Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    60

    First Build complete, but having a few issues.

    Hi all

    Built my first PC yesterday. Everything went well with no issues and I have had no problem installing latest bios, drivers and other software and had the pc running a good 5/6 hours and managed a game or two without any issues.

    Then I installed AI suit 3

    Its set my fans on full speed and nothing I change will slow them back down. The pc runs quite through boot then as soon as the desktop shows they ramp up. i have 7 case fans, 3 in the front connected via a fan controller (H440) 3 in the roof combined (3pin-4pin)to a single header (360 aio) and a single fan on the back.

    Yet fan xpert 3 does not detect them. What can I do to gain control of theses fans?

    Thanks

    Hero viii
    Fractal Design-Kelvin S36 < the main source of noise
    Gskill trident Z at 3200
    Matrix 980 ti

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    You need to connect the fan controller to one of the motherboard fan headers to control them.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    60

    I need some help badly

    I ran the ai-3 suite and it overclocked my cpu to 4.8 2cores at 4.8 and 2 at 4.6 any way after this had run and done its thing I logged into a game a few hours down the line my pc crashed and now nothing I do will get it to work.

    I am stuck in a cycle of BSOD with different mess

    I cannot enter safe mode F8? as this brings boot mode up and never enters safe mode if clicking F8 after selecting the boot drive.

    I cannot boot from a disk it loaded up one time then failed and since then has never entered the recovery section again. I cannot even get to a option to install windows again.

    I have changed the ssd out for a harddrive and still getting BSOD or unable to boot windows cd up


    What the hell has happened????

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by JustStarting View Post
    I need some help badly

    I ran the ai-3 suite and it overclocked my cpu to 4.8 2cores at 4.8 and 2 at 4.6 any way after this had run and done its thing I logged into a game a few hours down the line my pc crashed and now nothing I do will get it to work.

    I am stuck in a cycle of BSOD with different mess

    I cannot enter safe mode F8? as this brings boot mode up and never enters safe mode if clicking F8 after selecting the boot drive.

    I cannot boot from a disk it loaded up one time then failed and since then has never entered the recovery section again. I cannot even get to a option to install windows again.

    I have changed the ssd out for a harddrive and still getting BSOD or unable to boot windows cd up


    What the hell has happened????
    Go back into the bios and set to optimized settings, save and reset. You can then try to overclock again, but you might want to do it through the bios instead. It could be that you need to increase the vcore at that frequency.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Suggest uninstalling Al Suite and overclocking via the bios.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    60

    2320

    Yes I wan to do it via the bios I just thought I would test the water so to speak.

    I cannot uninstall due to not being able to get into windows. I have reset back to default's and still get greated with a BSOD

    I have had so many now at least 8 different faults and some repeats but I just cannot get into windows or get the windows disk to work.

    Edit I am switching between 2 pc right now so may take a while to reply but trying to get this fixed and back working. all was working lovely till I decided to start messing about with programs.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Janne-71 PC Specs
    Janne-71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus rog maximus hero viii
    ProcessorIntel skylake i5 6600k @ 4.6ghz
    Memory (part number)g.skill tridentz 2x8gb 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 980ti gaming g1
    MonitorAsus pg279q 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung evo 850 ssd 500gb
    Storage #2Western digital 1tb hdd
    CPU CoolerCooler master hyper 212 evo
    CasePhanteks enthoo evolv atx
    Power SupplySeasonic 760-p
    Keyboard Corsair k95 mechanical
    Mouse Logitech g502
    Headset Akg k550
    Mouse Pad Razer goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z623 200w
    OS Windows 10 home

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    303

    Have you changed hardware configuration at all after it was working well? Moved wires etc. because if some wires are misplaced it may lead to bsods (personal expirience). Otherwise resetting defaults from bios should work in my oppinion.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    60

    I only had basics plugged in keyboard mouse monitor internet headphones.

    2x 8gb of ram removed one retried same outcome, tried the other again same.

    Have tried to load up without the ssd just the diskdrive (not into windows) tried with the harddrive of this pc just to see if it would reinstall again and the same outcome.

    I don't get why when I order the cd drive to boot first the windows cd does not try to 1-reinstall or 2-repair

    Also how the hell do I get into safe mode, if I could get here I should be able to over come the issues I am having

    is it f8 on a hero viii coz it never works

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    60

    Who does my CD drive show up twice ?

    uefi and p2 both showing 3000+ mbs ( windows cd)


    Why the hell can I not boot the windows disk up.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    You might want to navigate back into the bios, and check your temps.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •