Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    G751JY pinkish screen

    Guys,

    The screen on my G751JY suddenly turned pink when I was gaming.

    I restarted and shutdown the Laptop couple of times, problem still persists.

    I have connect the Laptop to TV screen through HDMI, the display on the TV was normal.

    The laptop screen is showing what it look like a shadow or memory of the previous display screen. Even at startup i can see a "shadow" of my wallpaper and icons.

    What do you think?

    Thnx
    Jad.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Any help guys?

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Whats the resolution on the external display and what's it do with the external display not connected?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Whats the resolution on the external display and what's it do with the external display not connected?
    The external display is 1080p full HD.

    Without the external display the laptop's screen is showing a pinkish display (check photos). Even at powerup, you can see Asus logo and "shadow" of some tabs on the right side of the logo (also in photo).
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos IMG_20160129_094055.jpg  

    IMG_20160129_094154.jpg  

    IMG_20160129_094243.jpg  


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I personally believe it is the screen. Though my Laptop is still under warranty I decided to fix it my self.

    I disassembled the screen to check the wiring trying to disconnect and reconnect, nothing changes. So I want to buy a replacement screen.

    My screen model is LP173WF4-SPD1. I found an exact replacement on Ebay, but my question is, any better screen out there?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    45

    I have this exact problem after browsing for a few minutes today my screen has just turned pink. Have you managed to resolve your issue? I'm still in warranty.
    many thx J

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    If its under warranty Id be sending it in. Displays arent exactly cheap and once you mess with that what ever warranty you have is null and void.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hey,

    I have ordered a replacement screen from Ebay. Should come in this week. The screen cost almost 110$ without shipping.

    My laptop "was" still under warranty (till 22nd april 2016), but honestly I just wanted to avoid the hassle of taking it to the service center and let it "sleep" there for 2-3 weeks to swap the screen, also I needed to take out all the personal stuff, further i don't like other people to mess with my PC .

    I know it is bit strange, but i considered it like having this problem after warranty expires. Should have experience with fixing your own laptop, will be cheaper on the long run.

    Will keep you posted if the screen swap will solve the problem.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Just to update guys.

    I received the new screen, and managed to replace it myself.

    This solved the problem and my display is back to normal.

    thnx
    Jad.

  10. #10
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Thanks for the Update! Another user reported the same problem and RMA'd his machine and had it back in a week and a new display solved the problem. The follow up is much appreciated so others that get a pink screen can search and see what it takes to resolve the issue!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •