View Poll Results: How fast do you think a G752VY can handle?

Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • PC 17000 2133MHz stock speed

    3 33.33%
  • PC 19200 2400MHz

    0 0%
  • PC 21300 2666MHz

    1 11.11%
  • PC 22400 2800MHz

    5 55.56%
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 48
  1. #31
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    I don't but I wouldn't be overly concerned with post beeps. Mine were happening with the OS up and running.

  2. #32
    ROG Enthusiast Array pigulici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    So I just get 2x 8GB Corsair(2133MHz, CL15, CMSO8GX4M1A2133C15), put in it, my g752vy come only with 1x8GB, and after add those 2, puff, like others, my laptop now start in more than 30s, with only the original stick, 6-8s, so I will return the Corsair for now, but I think the bios it is not mature in all g752V...

  3. #33
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    I had the same issues with 208. Ran like a champ with no problems until I changed memory then started the problems. I couldn't even roll back the BIOS with the Gskill sticks installed. Put old sticks back and problems disappeared. I did roll it back to 206 then put the new memory back in and had other problems with them so sent them back. I'm just going to stay with the stock set up until a new BIOS is released.

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array pigulici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    Yes, this is my plan too, until new bios, stay with stock ram, maybe at the time machines was tested, were few sodimm ddr4 on market , to make tests, that is one of pain when you get the newest hardware on market...

  5. #35
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    OK what we found out here is 2400 is the ceiling, not going any faster. 2800MHz installed and picked up by SPD but multiplier set to 24 automatically and cannot be changed. I sent the 2800 back as one of them had issues and contemplated for awhile on my next move. First thought was to go for the 2400Mhz seeing how thats the ceiling but I got to thinking about it and 2400 is not much of a gain over the stock 2133. Add to that of having to crack open the replacement I got that hasnt been opened up and I canned that Idea. Just not worth it. What I decided to do was just add to what is already there and max it out at 64GB of RAM. Didnt want to risk too many variables with aftermarket stuff and the SK Hynix that comes stock in these is pretty much impossible to find. What I did find is OEM Samsung sticks that the 8GB versions I know are used in some ASUS models. So I located 16GB sticks with identical timings for $86/stick and put them in. Works like a charm with the stock SK Hynix still in slots 1 and 3 and Sansung in 2 and 4. Cut the memory upgrade cost in half that went towards a second 950 pro to complete a raid 0 array.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mem.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	152.3 KB 
ID:	55682


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mem2.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	75.8 KB 
ID:	55683


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mem3.jpg 
Views:	82 
Size:	73.5 KB 
ID:	55684

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    129

    This thread is not only informative but highly amusing Justin. I'm keeping the stock 64GB DDR4-2133 MHz
    that came w/ my G752VY-DH78K. It doesn't seem worth the hassle to purchase 4x 16GB DDR4 2400 MHz
    SODIMMs, tear down the entire beast for such an incremental performance boast if any.
    Getting off this G752VY max memory frequency supported topic here, but instead of jumping in and
    upgrading my G752VYs' 2x 256GB OEM Samsung SM951 NVMe SSD's to 2x retail 512GB Samsung 950 Pro's
    I may hold out until later in the year.
    I'd rather purchase 2x 1TB PCIe 3.0 NVMe SSD's with whatever name Samsung calls them in either
    OEM or retail versions.
    Late summer, or early fall 2016 Samsung announced their coming out w/ (2) new OEM PCIe 3.0 NVMe M.2 SSD's
    to ship in new PC's 2nd half of 2016 called the SM961 & PM961. They will both be offered in
    128GB/256GB/512GB/1TB Capacities. They both use 3D/V-NAND memory and Samsungs' latest Polaris Controller.
    The SM961 reportedly reaches up to 3,200MB/s on sequential Read & 1,800MB/s sequential Write, as well offers
    increased Random Read up to 450K IOPS (QD32) , Random Write up to 400K IOPS (QD32).
    I'm sure the 1TB of this puppy will come w/ a steep price tag esp. considering its' OEM only.
    2x 1TB SM961's in RAID0 might saturate the PCIe 3.0's max 3.94GB/s on the READ. Might not need to use the
    G752VYs' RAID 0 anymore!
    The PM961 is the lower performing of the two. It offers up to 3,000 MB/s Read, but only up to 1,150MB/s Write,
    Random Read up to 360K IOPS(QD32) , Random Write up to 280K IOPS (QD32).
    Future upgrades to look forward too, especially if the 950 Pro or next Retail variant gets the Polaris Controller
    to increase its' performance similar to this SM961 along w/ 1TB capacity.
    Last edited by Jon G; 04-04-2016 at 03:05 AM.

  7. #37
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    If the speeds get up that high the raid will in fact be useless. 3500MBPS is the max on the bus. I'm set with the two 512 950 pros and 1TB 850 EVO.
    Yeah the conclusion I came to with 2400 maxing out and everything locked where you can't OC the memory or CPU left me at just accepting the 2133. A change from 1066 memory clock and 1200 isn't substantial enough to justify the price tag to do it. I went for broke and CHOKED! LOL

  8. #38
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Does anyone know if g752vt can accommodate two Crucial 16GB 2400 modules in addition to the notebook's existing two 8GB 2133 MHz modules .. I don't mind them running at the lower speed of 2133 Mhz, I just need to know if they will work..

    I am wary because an amazon customer has reported that said Crucial 32 GB kit (2x16) CT2K16G4SFD824A did not post at all on a similar notebook - the GL752VW

    amazon review:

    Tried the ram in an Asus ROG GL752VW laptop and it failed to post. Shame as I'll now fall back onto the slower speed ram. I wouldn't blame the ram, at all, but obviously check if your model supports faster speeds. 5 stars as it's not the ram at fault.

  9. #39
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Thanks for the info. Problem is the 6700HQ CPU is locked and now that Ive changed BIOS back to 206 the Intel MTU is showing those multipliers grayed out and memory functions are just plain gone!

    In a Desktop environment I've seen people pass this easily, not happening on a laptop with a very basic BIOS that has no settings for memory or CPU. Im not going though pulling this thing completely apart again just to reset the CMOS.

    So my conclusion is the MAX speed of memory on this platform is the one that no one voted for.......24000Mhz

    Going to put the RAM back in now to see what happens with BIOS 206.
    Hey man, did you confirm you can mix 2400 MHZ memory with the g752's stock 2133 MHZ ?

  10. #40
    ROG Enthusiast Array 0neWinged PC Specs
    0neWinged PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G75VW-BBK5
    MotherboardAsus G75VW (Intel HM77) W/ Custom BIOS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 3610QM @ 2.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB (F3-1600C9S-8GRSL)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M 2GB
    Sound Card5.1 VIA HD Audio
    Monitor17.3" 1080P Matte LED
    Storage #1240GB Sata III Intel 535 SSD (SSDSC2BW240H601)
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 7200RPM 1TB HDD (WD10JPLX)
    CPU CoolerAsus Cooling Heatsink (13N0-MBA0601)
    CaseASUS G75VW w/Custom Intake Mod and Carbon Fiber Vinyl Wrap
    Power SupplyASUS 180W Power Supply (AC 100-240V, 50-60Hz, DC 19V 9.5A)
    Keyboard ASUS Built In Keyboard w/Red LED backlight Mod
    Mouse ASUS ROG GX950 Laser Mouse
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-Band Wireless-AC3200
    Accessory #1 Upgraded Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 Plus 4.0 Bluetooth
    0neWinged's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by fixxi.net View Post
    Hey man, did you confirm you can mix 2400 MHZ memory with the g752's stock 2133 MHZ ?

    I'm pretty sure you can. Only thing is the system settings will most likely auto lower your 2400MHZ memory to match the 2133 Memory. If you run the 2400MHZ memory in a different channel, then manually change the frequency you should be ok and it should work.. If you want 2400MHZ that is

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •