Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi guys,

    This could be a sign of an unstable pc, possibly the ram. I have my pc overclocked and sometimes it won't shut down and is caused by my overclocked ram. It has also shut down on me just idling at the desktop.

    Once stable neither one happens again.

    You can try running at default settings and see if your pc acts normal.

    Nice try, but I am running default settings already. Did another BIOS update yesterday to no avail.
    Kingston fury ddr4 memory.
    pc is stable but does not a complete shutdown (screen goes black, with fans spinning).

  2. #12
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Thank you

    Let's see if we can find what's causing it to not shutdown, at this point I'm not sure what it could be.

    Please list your complete system specs and everything connected to your pc.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Asus formula VIII with bios update 1701
    CPU 6700k I7
    Kingston ddr4 Fury 16 Gig
    Creative ZXR
    Corsair PSU AX760
    Noctua fans
    GTX 670 NVIDIA (latest drivers)
    Windows 10 (clean install) 30/06/2016 + vendor specific drivers

    I am suspection the Bios 1701 of being the culprit.
    I did an upgrade from 1504 out of the box to 1701.

    I had the impression that my trouble started after the upgrade to 1701.

    Beside that the PC is working normal and stable, no problems.

    only on system shutdown the fans keep spinning. I have to turn it using the power switch on the PSU.

    I already tried switching things on and off and back on again in the BIOS based on peoples opinions.


    Thinking about going back to BIOS 1504 and see what that does.

    any ideas are more the welcome.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you

    Let's see if we can find what's causing it to not shutdown, at this point I'm not sure what it could be.

    Please list your complete system specs and everything connected to your pc.
    can't do a full spec (speccy) i am at the office.
    But my list shoul give you a good idea what is in my case)
    pretty standard.

    i am suspection the BIOS 1701 to be the trouble maker.

  5. #15
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    All right

    Yeah if all was well before updating the bios try reverting back to bios version 1504.

    Also check in device manager for any unknown devices or yellow triangles.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Device manager is clean.

    I am going back to the previous BIOS. and we take it from there.
    let's hope it does something good and i do not have a faulty MB.

    Are there other people out there with this issue?

  7. #17
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Sounds good,

    Give us an update after reverting to 1504.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Ok I will.


    in the meantime i got an answer from Asus.
    A bit strange that they think the blame is on the PSU ??? it's a brand new one i have. and it worked like a charm with my old p6T deluxe v2 MB


    Dear mr. Piot,

    Thank you for your email.

    Corsair PSU's are known for these kind of problems as they have specific power functions.
    And example of this can be found on the following website.

    http://www.corsair.com/en-us/blog/20...power-supplies

    If possible I would like to ask you to test this with a different PSU.

    I hope to have informed you enough.
    Ik hoop u hierbij voldoende te hebben geinformeerd.

    Kind regards,
    Vriendelijke groet,

    Asus TSD.

  9. #19
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    It would be something to try if reverting to 1504 doesn't help.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Reverting to MAXIMUS VIII FORMULA BIOS 1601 did not help.

    But before i did a revert I noticed that the pc did a complete shutdown.
    Problem is that he is not doing that all the time 2 out of 10

    This answer to this problem eludes me.
    This must be a BIOS problem, i can not imagine that my Corsair PSU (200€) is not up to the task.

    I am going to present Corsair the feedback from Asus and see what they have to say about this.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •