Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    G73JH Throttlestop relevant still?

    I didn't want to bring up an old thread so I thought it best to start a new one, is the throttlestop program still relevant to G73JH's? I'm asking because I have been crashing (computer turns off in the middle of a game and restarts immediately) a good amount for the past year, see attached picture, it's been a lot...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kernel41Critical.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	190.6 KB 
ID:	54908

    I'm on the 213 BIOS if that matters.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    Hi there.

    I've never heard of Throttlestop until I saw it mentioned in this forum months ago however I have never used it myself and never found the need to. I seriously doubt that Asus would even say that it is necessary.

    My G73JH-A1 is on BIOS 213 as well and when I was running Windows 7, I did not have any problems that you are describing. I would through out a guess that perhaps you are having problems with drivers or your system is overheating (since you said it happens when gaming). Have you repasted your GPU and CPU since you got your G73JH?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Yeah, the motherboard and GPU are brand new. Just had them installed less than three weeks ago at a reputable local shop. Temps are fine, after doing reading on this issue though I think I'll see if anything changes. It usually crashes once a day.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    95

    OK. In that case I would have a look at drivers then.

    Did you install Windows 7 or did the PC shop do it for you?

    Does it crash/reboot only when running games or when surfing too?

    Is your GPU an AMD 5870 or did you get something else?
    Last edited by The Cool Dude; 01-22-2016 at 04:29 PM. Reason: forgot to ask something...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array billyray520 PC Specs
    billyray520 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G73JH-A1, G73Sw
    MotherboardMaximus V Extreme, H97M-Plus
    ProcessorIntel Core I7 3770K, Core I5 4690s
    Memory (part number)32 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 (MVE)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire HD 7970 Dual X OC (MVE)
    Graphics Card #2Intel HD Graphics 4600
    MonitorAsus ProArt PA248 (MVE)
    Storage #1OCZ Vertex 4 2.5" 256 GB SSD (MVE)
    Storage #2Seagate 1 TB 7200 SATA III 6.0 GB/s (MVE)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i Liquid Cooler (MVE)
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X tower on wheels (MVE)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower Grand 1200W (MVE)
    Keyboard Logitech G110 Black LED (MVE)
    Mouse Asus ROG MOBKUL Gaming (MVE)
    OS Windows 7 Professional / Ubuntu 12.04 (MVE)
    Network RouterMotorola Surfboard SBG6580
    billyray520's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    501

    Throttle stop is only needed for the G73Sw or newer equivalents, not the GH. I have it installed on the Sw.
    Asus Maximus V Extreme BIOS 1903, see specs above avatar.

    Asus G73 jh A1 laptop, BIOS 213, vBIOS OD2, 8 GB Ram, 240 GB Intel SSD, 180 GB Intel SSD. Win 7 Pro. Purchased new from PowerNotebooks.com in May 2010.
    (both have 1920X1080 hd screens, mine above, hers below )
    Asus G73 Sw XR1 laptop 8 GB Ram, 160 GB Intel SSD, 80 GB Intel SSD. Purchased used >Ebay 1/10/13, Did clean install of Windows 7

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    113

    I have it on my G74SX-3DE... and this is why:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...and-Workaround

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •