Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 61
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    i know the whole dont touch what aint broke but does this bios provide any performance benefit

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I am using this bios for a few hours. I upgraded from 1202. I noticed that while upgrading to the 1402 my MOBO rebooted once and it was ready to go... When i upgraded from 0802 to 1202 back when i got the mobo, the bios rebootet like 5-8 times... Was kinda weird to me but other than that it works perfectly fine.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Quote Originally Posted by Doko15 View Post
    I am using this bios for a few hours. I upgraded from 1202. I noticed that while upgrading to the 1402 my MOBO rebooted once and it was ready to go... When i upgraded from 0802 to 1202 back when i got the mobo, the bios rebootet like 5-8 times... Was kinda weird to me but other than that it works perfectly fine.
    Same here, nothing to worry about.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Jagdseelen PC Specs
    Jagdseelen PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 ti SC2 Gaming
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q and Samsung C24F390FHE 23.5"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro M.2 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 3tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Graphite 760T Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 750W Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear D8500 (Beta Sample)
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG Front Base
    Accessory #2 ASUS DRW-24D3ST Black SATA DVD Burner
    Accessory #3 Oculus Rift Touch Bundle (New)
    Jagdseelen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    117

    Quote Originally Posted by misterbeam View Post
    I had to downclock my cpu by 100 Mhz with this update

    It crashes on the second test of realbench.
    1302 I was running 4.7ghz @1.35v and with 1402 I had to up the voltage to 1.36v which is fine.

  5. #25
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Just curious. Does this 1402 bios completely fix the microcode bug for Skylake that has been reported in Prime 95 ? I read that there might be some more updates about the bug later on... ?

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array The F34R Channel PC Specs
    The F34R Channel PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Z170
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Crucial MX200 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB SATA HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105 (push)
    CaseCorsair 760T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Mionix Avior 8200
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 (UEFI)

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    Firstly, there's no bug as I understand it; Skylake does not support AVX 512 and it was said it wouldn't, and secondly, it doesn't fix it but probably omits something, simply because handling such a thing can't be done after the design of the CPU microcode has been done

    I flashed 1402 as well today, but didn't do anything else in it, because...reasons
    Asus Z370 Maximus X Hero | Intel Core i7-8700K 4.7GHz | Corsair H105 | G.Skill Trident Z 3333MHz CL16 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | 760T | Acer XB270HU 1440p | Windows 10 Pro x64

  7. #27
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    103

    Quote Originally Posted by Doko15 View Post
    I am using this bios for a few hours. I upgraded from 1202. I noticed that while upgrading to the 1402 my MOBO rebooted once and it was ready to go... When i upgraded from 0802 to 1202 back when i got the mobo, the bios rebootet like 5-8 times... Was kinda weird to me but other than that it works perfectly fine.
    Have you noticed any difference with the HDD LED on the motherboard with the latest BIOS? Mine stays on, and I'm thinking it might not have behaved this way on the older BIOS.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array The F34R Channel PC Specs
    The F34R Channel PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Z170
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Crucial MX200 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB SATA HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105 (push)
    CaseCorsair 760T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Mionix Avior 8200
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 (UEFI)

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    Quote Originally Posted by jrrog1975 View Post
    Have you noticed any difference with the HDD LED on the motherboard with the latest BIOS? Mine stays on, and I'm thinking it might not have behaved this way on the older BIOS.
    It doesn't for me, just works normally.
    Asus Z370 Maximus X Hero | Intel Core i7-8700K 4.7GHz | Corsair H105 | G.Skill Trident Z 3333MHz CL16 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | 760T | Acer XB270HU 1440p | Windows 10 Pro x64

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    103

    Quote Originally Posted by The F34R Channel View Post
    It doesn't for me, just works normally.
    Maybe the original hero is good. Can anyone with the Alpha confirm if the hdd led stays on with 1402?

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    I read in another Thread someone had updated there bios to the latest and he had to up his voltage on his overclock. Well I too had the same problem. I updated to the 1402. With the same settings 5100 MHz uncore @ 44 and Memory running 3700+ Voltage 1.475v I had to up the voltage to stay stable to run the encoding and the GIMP test would crash every other time. I then reverted back to the 0401 bios same settings and voltages and managed a 114909 score. Seems like you guy's need a bit more tweaking on the next bios release.

    M8E - 16 GB TridentZ - 6700K

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •