Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 52
  1. #31
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Hi
    How come I save modded bios to my flash drive and tried to flash in bios , it shows unread bios.
    anyone know reason?

    thanks

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    Quote Originally Posted by teichu72 View Post
    Hi
    How come I save modded bios to my flash drive and tried to flash in bios , it shows unread bios.
    anyone know reason?

    thanks
    If you had a read through the modded BIOS threads you will find you need to use BIOS flashback instead.

  3. #33
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Quote Originally Posted by GoNz0- View Post
    If you had a read through the modded BIOS threads you will find you need to use BIOS flashback instead.
    Hi gonzo, thanks but how do I do that? because I always use my usb drive to flash official bios.

    thanks

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Quote Originally Posted by teichu72 View Post
    Hi gonzo, thanks but how do I do that? because I always use my usb drive to flash official bios.

    thanks
    See page 2-14 in the manual. You will still be using a USB drive, just not from within the BIOS but with your computer actually turned off. The manual doesn't say it, but if you have applied any kind of overclock (including just XMP on the memory) I strongly recommend going back to default BIOS settings and rebooting twice before trying it. Attempting to flash the BIOS with any kind of OC instability can cause major damage. On defaults it should be pretty safe.

    Note that that instability issue is much less of a concern using this method than it is with the various methods that work with the computer turned on. The page 2-14 method really is the safest and preferred method for updating the BIOS whether you're updating to a modded or unmodded BIOS. IMHO that feature alone makes the R5E worth it.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 01-16-2016 at 06:12 PM.

  5. #35
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    This is interesting... been having a conversation about the modded BIOS's over at overclock. net. Folks were reporting that even in the stock BIOS's, AIDA was showing that they were running on the updated 36h microcode, though it shows as 2D in the BIOS.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1510388/h...ers-club/16100

    Apparently, Windows is updating the microcode after post. I have no idea if there is a benefit or difference in having the updated microcode already effective during the BIOS post, but if you are running the official BIOS's on Windows, you are still getting the updated microcode after post. Might have an impact on which version folks decide to use.
    Last edited by Qwinn; 01-16-2016 at 08:08 PM.

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array SB[NL] PC Specs
    SB[NL] PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16 GB DDR4-3000 Kit
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX TITAN X
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX580 DCUII
    Sound CardOn Board Asus RE5
    MonitorEizo CG241W
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb
    Storage #21 X Seagate 3Tb, 2 X Seagate 2 TB
    CPU CoolerNo Windows Phone App
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2013
    Mouse Razer Black Mamba 2012
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    66

    Can it be posted as an attachment like the previous modded version?
    I have too much internet accounts already

    As you provided the original source I think they won't mind, or do they?

    thx in advance

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Techotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    167

    Here you go: BIOS 1902 Modded.zip

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Minsekt PC Specs
    Minsekt PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme / Maximus VIII Formula
    Processori7 5820K 4.5Ghz - 1.183v / 1.8 VCCIN / 6700K - 4.7GHZ - 1.360v
    Memory (part number)F4-2400C15Q-32GRK @ 3000-15-15-15-35-T2 / F4-3000C14D-16GTZ @ 3600 - 16-16-16-32-T2
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Graphics Card #2MSI 980ti 6G Gaming
    Sound CardCreative Soundblaster ZxR
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 500GB
    CPU CoolerEK WB R5E Monoblock / Supreme FX
    CaseVector VBC01
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Ergodox / Atreus Custom
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset AKG K712 Pro
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch RP-260
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 360 Rad
    Accessory #2 2x 240 Rad
    Accessory #3 Dual Laing D5 w/ Custom Pump Top
    Minsekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    227

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    This is interesting... been having a conversation about the modded BIOS's over at overclock. net. Folks were reporting that even in the stock BIOS's, AIDA was showing that they were running on the updated 36h microcode, though it shows as 2D in the BIOS.

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1510388/h...ers-club/16100

    Apparently, Windows is updating the microcode after post. I have no idea if there is a benefit or difference in having the updated microcode already effective during the BIOS post, but if you are running the official BIOS's on Windows, you are still getting the updated microcode after post. Might have an impact on which version folks decide to use.
    so theres no need at all for the modded bios for someone unless youve got raid problems. neat :P

  9. #39
    ROG Enthusiast Array SB[NL] PC Specs
    SB[NL] PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16 GB DDR4-3000 Kit
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX TITAN X
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX580 DCUII
    Sound CardOn Board Asus RE5
    MonitorEizo CG241W
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256Gb
    Storage #21 X Seagate 3Tb, 2 X Seagate 2 TB
    CPU CoolerNo Windows Phone App
    CaseSilverstone Fortress FT02
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2013
    Mouse Razer Black Mamba 2012
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    66

    Quote Originally Posted by techotic View Post
    thx!!
    8-)

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Quote Originally Posted by Minsekt View Post
    so theres no need at all for the modded bios for someone unless youve got raid problems. neat :P
    There's no way to know, really. There could be other things in microcode 36 that would need to be active during POST to be effective.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •