Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Saijohn PC Specs
    Saijohn PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook Pro Retina 15" Late 2014
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor69500X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix GTX 980 Ti
    MonitorDell U3415D
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #2Hyper X Predator M.2 480GB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom Watercooling
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse EVGA X10 Carbon
    OS Windows 10 & El Capitan 10.11.6

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Issue with Corsair K70 RGB Keyboard

    Would like to know if anyone here experiencing issue with K70 RGB connected to RVE?

    I have them both connected and everything was working fine.
    However, since Windows 10 update build 1511 (something like that) along with a Corsair Utility Engine and firmwire update my keyboard started to act weird. Normally when I turn off my PC, I would also switch off the PSU. But then the next time I turn on my PC, my K70 would go into demo mode (lights would start flashing and cycling) and the keyboard would not register any keys pressed. Only way to fix this is to unplug and replug the USB cable. But this does not happen if I just turn off the system without flipping the switch of the PSU or do a restart in windows.

    I emailed Corsair but they don't seem to know what is causing it. They told me to go into the bios and set full initialization under fast boot and also change some settings in Windows power options for the USB. But this did not fix my problem with the keyboard....

    Is there something else in the Bios I need to set to fix this??

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    Simple question - when you say both of them plugged in, are they in the USB 2 ports? If plugged in the USB 3 port, then you don't need both of them in.

    I had a problem like that when disconnecting all the usb out, and do some work on it and plugged them back in. My keyboard went a bit crazy with the colours and I just pulled it out and move to another usb 3 port and then continually do so until the familiar red led is showing and my keyboard is working again.
    Last edited by coyi1895; 01-22-2016 at 10:33 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Saijohn PC Specs
    Saijohn PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook Pro Retina 15" Late 2014
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor69500X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix GTX 980 Ti
    MonitorDell U3415D
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #2Hyper X Predator M.2 480GB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom Watercooling
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse EVGA X10 Carbon
    OS Windows 10 & El Capitan 10.11.6

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I have tried with both cables plugged into USB 2 ports and with just one plugged into USB 3 port but its still the same. Everytime when the keyboard is acting weird from the first startup (switching the PSU on and then turn on the PC) I just unplug and replug and everything is fine. Therefore, its either a bug with the keyboard or for some reason RVE has some kind of handshake issue with the keyboard. That's my guess.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    TBH, I didn't do anything in the BIOS for my keyboard, also, I don't turn the PSU off when shutting down unless I need to do work on it or replacing parts and that was when my keyboard acted up, demo mode (all white and then spiral and then no colours at all, non-responsive) - otherwise restarting and shutting down, my keyboard works fine. I'm using Windows 10 as well. Did you do the Windows 10 build 1511 clean installation as well?
    Last edited by coyi1895; 01-22-2016 at 11:45 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Saijohn PC Specs
    Saijohn PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook Pro Retina 15" Late 2014
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor69500X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix GTX 980 Ti
    MonitorDell U3415D
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #2Hyper X Predator M.2 480GB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom Watercooling
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse EVGA X10 Carbon
    OS Windows 10 & El Capitan 10.11.6

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I did a clean install of Windows 10 on a 850 Pro SSD. Then copied it over to a 950 Pro and updated to Windows 10 build 1511. Dont know if that's why. But on a second thought it shouldn't matter with windows because the mobo should detect that there's a keyboard during post.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array coyi1895 PC Specs
    coyi1895 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme BIOS 1502
    Processori7 5930K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C16 (single kit)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence One/Asus Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB Cherry MX Red Switch
    Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
    Headset Beyerdynamic MMX300
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U
    Accessory #1 Storage #3: ST2000DM001
    coyi1895's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    300

    Yeah you're right, it's a long shot. Maybe don't switch the PSU off after shutting down unless you have to and press Corsair to look into it. I can verify that happened to me not long ago.

    The other time my keyboard's LED wasn't showing as it should be but responsive was down to the Gigabyte OC Guru II software at startup. I uninstalled the Gigabyte software and my keyboard was fine again. The Corsair K70 RGB is a complex keyboard along with a complex software though.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Same thing happens to me with a k95 rgb, I don't usually turn off the psu but when I do it does the demo mode, I usually just hit the small round buttons on the top left that control the lighting presets in no particular order and it seems to go back to normal.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Saijohn PC Specs
    Saijohn PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook Pro Retina 15" Late 2014
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor69500X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix GTX 980 Ti
    MonitorDell U3415D
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #2Hyper X Predator M.2 480GB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom Watercooling
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse EVGA X10 Carbon
    OS Windows 10 & El Capitan 10.11.6

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I got a message back from corsair and they told me to RMA the keyboard after I told them that they suggestion did not fix my K70. So I guess it is a common issue with their RGB keyboards made prior to the release of windows 10.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array The F34R Channel PC Specs
    The F34R Channel PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Z170
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorAcer XB270HU 144Hz G-Sync
    Storage #1Crucial MX200 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB SATA HDD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105 (push)
    CaseCorsair 760T
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Mionix Avior 8200
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 (UEFI)

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    196

    Don't RMA it, the next one will do the same - mine did and does so. Just don't switch off the PSU and you're good to go.
    Asus Z370 Maximus X Hero | Intel Core i7-8700K 4.7GHz | Corsair H105 | G.Skill Trident Z 3333MHz CL16 16GB | Asus GTX 1080 Strix | EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 | Crucial MX200 500 GB | 760T | Acer XB270HU 1440p | Windows 10 Pro x64

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Saijohn PC Specs
    Saijohn PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Macbook Pro Retina 15" Late 2014
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor69500X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 2400MHZ
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX 980 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Strix GTX 980 Ti
    MonitorDell U3415D
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    Storage #2Hyper X Predator M.2 480GB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom Watercooling
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse EVGA X10 Carbon
    OS Windows 10 & El Capitan 10.11.6

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Well there are days that I don't get to use my PC and I would prefer to switch off the PSU to be safe. Anyways it is pointless to RMA if the new one would do the same. It's just a shame how it use to work flawlessly and all of a sudden after an update it crapped out on me and others who have the same issue. Anyways gonna repurpose the K70 for my laptop and get something else for the PC.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •