Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 52
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,449

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I found the bottom 2 USB ports best for keyboard and mouse for me when the board was first released, I have no idea if a bios update changed anything in that regard

    You mean on ASMedia USB 3.0 Ports near LAN Port?


  2. #22
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,546

    I'm curious after you upgrade to the modded bios which flashes a different microcode and the firmware of the other modules, does flashing a factory bios reverse the microcode and firmware of those modules back to factory or once the microcode and firmware updates are installed do those remain modified when flashing to a factory bios?

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array p_delray PC Specs
    p_delray PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980
    Graphics Card #3EVGA 980
    Sound CardDenon AVR
    MonitorSharp 70"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 750
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair Carbide 540
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000i
    Keyboard Logitech K810
    Mouse Microsoft 5000
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    105

    Why should I use the modded bios? Is there something wrong with the stock bios or does the modded version run better or cleaner?
    Just wondered, thanks.

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Minsekt PC Specs
    Minsekt PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme / Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori7 5820K 4.5Ghz - 1.183v / 1.8 VCCIN / 6700K - 4.7GHZ - 1.360v
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GRK @ 3000-15-15-15-35-T2 / F4-3000C14D-16GTZ @ 3600 - 16-16-16-32-T2
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Graphics Card #2MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster ZxR
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 500GB
    CPU CoolerEK WB R5E Monoblock / Supreme FX
    CaseVector VBC01
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ergodox / Atreus Custom
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset AKG K712 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch RP-260
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 360 Rad
    Accessory #2 2x 240 Rad
    Accessory #3 Dual Laing D5 w/ Custom Pump Top
    Minsekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    227

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I'm curious after you upgrade to the modded bios which flashes a different microcode and the firmware of the other modules, does flashing a factory bios reverse the microcode and firmware of those modules back to factory or once the microcode and firmware updates are installed do those remain modified when flashing to a factory bios?
    it changes back according to what it shows in bios at least. (tried both, stock = 2d , modded = 36) after going back to stock its 2d again.


    Quote Originally Posted by p_delray View Post
    Why should I use the modded bios? Is there something wrong with the stock bios or does the modded version run better or cleaner?
    Just wondered, thanks.
    i guess no one really knows yet, i stay with unmodded bios because i cant go wrong with stuff asus has tested and gave green light.

  5. #25
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    Quote Originally Posted by p_delray View Post
    Why should I use the modded bios? Is there something wrong with the stock bios or does the modded version run better or cleaner?
    Just wondered, thanks.
    As I said before, I started this to update the Raid oRoms as they are out of date & in my case (and another members) the updated modules fixed this. Since then other people have updated what they could.

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array d3a7hpa1n PC Specs
    d3a7hpa1n PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G750JH
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1901
    ProcessorINTEL 5930K
    Memory (part number)GSKILL F4-3000C15-16GO
    Graphics Card #1MSI 4G GTX980
    Graphics Card #2MSI 4G GTX980
    Graphics Card #3MSI 4G GTX980
    Sound CardASUS PHOEBUS SOLO
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 950 PRO 256
    Storage #22X840 1X850 SAMSUNG EVO 1TO
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR H110
    CaseCORSAIR 900D
    Power SupplySEASONIC P-1050 PLATINUM
    Keyboard RAZER BLACKWIDOW
    Mouse RAZER OUROBOROS
    Mouse Pad RAZER DESTRUCTOR
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE S750 7.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 TH2
    d3a7hpa1n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    71

    Hi, for info 1902 modded works fine for me

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Well, seeing as how some people are saying they can lower their voltage with the modded bios and stay stable, and the lower voltage itself would counteract any heat increase, for those people it's clearly worth it. For those who can't lower voltage though, like me, it's a concern.

    Could it also be that the heat increase is only under particular settings? Say, it only affects adaptive vcore settings?
    Last edited by Qwinn; 01-12-2016 at 03:38 PM.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Minsekt PC Specs
    Minsekt PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme / Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori7 5820K 4.5Ghz - 1.183v / 1.8 VCCIN / 6700K - 4.7GHZ - 1.360v
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GRK @ 3000-15-15-15-35-T2 / F4-3000C14D-16GTZ @ 3600 - 16-16-16-32-T2
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Graphics Card #2MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster ZxR
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 500GB
    CPU CoolerEK WB R5E Monoblock / Supreme FX
    CaseVector VBC01
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ergodox / Atreus Custom
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset AKG K712 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch RP-260
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 360 Rad
    Accessory #2 2x 240 Rad
    Accessory #3 Dual Laing D5 w/ Custom Pump Top
    Minsekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    227

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    Well, seeing as how some people are saying they can lower their voltage with the modded bios and stay stable, and the lower voltage itself would counteract any heat increase, for those people it's clearly worth it. For those who can't lower voltage though, like me, it's a concern.

    Could it also be that the heat increase is only under particular settings? Say, it only affects adaptive vcore settings?
    ive never used adaptive and had the 5c increased temps. used fixed voltages.

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I'm curious after you upgrade to the modded bios which flashes a different microcode and the firmware of the other modules, does flashing a factory bios reverse the microcode and firmware of those modules back to factory or once the microcode and firmware updates are installed do those remain modified when flashing to a factory bios?
    The EFI is basically a DOS-like operating system running onboard, it boots itself up before system POST and runs a variety of programs - a vast library of drivers, a collection of microcode patches, a variety of useful little boot-time apps, whatever files might be found in a dedicated USB port, finally the BIOS program (with pretty GUI shell). It usually continues running while the system POSTs, supervising the main BIOS hardware startup and processor/etc. On many boards it continues to run all the time - on a computer embedded inside the computer - so it can continue to monitor and control hardware through advanced BIOS settings, on some boards the user can instantly pull up the BIOS app any time with a single keypress.

    UEFI is a completely modular system, individual components can be modified or enabled/disabled or interlinked in a complex dependency hierarchy, the BIOS itself is just the program which puts everything in one place for the user to muck around but there's a whole lot more going on that the user doesn't see and cannot change. In the ideal world, a UEFI install would allow the user to pick and choose which components (or which versions of which components) get installed or not get installed before flashing. In the real world, the entire package is a monolithic all-or-nothing and you get what they give you whenever you reflash the firmware.

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    For the record, once I was done getting stable on 1902, curiosity led me to try reinstalling 1902 Modded and seeing if there was a temperature difference. Based on the first few minutes of OCCT, I'm not seeing much of a difference. Perhaps there was a difference in ambient temperatures that night, though I did think of that at the time but it didn't seem particularly warmer to me and no change had been made to my apartment's thermostat. I will try another 10 hour test tonight and see if I exceed the 84c max temp spike I had last night.

    EDIT: Temps down 4c after updating to 1902 modded. Temps are FAR more consistent under 1902 modded, with the normal OCCT CPU temp sine wave where temps peak about 8c warmer every 2 hours completely eliminated. I hereby retract what I said previously completely. All my runs have been with full fans and consistent ambients, so I have no explanation, other than possibly the issue where sometimes voltages don't get applied correctly following BIOS changes until you do an extra reboot.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 01-16-2016 at 03:58 PM.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •