Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 2.0 in a G20AJ

    Guys i recently bought a EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 2.0 to replace my GTX760 that came in the PC. But it only came with 6pin-mollex connectors. What is the best way to hook this thing up? The link below is the link to the card.

    http://www.evga.com/products/product...04g-p4-2978-kr

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I had the exact same card on my G20AJ. There should be an 8-pin PCIe cable in the box with the G20.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Welsh Whoopee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    230

    Quote Originally Posted by russel204 View Post
    Guys i recently bought a EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW GAMING ACX 2.0 to replace my GTX760 that came in the PC. But it only came with 6pin-mollex connectors. What is the best way to hook this thing up? The link below is the link to the card.

    http://www.evga.com/products/product...04g-p4-2978-kr
    yeah in my asus box I had 2 6 pin male connectors, you should have another in your box. otherwise I have only seen this cable sold with modular power supplies. I have a video on how to change over graphics cards in my playlist if it helps

    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...GvKyfPpV29l8ll

    Welsh Gaming
    YOUTUBE CHANNEL @ http://bit.ly/2LNo1dI

    ASUS ROG G20 PLAYLIST @ http://bit.ly/2R9njXC

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by rene_canlas View Post
    I had the exact same card on my G20AJ. There should be an 8-pin PCIe cable in the box with the G20.
    There is. But the GTX970 has 2 6 pin connectors. I don't have enough cables to connect it.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Welsh Whoopee View Post
    yeah in my asus box I had 2 6 pin male connectors, you should have another in your box. otherwise I have only seen this cable sold with modular power supplies. I have a video on how to change over graphics cards in my playlist if it helps

    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...GvKyfPpV29l8ll

    Welsh Gaming


    I'm good on putting it in. I just didnt get a second cable in my box and have no way to connect the card to my mobo. It has the same TDP as the GTX760 but im assuming it has to have both plugged in. Could i buy a splitter and plug one 6pin into it and plug the 2 six pins on the split end into the GPU or would that overdraw the circuit?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    27

    The eight pin connector turns into a six pin you need to slide it apart.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •