View Poll Results: How fast do you think a G752VY can handle?

Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • PC 17000 2133MHz stock speed

    3 33.33%
  • PC 19200 2400MHz

    0 0%
  • PC 21300 2666MHz

    1 11.11%
  • PC 22400 2800MHz

    5 55.56%
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 48
  1. #11
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Nice. That's one above stock. Highest I've seen so far if the 2800MHz. I have t pulled the trigger yet, going for the 2800MHz but can't make up my mind if 64GB is worth it or to just go with 32GB. I'm not going to be using a ram drive but more ram does equate to faster rendering for video and batch photo editing, two things that are the biggest reason I bought this rig in the first place.

  2. #12
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    178

    I think 32GB is far more than enough. still waiting for my another G752 from RMA, its been a week already.
    2800MHZ is not available in asia country yet. else i will use that. Maybe next time for my another G752.

  3. #13
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    I bit the bullet and went for broke with the 64GB 2800Mhz Gskill. Got notice From Newegg that its processed so the back order is cleared. Most likely wont see it until early on next week due to the blizzard moving in tomorrow night. Be too busy with snow removal anyhow!

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    176

    Last edited by kingjezdi; 01-22-2016 at 03:32 PM.

  5. #15
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by kingjezdi View Post
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820232172 - 4x 16GB
    This is precisely what I ordered. Ill post up how it pans out when I get it and its installed.

  6. #16
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    178

    Oh man... The price for my Kingston 32GB DDR4 2400 are exactly the same with G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 32GB (4 x 8G) 260-Pin DDR4 SO-DIMM DDR4 2800 (PC4 22400).

    I don't wanna stay on this crapland anymore... I could have getting 2800!!!!
    I just checked with newegg, shipping fee to my country will need another $199.. I'm giving up..

  7. #17
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Ouch! Shipping for me was free!
    Be here Wednesday.
    $199 extra seems a bit steep no matter where you are. It's not like it's a 50kg box! I shipped a small parcel to Batam Indonesia not long ago by The postal service which took about 2 weeks for $30 with insurance.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-23-2016 at 06:36 AM.

  8. #18
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Well I just had a fun filled several hours.
    Memory kit came a day early. Saw on the tracking that it was out for delivery so I cracked my machine open as I was replacing all the sticks.
    Install the 2 on the inside, boot up with things still loose and it reverts fast boot disabled in the bios. I change it back and shut down.
    Install other 2 sticks restart and fast boot is disabled, set it to enabled again and save and exit, machine boots all 64GB showing up but its not at 2800Mhz its at 2400Mhz. Showed the same clocks everywhere. Showed correct SPD and JDEC values for a 1400Mhz clock speed but it was running at 1200. OK so I do the unthinkable and open up Intel XTU. It would let me run the multiplier up until I passed 2666Mhz then is ran the bus speed from 1.33 to 1. So I'm like OK and went with it and it then let me run the multiplier up to 28 for 2800Mhz. I saved and rebooted. BIG EFFIN MISTAKE! HUGE ONE! Bricked and would not restart. no BIOS reset trick in the book was going to work. Power LED and light bulb LED illuminated, that was it. Tried the CTL+Home+pwr button with BIOS loaded on USB, no dice. NADA. This machine is a ROYAL PITA to tear down but thats what it took. Complete tear down to get to the CMOS battery. Where they have it you cant even remove a few screws and lift up to get to it, Complete MOBO removal is required. Just FYI its located about a little better than halfway up from the front of the machine and about an inch in on the right side near the mini display port. To get the board out the fans have to come out before you can lift up and it has to come out lifting on the left side up first to get the audio jacks out of the hole. WHAT A BEAR THAT WAS! Display had to come off, everything. Just to get to the CMOS battery. If I ever go in again I'm going to extend the leads and place that batter in the drive bay!

    Anyhow left battery disconnected for about 20 mins then plugged it back in and began reassembly. With everything back together it booted up again. OK all is not lost, I just cant go past 2400. Or so I thought. I go digging around just checking things out and it locks up hard. had to do a power button shut down. Did this several time then I start hearing bios type beeps that i never heard before. Next thing I know I'm looking at a gray screen and it flashed up something about requesting downgrade of something but the screen grayed out with a single white dot in the middle followed by a black screen. I saw HDD activity so I let it go for a bit. Another hard shutdown. So on reboot the BIOS is back to fast boot disabled again. So I proceed to the cheat to roll it back to 206..........NOPE not going anywhere. on reboot where you should get the bios flash screen I just rebooted. tried flashing from the BIOS, nope thats not working either. Tried the CTL+home+Pwr trick with bios renamed to bin and on a fat 32 usb drive. Nope wouldnt work either. Boot back up and it starts random restarts. Then an error to install the start up disk. I went to bios checked save and exited and it booted back up but shortly after shut back down again. Finally I took the keyboard off again and put the stock RAM back in. Booted right up, fast boot was enabled, flashed back to 206 with the cmd prompt trick and now that's where I sit, back where I started except at BIOS 206.

    I'm going to mess with it more tomorrow, the keyboard is laying loose on the top yet. I'm just wiped for now. I did find it interesting all the issues it created, especially the BIOS problems that I didn't have before.

    Jason you might want to rethink your RAM as a culprit. Ill report back tomorrow on how it works out. I'm going to try and install it on BIOS 206 and see where it takes me.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-27-2016 at 02:50 AM.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    I was thinking about to upgrade my RAM with higher frequencies too. And I read somewhere in this forum and on another site about bclk straps..
    http://us.hardware.info/reviews/5775...nd-multipliers
    What I've read is that you max have frequency of 2400 MHz with a bclk strip of 1 and a multiplier of 24x. Multipliers over 24x for higher frequencies than 2400 Mhz are bad. And I would understand "bad" as won't start or work. To get higher frequencies you have to set the bclk strap to 1.25 or higher to work with multipliers under 24x. Maybe this leads to your problem but I didn't try it. Hope I didn't write bull**** and it helps somehow

    Greetings

  10. #20
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Thanks for the info. Problem is the 6700HQ CPU is locked and now that Ive changed BIOS back to 206 the Intel MTU is showing those multipliers grayed out and memory functions are just plain gone!

    In a Desktop environment I've seen people pass this easily, not happening on a laptop with a very basic BIOS that has no settings for memory or CPU. Im not going though pulling this thing completely apart again just to reset the CMOS.

    So my conclusion is the MAX speed of memory on this platform is the one that no one voted for.......24000Mhz

    Going to put the RAM back in now to see what happens with BIOS 206.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •