Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array HristijanP PC Specs
    HristijanP PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS VII RANGER
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz 2x8GB (HX324C11T3K2/16)
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 970
    MonitorLG 22EN33
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO - 256GB
    Storage #2Wester Digital Caviar Blue - 1TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
    CaseCoolerMaster Storm Scout 2 Advanced
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V650
    Keyboard SteelSeries APEX 300
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia V3 Prism
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Games crashing when using XMP profile 2400Mhz

    Hello Guys,

    I have an issue when using the XMP profile for 2400Mhz. Configuration below:

    - Asus ROG MAXIMUS VII RANGER
    - Intel i7 4790k
    - CoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
    - Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz - Part Number: HX324C11T3K2/16
    - Asus STRIX GTX 970
    - Samsung 850 PRO 256GB & WD Blue 1TB
    - CoolerMaster V650

    More details an the issue. When i use the XMP 1 profile with 2400Mhz, games start to suddenly crash. The screen just goes to Desktop and i am not getting any errors. This is occurring randomly and i haven't spotted any pattern. The game in question is CS:GO.

    I have reverted the RAM settings to Auto, therefor the frequency is set to 1600Mhz and i am not having any issues at all. I haven't had a single crash in the past 2 weeks. Everything seems to be working smoothly. I have also tried the second XMP profile with the 2133Mhz, and i am getting the same situation as with the 2400Mhz settings. I guess it is some instability issue which occurs on time to time. Also, i have performed a memtest and i have not received any errors.

    All other BIOS settings are set on Default and my CPU is not overclocked. Also, i have updated the BIOS to its latest version.

    Any suggestions? It is really sad when you get a high performance ram and you are using it as a regular one.

    Any help would be really appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello HriistijanP

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Instead of using X.M.P. try setting your ram manually, if it's still giving you trouble raise the Dram voltage a little along with the vccio and cpu system agent voltages and see if that gets you stabilized, raise each voltage in increments of .01v

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Puffnstuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    451

    If your memory is supposed to run at 2400 and won't then I'd rma it if your settings for it were correct when your issues were occurring.
    Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi, AMD 3900X, EVGA 360 aio, 32gb G.Skill Trident Z Neo, Samsung 970 Pro NVME 512gb, WD Black NVME 1 TB, Crucial MX500 2tb, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP!, EVGA Nu Audio, CM HAF 932

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array HristijanP PC Specs
    HristijanP PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS VII RANGER
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz 2x8GB (HX324C11T3K2/16)
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 970
    MonitorLG 22EN33
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO - 256GB
    Storage #2Wester Digital Caviar Blue - 1TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
    CaseCoolerMaster Storm Scout 2 Advanced
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V650
    Keyboard SteelSeries APEX 300
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia V3 Prism
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello HriistijanP

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Instead of using X.M.P. try setting your ram manually, if it's still giving you trouble raise the Dram voltage a little along with the vccio and cpu system agent voltages and see if that gets you stabilized, raise each voltage in increments of .01v
    Thank you for your feedback.

    Will set the settings manually (will check all of the settings which are changed by using XMP - freq, timings, voltages...) and let you know.

    Thank you again.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    What kind of a power supply are you using? How many watts does it put out?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    He has the coolermaster V650 and with a gtx 970 that should be fine.

    System wattage with the gpu in full stress is around 450 watts with a 3960x overclocked to 4.6GHz according to the guru 3d review so he should be using less watts.

    It could possibly be a faulty ram stick too.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array HristijanP PC Specs
    HristijanP PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS VII RANGER
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz 2x8GB (HX324C11T3K2/16)
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 970
    MonitorLG 22EN33
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO - 256GB
    Storage #2Wester Digital Caviar Blue - 1TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
    CaseCoolerMaster Storm Scout 2 Advanced
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V650
    Keyboard SteelSeries APEX 300
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia V3 Prism
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I have done a memtest, only 1 pass and no errors were detected. Though, when i started the memtest, the ram freq was set to Auto (1600) in BIOS. I am not sure if the memtest checks from 1600 to 2400 or only the current settings you have.

    I doubt it is a faulty stick, since i have ZERO issues when it is set to 1600. The trouble starts when using the XMP profiles and it seems to be random, therefor my thinking it is a stability issue matter.

    I have not tested with setting the values manually rather than using the XMP profile in case somehow the outcome changes, but definitely will give it a shot.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array HristijanP PC Specs
    HristijanP PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS VII RANGER
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz 2x8GB (HX324C11T3K2/16)
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 970
    MonitorLG 22EN33
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO - 256GB
    Storage #2Wester Digital Caviar Blue - 1TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
    CaseCoolerMaster Storm Scout 2 Advanced
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V650
    Keyboard SteelSeries APEX 300
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia V3 Prism
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Also, i forgot to mention something else.

    The RAM i have - HX324C11T3K2/16, this part number is not listed within the user manual under Supported 2400Mhz RAM. In fact, this part number is not anywhere listed within the user manual.

    Though, i think the HyperX Best 2400Mhz is supported, but under a different part number. The one which is listed, i think it is the same HyperX Best 2400, but only with a green PCB.

    Still, i do not think that could be an issue...

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Try your ram in the other two slots and try setting it manually, if you're not sure how do this:

    On the extreme tweaker tab set the Dram frequency to 2400, scroll down to Dram voltage and enter in 1.65v. Then go to Dram Timing Control and at the very top enter these timings. It only gives three timings so enter:

    11
    13
    14
    30
    command rate 2

    Let us know if this gets the ram going.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array HristijanP PC Specs
    HristijanP PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS VII RANGER
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790k
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz 2x8GB (HX324C11T3K2/16)
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX GTX 970
    MonitorLG 22EN33
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO - 256GB
    Storage #2Wester Digital Caviar Blue - 1TB
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
    CaseCoolerMaster Storm Scout 2 Advanced
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster V650
    Keyboard SteelSeries APEX 300
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
    Headset SteelSeries Siberia V3 Prism
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QCK
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I've tried changing the settings manually yesterday. Basically, what i did, was, check all of the changes that are done by using the XMP and input those values manually.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	be0c8c74aa292f8ec818500375867eadd91f906d44eeee83668480983f22f249.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	133.0 KB 
ID:	55537

    Still, no luck. After 5 min of gaming CSGO, this time it did not crash, everything froze. I had to hard reset it.

    Though, under the DRAM Timing Control Tab, there are 3 set of timings. I have only changed the ones under the 1st. Should have i change the timing under the 2nd and 3rd as well?

    I've noticed 1 weird thing. When i get back to BIOS to revert everything i changed, under the Monitor Hardware section, the DRAM voltage was 1.662V, even though i set it to 1.65V. Then, i checked the DRAM voltage again and it was set to 1.6500V...

    Thank you again.
    Last edited by HristijanP; 02-10-2016 at 01:14 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •