Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 41
  1. #31
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    No worries, just trying to save you some $$. I don't think anyone was impressed when ASUS made the decision to put the packs internally the way they did. I get the redesign etc but this pack could have been made to go in the same location and be removable externally very easily. Sounds more like a design for job security for them making less and less user serviceable platforms, I know all about how that works. I get complaints from customers all the time about how settings, calibration and life-cycle monitoring in our UPS systems should all be user accessible. We have it locked down tighter than the bunghole on a grasshopper with proprietary software that is heavily encoded and guarded. Job security is all it is about. It keep the users and even more importantly third party maintenance providers from being able to effectively service the machines. We lose a customer occasionally to a third party salesman who sold them the same service for half the price that we offer it for, but its always short lived when they find out that what they really got for half the price is someone who knows how to turn the machine off, run a vacuum, change filters and turn it back on. They couldnt do anything when it comes to repairs or even necessary replacement of items with a finite lifespan like batteries, power capacitors etc. Had one that tried capacitor replacement of a 500kVA machine in Hawaii and let the magic smoke out. I got a free vacation in Hawaii just to fly out and laugh at them when they asked if it could be rebuilt. Imagine something exploding so violently that it made 1/2 thick copper bus-bar look like the end of Elmer Fudds gun when Bugs Bunny put his finger in the end of the barrel right before he pulled the trigger. Bottom line. Machine was cooked, there goes $180K out the window!

  2. #32
    ROG Enthusiast Array pigulici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    69

    JustinThyme: in a ideal world this maybe good, but not on real world, I see so much people come to the shop where I work, the laptop not power on anymore, just removing the batteries, power on with the plug off, put back batteries and the laptop it works, if that person have to go to the authorized service, it is in another town, at least 4-5 days are lost , and money, and if you run a business from that laptop, yeah that will do good, if, and it is a big if, the quality of machine it is so good that don't break or I am near a service, I will be ok that the laptop it is not service friendly...

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Julskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    388

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    No worries, just trying to save you some $$. I don't think anyone was impressed when ASUS made the decision to put the packs internally the way they did. I get the redesign etc but this pack could have been made to go in the same location and be removable externally very easily. Sounds more like a design for job security for them making less and less user serviceable platforms, I know all about how that works. I get complaints from customers all the time about how settings, calibration and life-cycle monitoring in our UPS systems should all be user accessible. We have it locked down tighter than the bunghole on a grasshopper with proprietary software that is heavily encoded and guarded. Job security is all it is about. It keep the users and even more importantly third party maintenance providers from being able to effectively service the machines. We lose a customer occasionally to a third party salesman who sold them the same service for half the price that we offer it for, but its always short lived when they find out that what they really got for half the price is someone who knows how to turn the machine off, run a vacuum, change filters and turn it back on. They couldnt do anything when it comes to repairs or even necessary replacement of items with a finite lifespan like batteries, power capacitors etc. Had one that tried capacitor replacement of a 500kVA machine in Hawaii and let the magic smoke out. I got a free vacation in Hawaii just to fly out and laugh at them when they asked if it could be rebuilt. Imagine something exploding so violently that it made 1/2 thick copper bus-bar look like the end of Elmer Fudds gun when Bugs Bunny put his finger in the end of the barrel right before he pulled the trigger. Bottom line. Machine was cooked, there goes $180K out the window!
    @Justinthyme, are you in the ups business? I was with an atm company before. Biggest ups ive seen were only 3kva and they were the size of a refrigerator, jurassic lol. They were made by magnetec.

  4. #34
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Yes, Im a platform engineer for Schneider Electric. 3kVA is just a little bitty baby. We sell rack mounts in that size that are plug and play. Goes bad, yank it out and plug in another. Not everyone knows the parent company but one of the brands is a household name, everyone who even knows what a UPS is knows APC. 500kVA is for small to medium sized data centers. There are several banking institutions where we have parallel systems with an output of 5MW. Yes 5 million watts! and thats just one of their systems. Several large facilites have 5-10 of these configurations having upwards of 50MW of UPS power. Also do electrical distribution starting at the utility HV feed. Schneider Electric also owns Square D, Merlin Gerin and telemechanique. Lots of other companies too for building automation and monitoring, security etc. Ever see the worlds first hybrid bike?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjDtaxkBPBw

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iP6Riz-4y3c

  5. #35
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by pigulici View Post
    JustinThyme: in a ideal world this maybe good, but not on real world, I see so much people come to the shop where I work, the laptop not power on anymore, just removing the batteries, power on with the plug off, put back batteries and the laptop it works, if that person have to go to the authorized service, it is in another town, at least 4-5 days are lost , and money, and if you run a business from that laptop, yeah that will do good, if, and it is a big if, the quality of machine it is so good that don't break or I am near a service, I will be ok that the laptop it is not service friendly...
    And this is why I lead off with "If you are comfortable doing it". Most users in this forum wont bat an eye and tearing their machine down to bare bones. Some opt to take it to a repair shop. Me, Im a cheap SOB and refuse to pay someone to do something I can do myself......well right up until its time to play scuba diving in the sewer system, then my wallet opens right up!

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Julskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    388

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Yes, Im a platform engineer for Schneider Electric. 3kVA is just a little bitty baby. We sell rack mounts in that size that are plug and play. Goes bad, yank it out and plug in another. Not everyone knows the parent company but one of the brands is a household name, everyone who even knows what a UPS is knows APC. 500kVA is for small to medium sized data centers. There are several banking institutions where we have parallel systems with an output of 5MW. Yes 5 million watts! and thats just one of their systems. Several large facilites have 5-10 of these configurations having upwards of 50MW of UPS power. Also do electrical distribution starting at the utility HV feed. Schneider Electric also owns Square D, Merlin Gerin and telemechanique. Lots of other companies too for building automation and monitoring, security etc. Ever see the worlds first hybrid bike?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjDtaxkBPBw

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iP6Riz-4y3c
    Wow. Sorry for going OOT here. I am familiar with Schneider Electric, Merlin Gerin, APC. ACBs, ups, and automation equipment used by our ships.

  7. #37
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Yes we have them on ships. Ive been on two aircraft carriers, 3 coast gaurd cutters and a handful of cruise ships working. The last cruise ship was actually nice. They put out for an 8 day cruise and I went along for the ride, Balcony cabin with everything included. I was done with my work in less than 2 days. So the rest was a free vacation. Was cheaper to let me ride it out then to catch a flight out of a Caribbean island at the last minute.

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    92

    I think Aeoliso, but don't remember for sure, said Asus is using LG lipo batteries in G laptops or in all laptops, and these last a tad bit shorter than Samsung or Panasonic cells. So LG cells are lesser quality it would seem.
    I also had G751jy battery pack die on me last weekend,after one and half year use,almost all the time used on power brick, 42 cycles on batter. NICE.

    In my G752vy battery report all fields for batter capacity are empty . What the...?
    Last edited by winyl; 10-06-2016 at 07:34 PM.

  9. #39
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    G751JT

    Designed Capacity: 90000 mWh
    Fully Charged Capacity: 50565 mWh
    Wear Level: 43%

    Battery capacity history shows that it was capable of 79168 mWh just a month ago.
    Battery won't charge beyond 83%. I think I have a big problem. The laptop isn't 2 years old yet.
    Last edited by BlakLanner; 10-07-2016 at 04:30 PM.

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    513

    we are not representative...this is my meaning. asus give a sh.t on us
    mfg

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •