Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    G752VL with 1T HDD (No SSD), but will install SSD, how to go about cloning the HDD?

    Hi,

    This unit should be here this coming week via courier. I also needed an SSD and was initially going to leave the HDD in and pop in a 500G Samsung Pro NVMe M.2 but with the driver issue I'm now rethinking that I may buy a 1T Samsung EVO 850 Pro SATA III and replace the HDD.

    The only issue is with the cloning. I'm not sure how to go about cloning the HDD to the new Samsung when I won't be able to hook up both at once. Anyone have any ideas without having to spend too much on new equipment.

    Many thanks, W.

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    The standard drivers work fine for the 950 pro, its just a bit tricky getting the OS on it when you are not cloning a factory M2 SSD. I havent seen anyone clone the spinner to the SSD and be able to boot from it on this platform. I have seen, and have done myself, a clean install to the M2 SSD useing the UEFI boot guide in the stickies and loading the Intel RST drivers during the install.

    If you decide to stay with SATA III and go for an SSD installed there you can clone it using a USB 3.0 to SSD adaptor. Takes a bit longer but it works just fine. I actually used the head end of an older Seagate external USB 3.0 drive when they were making them where it pulled off the end.

    http://www.amazon.com/FINEX-Ultra-De.../dp/B008BQ34ZS


    What Ive used

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1195.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	814.9 KB 
ID:	54998


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1197.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	818.4 KB 
ID:	54999

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Great thanks for the reply, good info.

    In terms of speed my understanding from reading this forum is that the speed of the SATA is compatible to the PCIe SSD.
    My thoughts were to get the SATA now and the PCIe in 6-12 months by which time they may have sorted out the drivers issue
    completely and the prices may drop a little. Only need one drive at the moment.

    W.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    why not use asus backtracker, easy job

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by cdma2k View Post
    why not use asus backtracker, easy job
    That would be a good option however the documentation says that Backtracker is compatible only with Windows 8/8.1, it's running Windows 10

    http://www.asus.com/ca-en/support/FAQ/1008640/

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by wpeters View Post
    Great thanks for the reply, good info.

    In terms of speed my understanding from reading this forum is that the speed of the SATA is compatible to the PCIe SSD.
    My thoughts were to get the SATA now and the PCIe in 6-12 months by which time they may have sorted out the drivers issue
    completely and the prices may drop a little. Only need one drive at the moment.

    W.
    SATA and PCIe are very different. On My machine the M2 is nearly 5 times faster in sequential read and 3 times faster in sequential write.

    G752VY with PCIe M2 NVMe 950 pro using standard windows drivers that I have my OS on and a 1TB 850 EVO that I use for storage only. No Samsung Magician or drivers installed on this machine as they do not work.

    950 Pro
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	first run.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	67.6 KB 
ID:	55018


    850 EVO
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	850 sata.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	55019




    One thing I would like to ask is if and when you decide to go with an M2 if you could try cloning the Spinner to the SSD. Everyone I know of has failed on the CM236 chipset, including myself. I tried everything under the sun and found the only way to do it was a clean install using the UEFI guide in the sticky and installing Intel RST drivers for the raid controller during the install. Without the drivers the the clean install wouldnt see the drive at all and cloning attempts only ended with failure to boot from the M2 SSD after. I did it purely as research trying to help others as it wasn't needed on my machine, it came with a 256GB SM951NVMe that cloned perfectly two different ways with Samsung data migration and Acronis True image. Many in your exact scenario are looking for a solution.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 01-26-2016 at 04:18 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I cloned my HDD

    Hi,
    I'm new here and just got my new G752VL with only the 1tb HDD last week. I also purchased a 256mb Samsung 950 Pro m.2, installed it, booted into windows and then initialized it in disk management. I downloaded the Samsung Data Migration tool and used it to successfully clone my HDD to the 950 Pro m.2. I then shutdown the computer, removed the original HDD and restarted the computer with just the 950 Pro m.2 and it booted right into the desktop with no issues. Then I shutdown the computer and installed a new HGST 1tb 7200rpm HDD, booted back into Windows 10 initialized, and formatted the new HGST HDD.
    I uninstalled the Asus ROG First, Asus Cloud, McAfee software, and installed all Windows 10 updates.

    I also just ordered 16gb (2 8gb) of DDR4 2133 Kingston Value ram KVR21S15D8/8
    I have to say that I'm very happy with my new G752VL.
    Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    If you had only the 1TB HDD and no SSD and cloned with Samsung Data Migration to the SSD with no drivers you are the first! Congratulations. Everyone else has failed.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    If you had only the 1TB HDD and no SSD and cloned with Samsung Data Migration to the SSD with no drivers you are the first! Congratulations. Everyone else has failed.
    Yes I only had the stock 1tb HDD and then added the new Pro950 M.2, cloned the Windows 10 C: partition from the stock HDD to the Pro950 M.2 using Samsung Data Migration Ver.3. I had absolutely no issues booting up with the new Pro950 M.2 but the stock hard drive has been removed and put away incase I ever have to restore my machine to factory. Like I said, I purchased a new HGST 1tb 7200rpm HDD at Fry's for $75 and installed it for my storage drive. Windows installed the 10.0.10586.0 driver dated 6/21/2006 and I could not install the Samsung driver as well as use Samsung Magician like everyone else.

    Now I did clone the HDD right after I did the basic Windows 10 setup out of the box and removed McAffee before cloning not sure if that matters or not. I did all of the Windows 10 updates after cloning.
    I really like the Pro950 m.2, boots up quick and the machine is very snappy. I'm not a gamer but I purchased this machine because I wanted desktop power for Photoshop and the screen is great for photo editing.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    FYI Yes this worked for me too. Was able to clone from HDD to SSD using the Samsung Data Migration saoftware.
    W.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •