Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: Q-code dd?

  1. #11
    ROG Member Array 10scor71 PC Specs
    10scor71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/USB 3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)64gb G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce 980TI Windforce
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorTwo Dell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro SSD boot drive
    Storage #2Two WD Black 4TB Performance HDDs (mirrored)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2
    Keyboard Logitech K800 Illuminated wireless
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Pecham Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 8TB Seagate Archive HDD
    Accessory #2 CyberPower 900W UPS

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Thanks.

    Can you locate the 4 QLEDs and see if any of them remain likt when your system halts with the dd QCODE?
    If you mean the boot_device, VGA, DRAM, & CPU LEDs, then the boot_device LED remains lit on the dd Q-Code.

    A note though: the computer always starts up right away on the second attempt with no issues and this only started once i hooked up my second Dell U2515H monitor.
    Last edited by 10scor71; 01-27-2016 at 01:38 AM.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array 10scor71 PC Specs
    10scor71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/USB 3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)64gb G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce 980TI Windforce
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorTwo Dell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro SSD boot drive
    Storage #2Two WD Black 4TB Performance HDDs (mirrored)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2
    Keyboard Logitech K800 Illuminated wireless
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Pecham Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 8TB Seagate Archive HDD
    Accessory #2 CyberPower 900W UPS

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    So, I'm guessing nobody from Asus ever reads these forums to provide answers to simple questions?

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array red454 PC Specs
    red454 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme BIOS 3801
    Processor5820K
    Memory (part number)32GB - G.Skill F4-2800C16Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    MonitorDual 23"
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 280L
    CaseThermaltake Core X9
    Power SupplyDARK POWER PRO 11 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G600
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterLinksys EA9500
    Accessory #1 FreeNAS Server with 8TB
    red454's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    429

    I have seen it a few times. I don't recall the situation, but I think it would be fine on the next reboot - like yours.

    I am sure ASUS people are on here, but think about how many ASUS products there are, and how many threads are on the forum. Frustrating, yes but sometimes it takes a little while for a response.
    Last edited by red454; 02-04-2016 at 11:09 AM.
    ASUS Rampage V Extreme BIOS 3801 | i7-5820K | Thermaltake Core X9 | G.Skill F4-2800C16Q-32GRK | Cooler Master Nepton 280L | Dual Samsung 850EVO 500GB SSD | PSU: DARK POWER PRO 11 1000W | 3TB & 4TB HDD | NVIDIA GTX Titan X | ASUS 24x DVD±RW Drive | Win10 Pro

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array 10scor71 PC Specs
    10scor71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/USB 3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)64gb G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce 980TI Windforce
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorTwo Dell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro SSD boot drive
    Storage #2Two WD Black 4TB Performance HDDs (mirrored)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2
    Keyboard Logitech K800 Illuminated wireless
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Pecham Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 8TB Seagate Archive HDD
    Accessory #2 CyberPower 900W UPS

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by red454 View Post
    I have seen it a few times. I don't recall the situation, but I think it would be fine on the next reboot - like yours.

    I am sure ASUS people are on here, but think about how many ASUS products there are, and how many threads are on the forum. Frustrating, yes but sometimes it takes a little while for a response.
    It seems like this is a new issue at Asus as well. Here is the latest response I've gotten from their support:
    We are really sorry that we are not able to solve your query at this time. As this is a
    very new issue, we request you to give us some time to do some research on Q-
    Code dd.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    I have experienced a Q-code dd halt myself several times, I am always playing with my overclock and memory timings so I chalk it up to, it must be me as I don't experience this when using default settings, but like you it usually boots successfully by pushing the restart button

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array 10scor71 PC Specs
    10scor71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/USB 3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)64gb G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce 980TI Windforce
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorTwo Dell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro SSD boot drive
    Storage #2Two WD Black 4TB Performance HDDs (mirrored)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2
    Keyboard Logitech K800 Illuminated wireless
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Pecham Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 8TB Seagate Archive HDD
    Accessory #2 CyberPower 900W UPS

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I have experienced a Q-code dd halt myself several times, I am always playing with my overclock and memory timings so I chalk it up to, it must be me as I don't experience this when using default settings, but like you it usually boots successfully by pushing the restart button
    I have yet to try any overclocking as my system is really only meant to be a graphics workstation, so everything is stock. Asus, so far, doesn't seem to know how to handle this code:

    Dear Customer,

    Thank you for choosing ASUS Customer Service.

    As per the suggestion given by our escalation team, below are the troubleshooting steps needed to be followed.

    1. Kindly plug the power supply to the 4pin connector
    2. Kindly re-seat all components, especially the power connectors like EATXPWR, EATX12V_1, memory

    If it still doesn’t work, please press SAFE_BOOT button to force the system to reboot into the BIOS safe mode, and run as default optimized settings and see if you are getting the error.

    Hope this helps. If the issue remains unresolved, please get back to us and we would be happy to help.

    Thank you for choosing ASUS.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array 10scor71 PC Specs
    10scor71 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/USB 3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)64gb G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-2400
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce 980TI Windforce
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorTwo Dell U2515H
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro SSD boot drive
    Storage #2Two WD Black 4TB Performance HDDs (mirrored)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000P2
    Keyboard Logitech K800 Illuminated wireless
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-M50x
    Mouse Pad Pecham Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 8TB Seagate Archive HDD
    Accessory #2 CyberPower 900W UPS

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    So, after several rounds with Asus support via email, I went to the online chat option and got an answer within 30 or so minutes. Basically, Asus doesn't have an answer for this code as the code is "reserved" for future use. So anybody who runs into this issue in the future, the answer is: "your guess is as good as ours."

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array red454 PC Specs
    red454 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme BIOS 3801
    Processor5820K
    Memory (part number)32GB - G.Skill F4-2800C16Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    MonitorDual 23"
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 280L
    CaseThermaltake Core X9
    Power SupplyDARK POWER PRO 11 1000W
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G600
    OS Win 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterLinksys EA9500
    Accessory #1 FreeNAS Server with 8TB
    red454's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    429

    Sounds like it is time to get the DeLorean up to 88 MPH...
    ASUS Rampage V Extreme BIOS 3801 | i7-5820K | Thermaltake Core X9 | G.Skill F4-2800C16Q-32GRK | Cooler Master Nepton 280L | Dual Samsung 850EVO 500GB SSD | PSU: DARK POWER PRO 11 1000W | 3TB & 4TB HDD | NVIDIA GTX Titan X | ASUS 24x DVD±RW Drive | Win10 Pro

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array SGMRock PC Specs
    SGMRock PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900X
    Memory (part number)TridentZ RGB F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled
    Sound CardSound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorSamsung LC32HG70 144Hz Freesync 2 Curved HDR
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe M.2 1TB
    Storage #2SanDisk Extreme Pro SSD 960GB
    CPU CoolerAlphacool Eisbaer 280MM
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series Arctic White 780T Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Sound Blaster X Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64x
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3100
    Accessory #1 Razer Orbweaver Chroma
    SGMRock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    123

    Ever since 1902 BIOS i also get the same thing when I change memory settings, even though the settings work perfectly well under Chino's DDR4 3000 testing regimen and will run the memtest 16 threads for hours with no errors for some reason when I change the settings the first boot after about 1/2 the time i get the dd code. I hit the reset button and it boots right up no problem and so far it only does it that one time, after that I can warm restart or cold boot and it comes up perfect.
    Asus ROG Rampage VI Apex 1301 BIOS / Intel i9-7900X / G.Skill TridentZ RBG F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 17-17-17-37
    Samsung 32" 2560x1440 Curved Freesync 2 HDR Monitor / MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 Liquid Cooled GC / Sound Blaster AE-5
    Alphacool Eisbaer 280 CLC CPU Cooler / EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2 / Corsair Arctic White T780 Case

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Avenger411 PC Specs
    Avenger411 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5930K@4.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skills DDR4-3200 (16-16-16-36-1T) 1.375v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid AiO Liquid Cooler
    MonitorAsus RoG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1OCZ RD400A (Windows)
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro (Gaming)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1000w Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry-Mx Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Roccat 5.1 True Surround Digital
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Iphone 6S 64gb
    Accessory #2 Brainwave Headset Stand
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox360 Pc Controller

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    617

    Hey,

    I just changed memory and it just happened to me. I got a new DDR4-3000 32gb Cas15-2T (running @2750 cas14-1T right now, not done dropping it ) and it just did the "dd" Q-code after a very normal reboot. Quite weird, i had the same ram but in the 16gb version before and it never did the "dd" qcode. Will have to look into it. Will report.

    Max
    Cpu : Intel 5930K@4.25ghz@1.2v / Cache @4.25ghz@1.20v
    Cpu Cooler : Corsair H100i
    Case : Corsair 780T
    Memory : G.Skills 32GB DDR4-3200mhz CAS 15-15-15-35-1T@1.370v
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    M2 : Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512gb (Gaming)
    M2 : SSD1 : OCZ RD400A 128gb (windows)
    SSD1 : Crucial MX100 512gb (data)
    Gfx : EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid Cooling AiO Liquid Cooler
    PSU : Antec HCP-1000W
    Monitor : Asus RoG Swift

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •