even getting to the main menu.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    hey man tnx for sharing.

    Its really odd you know. Have you seen the stock Asus 230w PSU? It can handle my GTX980Ti at any situation I play or any firestrike test although it has much lower wattage and amperage!!!!!!!! how is this possible?!! a weaker PSU can handle it like a champ while a bugger PSU cant?

    Your experience you shared above, is it happening with a Dell 330W PSU?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Don't overclock your GTX 980Ti, but rather keep it at the standard Nvidia GTX 980Ti Reference card settings, and you should be fine w/the Dell 330W power supply. Overclocking requires more power. Outside of benchmarking, you're not gaining anything when it comes to gaming w/overclocking. The GTX 980Ti is already a fast card. I would assume you are using the 180W as the other power supply, for the rest of the system?
    - Asus ROG G20AJ, Intel i5-4460 CPU, Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR3L, 2x Corsair 128GB SSD's (RAID 0), Nvidia Geforce GTX 670, 180W and 230W Power Supply Bricks, Acer GN246HL 24" Monitor, Windows 10 (x64)

    - Alienware Aurora R4, Intel i7-4820K, 20GB DDR3, 2 TB HD, Nvidia GeForce GTX 760, Windows 10 (x64)

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    MotherboardModded ROG G20Ci
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G20
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    73

    Same thing happened with mine. I used dell 330w combined with asus 180w, my gtx 980ti goes down everytime I run firestrike, I didn`t overclock the GPU. I already rma the power brick and get a new one, but still the same. is it because of the jumper setting?

    I have to lowering the power target to 75% to be able to run firestrike completely. kind a weird

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    I Overclocked my GTX980Ti to 210 MHZ core offset and 300 MHZ Memory Offset using my Asus 230W which came as stoke for the GTX980 Card. It works flawlessly fine at 100% power limit.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    MotherboardModded ROG G20Ci
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G20
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by a100 View Post
    I Overclocked my GTX980Ti to 210 MHZ core offset and 300 MHZ Memory Offset using my Asus 230W which came as stoke for the GTX980 Card. It works flawlessly fine at 100% power limit.
    Try Run 3dmark firestrike in loop for few hours to test the stability, mine didn`t pass an hour when using asus 230w. I gave up my Dell330w, i think mine was bootleg one, that`s why cant lift up my system.
    Now i`m using 1000w internal PSU for my gtx980ti. OC to +250mhz core offsett & 300mhz, running Firestrike smoothly for hours.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/10048068

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    Quote Originally Posted by spartan_hoplite View Post
    Try Run 3dmark firestrike in loop for few hours to test the stability, mine didn`t pass an hour when using asus 230w. I gave up my Dell330w, i think mine was bootleg one, that`s why cant lift up my system.
    Now i`m using 1000w internal PSU for my gtx980ti. OC to +250mhz core offsett & 300mhz, running Firestrike smoothly for hours.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/10048068
    Tnx for your comment man.

    I decided on something last night.
    I ordered a 600W green HP PSU to use it for my GTX980Ti. The PSU needs to be Jumpered to work directly.
    That PSU has over 45 Amps and 600 Wattage.

    Have you done the same thing? An external PC PSU for the GTX980Ti?
    Your firestrike score looks cool, well done.

    Oh and plz share your OC values, if you have added any Voltage.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    spartan_hoplite PC Specs
    MotherboardModded ROG G20Ci
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)32gb DDR4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 2080 Turbo
    MonitorROG PG27vQ
    Storage #1Samsung NvMe 960 500gb + 4 Tb Samsung SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 8 tb Hard Disk Drive
    CaseROG G20
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore
    Mouse ASUS ROG Pugio
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by a100 View Post
    Tnx for your comment man.

    I decided on something last night.
    I ordered a 600W green HP PSU to use it for my GTX980Ti. The PSU needs to be Jumpered to work directly.
    That PSU has over 45 Amps and 600 Wattage.

    Have you done the same thing? An external PC PSU for the GTX980Ti?
    Your firestrike score looks cool, well done.

    Oh and plz share your OC values, if you have added any Voltage.
    Yup I`v done the same thing, using Super Flower 1000w Platinum just to attach the 6 & 8pin pci-e power port.
    Ididn`t add any voltage, just increase the power target to 110% and add +250mhz core, +300mhz mem.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array a100 PC Specs
    a100 PC Specs
    MotherboardH97 Asus
    ProcessorIntel i7-4790 3.6GHZ
    Memory (part number)16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX980Ti Reference OC`d GPU: +210MHZ - Memory: +300MHZ
    Sound CardOn board
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T Gaming LED Monitor
    Storage #1Samsung Evo Pro 850 512G SSD
    CPU CoolerRog Dual Fan
    CaseG20AJ
    Keyboard Asus
    Mouse Asus
    OS Win 8.1 Core Single Language
    Accessory #1 Logitech G27 Racing Wheel

    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    146

    Cool, I did the same thing but my firestrike score is less than yours.

    Maybe because I`m using windows 8.1 64bit and i7 4790 and you`re using win 10 and i7 4790k

    Here is mine: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/10083951

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •