cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus VIII Formula

Nate152
Hello my good fellow ROG'ers

I just upgraded to the maximus viii formula and I love it, the 6700k and 16GB kingston hyperx predator ram (CL12 2400MHz). Everything is installed and running without a hitch. I did have a heck of a time activating windows 7 and then had a heck of a time upgrading to windows 10 but after about 7 hours it's finally done (sheeesh). The only thing I've done so far is overclock the ram and seems to be quite a nice kit as I'm able to overclock it to 3100MHz with 1.35v and timings 15-15-15-30-2T. I'm not an expert in overclocking ram but this looks pretty respectable to me what do you guys think?

I haven't overclocked the cpu yet and that will be next, I'm worried Intel may have sent me a not so good overclocker. I set the windows power plan to high performance and at 4200MHz the cpu is drawing 1.44v, on the bright side temps are great.

For those of you who have experience with the 6700k, I know on auto voltage it will get overvolted some but I was just wondering before I begin overclocking it, is it normal for the voltage to be that high on auto or did I possibly get a below average cpu. I haven't touched the BCLK but it looks to be running a little over 100.0

Thank you to all who answers.

Screenies

100 REPLIES 100

The_F34R_Channe
Level 7
Congrats on the most awesome Z170 ROG board! I'd say that's a decent RAM OC alright! As for the performance plan an the auto overvolting the heck out of it; I'd set it back to balanced and get things started once you start overclocking, mainly because imho 1.4x is way too much!

As for installing and then upgrading the OS; why take the long route, plus risking upgrades messing up things? You could just download the OS from MS and use your 7 key to activate it and thus have a clean install (I did after finding the upgrade extremely unstable and problematic). A clean install is always better in my experience.