Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array volts240@live.co.uk PC Specs
    volts240@live.co.uk PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)?
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Ranger VII
    ProcessorIntel i7-4970K
    Memory (part number)KHX18C10AT3K2/16X
    Graphics Card #1GTX-970
    Graphics Card #2GTX-970
    Sound CardZ97 Realtek
    MonitorViesa 32"
    Storage #1Plextor M6e 256GB M.2-2280 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid
    CaseCorsair Air 540 ATX Mid Tower
    Power SupplyThermaltake Smart M 850W 80+
    Keyboard Corsair K30 / Razer Tartarus
    Mouse Razer Abyssus 3.5G
    Headset Logitech H600
    OS Windows Home Premium x64
    Network RouterBTHH5
    volts240@live.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    How to Disable C-State for CPU in BIOS

    "Disabling C-state for my CPU in bios was the biggest boost I've noticed to reduce crashes"

    I read this on a forum for my game, which crashes alot

    Anybody know precisely what to tweak in BIOS

    There's a lot of CPU tweaks .. i'm not au fait with messing this deep .

    Appreciate it ..
    Devils Canyon Intel i7-4970K ~ Asus Maximus Ranger VII ~ 16 GB HyperX Beast ~ Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 - 2280 SSD ~ CPU Cooler Corsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid ~ PSU: Thermaltake Smart M 850W 80+ Windows Home Premium x64

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    C-States are power-saving features built into the processors. They basically shut down or inactive circuit components when they're not needed, then repower them when demand is anticipated. Full explanation here.

    I can't think of any way C-States would interfere with games, aside from failing to properly reactivate hardware when resuming from sleep/hibernate.

    You can always do a cold boot - fully disconnect and shutdown all power, then start up - if C-States cause improper hardware initialization. Soft boots (like Windows Restart) or warm boots (pressing Reset button) may not always work.

    Your problems might be caused by a PSU underrated for your hardware load.

    Some games (like BF4) make awful use of multicore/multithreading processor resources and can perform better on some machines with HyperThreading disabled. This is a simple "Enable/Disable/Auto" BIOS setting on all HT-capable Intel motherboards.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array volts240@live.co.uk PC Specs
    volts240@live.co.uk PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)?
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Ranger VII
    ProcessorIntel i7-4970K
    Memory (part number)KHX18C10AT3K2/16X
    Graphics Card #1GTX-970
    Graphics Card #2GTX-970
    Sound CardZ97 Realtek
    MonitorViesa 32"
    Storage #1Plextor M6e 256GB M.2-2280 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid
    CaseCorsair Air 540 ATX Mid Tower
    Power SupplyThermaltake Smart M 850W 80+
    Keyboard Corsair K30 / Razer Tartarus
    Mouse Razer Abyssus 3.5G
    Headset Logitech H600
    OS Windows Home Premium x64
    Network RouterBTHH5
    volts240@live.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Korth
    That's the one I'm looking for disable HT in BIOS ,
    there's some controversy over whether or not to do it
    e.g this thread:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/pcgaming/co...pposedly_give/

    I'm simply experimenting with it to see what the results are .
    Devils Canyon Intel i7-4970K ~ Asus Maximus Ranger VII ~ 16 GB HyperX Beast ~ Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 - 2280 SSD ~ CPU Cooler Corsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid ~ PSU: Thermaltake Smart M 850W 80+ Windows Home Premium x64

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    In the bios, Advanced menu, CPU configuration, scroll to bottom, CPU Power Management, CPU C-States, Disable.
    Personally I always disable C-States, no reason, just became a habit, I leave Speedstep enabled and C-States disabled, then I cange the Windows power plans settings to my liking

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by volts240@live.co.uk View Post
    Korth
    That's the one I'm looking for disable HT in BIOS ,
    there's some controversy over whether or not to do it

    I'm simply experimenting with it to see what the results are .
    That's exactly what I did, lol.

    A couple of restarts between a couple of BF4 benchmark/play sessions took a whole lot less time than digging through piles and piles of angry internet muck. It turns out that performance differences were negligible on my gaming rig - BF4 apparently has little need to call HyperThreaded processes simply because there's always enough raw physical cores available - so I just leave HT enabled. But results vary - and there's no substitute for success.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array volts240@live.co.uk PC Specs
    volts240@live.co.uk PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)?
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Ranger VII
    ProcessorIntel i7-4970K
    Memory (part number)KHX18C10AT3K2/16X
    Graphics Card #1GTX-970
    Graphics Card #2GTX-970
    Sound CardZ97 Realtek
    MonitorViesa 32"
    Storage #1Plextor M6e 256GB M.2-2280 SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid
    CaseCorsair Air 540 ATX Mid Tower
    Power SupplyThermaltake Smart M 850W 80+
    Keyboard Corsair K30 / Razer Tartarus
    Mouse Razer Abyssus 3.5G
    Headset Logitech H600
    OS Windows Home Premium x64
    Network RouterBTHH5
    volts240@live.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    In the bios, Advanced menu, CPU configuration, scroll to bottom, CPU Power Management, CPU C-States, Disable.
    Personally I always disable C-States, no reason, just became a habit, I leave Speedstep enabled and C-States disabled, then I cange the Windows power plans settings to my liking
    That's where I need to go ..
    since discovered another problem though
    when I'm in the BIOS the mouse won't stay still over the selection
    jumps up to top
    tried diff mouse, made sure nothing is hitting keyboard keys
    no difference .. have the latest 3003
    did manage to al-tab enter + - and changed
    thanks a bunch fellas
    Last edited by volts240@live.co.uk; 01-20-2016 at 11:54 PM.
    Devils Canyon Intel i7-4970K ~ Asus Maximus Ranger VII ~ 16 GB HyperX Beast ~ Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 - 2280 SSD ~ CPU Cooler Corsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid ~ PSU: Thermaltake Smart M 850W 80+ Windows Home Premium x64

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    In the bios, Advanced menu, CPU configuration, scroll to bottom, CPU Power Management, CPU C-States, Disable.
    Personally I always disable C-States, no reason, just became a habit, I leave Speedstep enabled and C-States disabled, then I cange the Windows power plans settings to my liking
    thanks for this mate, I couldnt find that setting either

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by the wee man View Post
    thanks for this mate, I couldnt find that setting either
    well i have to say that i tried c=states to disable and it crashed realbench in a couple of minutes, checked again with it enabled again and touch wood for luck it seems fine, so it appears that c-states could be a bit of a bit and miss for certain people with certain settings or OC etc etc etc, just thought I would say.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    In the bios, Advanced menu, CPU configuration, scroll to bottom, CPU Power Management, CPU C-States, Disable.
    In the BIOS Advanced menu on my G75VW, there is no CPU configuration item to select. I don't find anything in the BIOS interface giving me access to the CPU settings. Am I missing something?
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 2016-02-20 13.34.24.jpg  


  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Any assistance with my question above would be appreciated, as I am recently experience latency issues with my music interface (for recording), and most of the recommendations I've seen for dealing with it involve changing CPU settings, which I don't seem to be able to access on my machine, for some reason.

    Thanks!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •