Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 93
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    607

    Latest Intel XTU allows 2 bins for G751 / i7-4710HQ

    Hey, guys.

    So in the i7-4720HQ thread >here< Antoine supposedly came across something interesting.
    All I had to do was install XTU 6.0.2.8 (which had to be done manually, since XTU itself didn't recognize the new version) and voila. 3.5 > 3.7GHz. Haven't done any benchmarks yet, but there you have it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	76 
Size:	506.5 KB 
ID:	55378

    Previously, this wasn't possible with firmware over version 202, though I have not tested older versions of XTU for it...since, apparently, this version bypasses whatever changes ASUS might have made. Thanks, Intel?
    No troubles so far with it ... an extra 100MHz is an extra 100MHz. Dunno what changed.
    I imagine this would work for all G751s. Have a go I guess, not much to lose.
    No problems with Watchdog, either. Running firmware ver. 207 and Win10. warryabel thinks it won't work on Win8?
    Last edited by Edweird; 02-05-2016 at 09:40 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    513

    Quote Originally Posted by Edweird View Post
    Hey, guys.

    So in the i7-4720HQ thread >here< Antoine supposedly came across something interesting.
    All I had to do was install XTU 6.0.2.8 (which had to be done manually, since XTU itself didn't recognize the new version) and voila. 3.5 > 3.7GHz. Haven't done any benchmarks yet, but there you have it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	76 
Size:	506.5 KB 
ID:	55378

    Previously, this wasn't possible with firmware over version 202, though I have not tested older versions of XTU for it...since, apparently, this version bypasses whatever changes ASUS might have made. Thanks, Intel?
    No troubles so far with it ... an extra 100MHz is an extra 100MHz. Dunno what changed.
    I imagine this would work for all G751s. Have a go I guess, not much to lose.
    No problems with Watchdog, either. Running firmware ver. 207.
    running 211 installed today xtu 6.0.2.8 can not raise multi to 38x on win8.1

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    607

    I should say that I installed 6.0.2.8 over previous version while it was still running and it gave me an error saying install can't be completed, restart is needed ... didn't look like normal restart prompt, had an error code for it. Restarted and there it was...

    This CPU is a 4710, yours must be a 4720, then.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    513

    i think the point is win 8.1/10 have uninstalled newest 6.0.2.8 reboot-installed asus orginal xtu...and forced installation over asus orginal xtu! without reboot cant see 38x on win8.1....i should be lucky had my rma back...lol
    ok last try was fine...the only thing was a last reboot after i installed over...now my watchdog is not present but i have max multi 38 unlocked veryfied by throttlewatch!
    thx for work...but how get i wdt back? the funny is xtu is useless now...if i open it the multi goes down to37x and in xtu is showed max.37 but
    when xtu is closed i can raise multi to 38x an the clocks goes above 3,7ghz???? upload of picture in forum failed...no plan why
    Last edited by warryabel; 02-06-2016 at 12:24 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array andreacos92 PC Specs
    andreacos92 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G751JY-T7134H
    MotherboardAsus G751JY (Intel HM87 Chipset) with Custom BIOS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-4710HQ @ 3.9 GHz (all 4 cores active)
    Memory (part number)16 GB DDR3L @ 1600 MHz 9-9-9-28
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 980M 4GB with Custom VBIOS @ 1410/6020 MHz (1150 mV)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500 GB (OS)
    Storage #2SanDisk SSD 128 GB - Hitachi HDD 1 TB 7200 rpm
    CPU CoolerStock cooler with IC Diamond
    Power SupplyStock 230 W
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    andreacos92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    85

    Do you remember what version you had before updating to 6.0.2.8?

    Here there are all the version of XTU.. but if I try updating from a previous version to the latest, it request to uninstall the old version and then install the latest.. I have i7-4710 and w8.1 with 211 Bios.
    http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=150700
    Last edited by andreacos92; 02-06-2016 at 12:35 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    513

    1.uninstall previous...2. reboot and install orginasl asus xtu from support folder and reboot 3.install newest 6.0.2.8 over orginal and then in my case i must make reboot! 4. raise multi in throttlewatch on max and set all performance settings to high! but when you open xtu see your max.multi goes down and when close xtu it goes up....?
    running fine on 4720 with 3794mhz

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    513




  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array andreacos92 PC Specs
    andreacos92 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G751JY-T7134H
    MotherboardAsus G751JY (Intel HM87 Chipset) with Custom BIOS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-4710HQ @ 3.9 GHz (all 4 cores active)
    Memory (part number)16 GB DDR3L @ 1600 MHz 9-9-9-28
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 980M 4GB with Custom VBIOS @ 1410/6020 MHz (1150 mV)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500 GB (OS)
    Storage #2SanDisk SSD 128 GB - Hitachi HDD 1 TB 7200 rpm
    CPU CoolerStock cooler with IC Diamond
    Power SupplyStock 230 W
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    andreacos92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    85

    I'll give it a try.. but I have no Support folder (maybe I deleted it )

    On Asus download page I found only Intel CPPC and Intel Management Engine, but no Intel XTU.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array antoine52200 PC Specs
    antoine52200 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JT
    MotherboardASUS
    Processori7-4720HQ OC at 3.8Ghz
    Memory (part number)16Go 1600Mhz OC
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 970M OC
    OS Win10 64bits
    antoine52200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    241

    Quote Originally Posted by Edweird View Post
    Hey, guys.

    So in the i7-4720HQ thread >here< Antoine supposedly came across something interesting.
    All I had to do was install XTU 6.0.2.8 (which had to be done manually, since XTU itself didn't recognize the new version) and voila. 3.5 > 3.7GHz. Haven't done any benchmarks yet, but there you have it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	76 
Size:	506.5 KB 
ID:	55378

    Previously, this wasn't possible with firmware over version 202, though I have not tested older versions of XTU for it...since, apparently, this version bypasses whatever changes ASUS might have made. Thanks, Intel?
    No troubles so far with it ... an extra 100MHz is an extra 100MHz. Dunno what changed.
    I imagine this would work for all G751s. Have a go I guess, not much to lose.
    No problems with Watchdog, either. Running firmware ver. 207 and Win10. warryabel thinks it won't work on Win8?
    Still the same issue is to get WDT working again, because if you don't really know how far you can go, you gonna brick your laptop..

    I'm gonna try again installing it your way, but everytime i did, it didn't work or it did but didn't load the overclock on boot, i had to load profile at every boot..

    I managed to get it to load profile at every boot but, WDT is pissing me off, and a MUST have when overclocking laptop CPUs

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array antoine52200 PC Specs
    antoine52200 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JT
    MotherboardASUS
    Processori7-4720HQ OC at 3.8Ghz
    Memory (part number)16Go 1600Mhz OC
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GTX 970M OC
    OS Win10 64bits
    antoine52200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    241

    Everything is stable, and temps are ok, i get 79-80°C during XTU benchmark (a 806 score) and 74°C max after 2 hours of XTU CPU stress test

    Still WDT missing is really ennoying!! Edweird you have it present under the system information tab ? Because i have it in system32 folder but not in XTU and not working..

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/kdt7scmkam...ture1.PNG?dl=0

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •