Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
  1. #11
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by winyl View Post
    Intel NVME wan't install on my G751jy. I'm on Samsung NVME v1.4.7.17 dated 12.11.2015. Here are results from AS SSD:
    Attachment 54723Attachment 54724
    And from Samsung Magician v4.9.5:
    Attachment 54725Attachment 54726
    There is no Intel NVMe on any other platforms either, just the Intel raid controller on the G752. The actual NVMe driver on the G752 is Microsoft.
    Your benchmarks are not at all accurate, something funky going on. Those numbers are unattainable by any device. 737GB/s read? That would mean the entire contents of your drive could be read in just 0.64684741 seconds. Maybe next century as of right now the max is 2.5GB/s
    The Sequential read and write in Magician is less than half of what it should be. Im getting 2016 read and 1513 write.

    The Samsung benchmarks are about on par with what Im getting from a 850 SATA SSD

    Can you please show what is going on in Device Manager? Maybe run a crystalmarks bench?
    Thanks!
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-13-2016 at 05:53 PM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    92

    Well the speed is not at the spec level.
    Guys on the MSi forum found out whem upgrading win7 pro to win10pro that the speed stayed within spec. I get mixed benchmark results form 920MB/s to 670MB/s.
    Something is holding the transfer speeds back. Has Win10 home some problem of getting full speed with 950pro? Bummer Is it because of some incompatibility between win10 home and Samsung NVME v1.47?
    Well now I can try benchmarks with win10pro.

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    Quote Originally Posted by winyl View Post
    Well the speed is not at the spec level.
    Guys on the MSi forum found out whem upgrading win7 pro to win10pro that the speed stayed within spec. I get mixed benchmark results form 920MB/s to 670MB/s.
    Something is holding the transfer speeds back. Has Win10 home some problem of getting full speed with 950pro? Bummer Is it because of some incompatibility between win10 home and Samsung NVME v1.47?
    Well now I can try benchmarks with win10pro.
    The OS itself has very little to do with R/W speed... it is the DRIVER that is different between OS version !
    some drivers from win 7 x64 can work on 8 and on 10 as well, but the other way around - not so possible/recommended.
    Thus, Please stop blaming the OS, as it is drivers issue - again mainly... I won't get into details right now, as it isn't that important nor effect drastically on benchmarks.

    Also, you when you upgrade from win7 to 10 and you compare benchmarks - you need to have a common denominator as much as possible so the benchmark compare will be fair.... ( same driver version, same HW, same app load, same bios config, same room temp ( for the scientists among us ) )
    E.I 1: win 7 pro on MBR+Legacy bios isn't equal to compare with win 10 pro on GPT+UEFI.....
    E.I 2: win 7 on AHCI vs win10 on RAID....
    These examples are NOT fair comparison as different tech are involved in each case.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    784

    Quote Originally Posted by winyl View Post
    Here is my UBU v1.45 scan of 2.11 G751jy BIOS. The G751jy bios is Aptio 4 so I do not know what bios scan you have posted.
    Attachment 54722
    I can not see any NVME driver in 2.11 bios.
    OK I'll try with nvme driver recommended by win-raid.
    From what I have read on MSI forum it is a problem with Samsung NVME driver exclusivly on Windows 10 home?,but performance was at rated spec when benchmaked with Windows 10PRO. they say there Samsung will be realeasing NVME driver v2.0 to remedy this problem on win 10.
    OMFG.... Hello there winyl...
    Can you please share with us the BIOS you successfully managed to mod ? ( see ref HERE... I guess as you got the same username here... you're the same "winyl" in win-raid forums )
    1. Which G751 model have you modded ? Y / T ?
    2. what modules have you deleted from the exsiting bios ? ( is it only Mtftp6D ? what module is that ? )
    3. what bios version have you modded ?
    4. what NVMe EFI ROM module ".fss" file have you used ? ( uncompressed / compressed / without header )
    5. Which tool did you used to flash the modded bios ? is it same tool to backup current bios ?
    6. After flashing - did you change any bios configuration ? Do you see NVMe when you enter BIOS -> advanced->sata configuration ?
    7. what's the story with "I have to flash my backup of bios chip with "nvram program" to get back keyboard backlit" ? what steps & exe required ?

    As you might be the 1st G751 user that actually have working NVMe - Can you please share your files & make a short guide so others with the other model of G751 can do so also ?
    I guess this thread will be a *HOT* & sticky thread soon...

  5. #15
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by winyl View Post
    Well the speed is not at the spec level.
    Guys on the MSi forum found out whem upgrading win7 pro to win10pro that the speed stayed within spec. I get mixed benchmark results form 920MB/s to 670MB/s.
    Something is holding the transfer speeds back. Has Win10 home some problem of getting full speed with 950pro? Bummer Is it because of some incompatibility between win10 home and Samsung NVME v1.47?
    Well now I can try benchmarks with win10pro.
    I can tell you that on a G752 with the factory image of Win10 home and after upgrading to Win10 Pro the read and write speeds are on par, I already have the results posted in the G752 950 pro thread. Im not using any Samsung drivers or software. The NVMe drivers are native in Win 8.1 and later.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    92

    I can give you the modified bios,but I think I can't get the nvme driver to work. I can't see 950PRO text in the bios. I'll check it again during weekend, maybe I get bios to detect 950PRO.
    But it is not nessesery for making raid, nor booting and working with windows.

    Something is clearly wrong. Speeds are slow, but sometimes magician catches bursts like I get 1400/1600MB/s for a short time,but those bursts never make to final result. Like there is some cache overflow? And as you can see write IOPS are very close to the specs.
    I measured file transfers time between two partitions and ramdisk I have made and they are faster thnat what shows magician, Reads are faster than 670MB/s.

    One problem might be G751jy has all 16 PCIe gen 3 lanes assigned to GTX980,, and there are no free gen3 lanes for 950PRO ,and it is running on gen2 PCIE, and by spec it needs gen 3, 4lines PCIE.
    Also the Intel DMI on G751jy works with 5GT/s gen2. 950pro needs gen3 Maybe 950PRO is to fast for it?

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by winyl View Post
    One problem might be G751jy has all 16 PCIe gen 3 lanes assigned to GTX980,, and there are no free gen3 lanes for 950PRO ,and it is running on gen2 PCIE, and by spec it needs gen 3, 4lines PCIE.
    Also the Intel DMI on G751jy works with 5GT/s gen2. 950pro needs gen3 Maybe 950PRO is to fast for it?
    I have a feeling this might be the case... My SM951 AHCI can never hit 8.0Gbps, its always at 5.0Gbps Gen2 speeds (according to hwinfo and benchmarks)

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    92

    Yep the chipset in G751 is to old for 950pro, use sm951 instead.

  9. #19
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    A little clarification on the above post. SM951 AHCI as there are two different versions and the NVMe is not going to work as it has the same architecture as the 950 pro.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    10

    Hello i have an asus g751jy with bios version of 2.11 and a pcie slot installed. i'm confused after reading multiple threads will a 950pro work or not as a boot drive?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •