Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    X79 not turning on after GPU swap

    i put in a new GPU on this mobo today. now it won't turn on. the mobo green pwr led lights up when PSU is on but the on/off switch isn't turning the machine on.

    there is a radeon GPU in slot 1 and i swapped out another GPU in slot 2 for a gtx 770. connected its pcie pwr cables to the Corsair HX850.

    then pressed powered on, nothing. mobo was working fine as my vmware host, until i swapped out a GPU. took both GPUs out and still no power on.

    the case is Fractal Black Pearl where the on/off pwr button is. i don't see a fuse inline for it though that switch isn't easy to get to. i don't see any caps that are bulging.

    can one "safely" trip the two pwr leads where the on/off switch plugs into the mobo so i can check the PSU isn't the failure point? any other ideas from the guru's here to help me track down the failure point?
    tia

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello MUPiSz

    What code is the motherboard LED readout giving you? If it's not giving you a code that would point to the psu or motherboard and from your symptoms I'm leaning towards the psu as you suspect.

    I won't say it's safe to start your pc by touching the two power leads with a small screw driver but you can try it.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello MUPiSz

    What code is the motherboard LED readout giving you? If it's not giving you a code that would point to the psu or motherboard and from your symptoms I'm leaning towards the psu as you suspect.

    I won't say it's safe to start your pc by touching the two power leads with a small screw driver but you can try it.
    no error code read out, the LED is just a little green LED that comes on when the board sense its plugged in. it isn't making any beeps or anything like that either. i guess an HX850 can die out of the blue. i'll try the shorting the pwr pins just to test. the HX850 should have enough pwr for two GPUs without all of a sudden dying.

    i'll let you know

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Yeah please keep us updated, if there is no code on the motherboard it's likely the psu.

    Just to let you know I had the corsair HX1000 and fried it running three GTX 280's a few years ago. When this happens it can take other components with it, I was lucky and just the psu went.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    i put a mmeter on the pwr pins (the case power switch connects to on mobo). when PSU is on, that pair of pins reads 3.3v and enough volts to flip the green LED on.
    probes across the case power switch shows its working.

    from there seems PSU isn't delivering, no fans come on, case on/off LED won't light, not even the PSU fan, though the PSU fan may not come on until under certain load.

    i sent a ticket to Cosair, its still under warranty after 2 years, i'll wait and see what they say.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Yeah please keep us updated, if there is no code on the motherboard it's likely the psu.

    Just to let you know I had the corsair HX1000 and fried it running three GTX 280's a few years ago. When this happens it can take other components with it, I was lucky and just the psu went.
    that was the one change i made was adding a larger GPU requiring one 6 pin & 1 8 pin PCI-e power connection and system wouldn't power. more than likely the issue i fried it too or fried something.

    specs for this machine with its internals shows the Cosair hx850 [ should ] have been capable. though that might have been too close in reality.

    Load Wattage: 578 W
    Recommended UPS rating: 1100 VA
    Recommended PSU Wattage: 628 W

    we'll see what Cosair says to the support ticket i put in before i go to Fry's or Newegg and get another PSU.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    The EVGA supernova's have a 10 yr warranty.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    update: Cosair ticket answered. gave instructions to test PSU. basically short two pins on PSU connection that plugs into mobo, connect a 12v case fan to one of the PSU connections, then turn on PSU. if fan whirls, PSU is good, otherwise no.

    i tried 4 diff 12v case fans, no spin. put mmeter probes to those connections, returned 0.00v.

    i think @nate152 mentioned, this PSU died. i'll await Cosair's reply to my test results to see if RMA is available. its 3+ years old but Cosair has longer warranty.

    much rather replace the PSU than mobo as Sabertooth x79 and this cpu are a few years old and upgrading mobo + cpu are very expensive for me now.

    i'll update what Cosair returns.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    The EVGA supernova's have a 10 yr warranty.
    hmm, that's interesting!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    126

    @nate152, you were correct, it was the PSU. a bit long post below.

    a Corsair 850W should have been plenty for two GPUs. enough of the dead horse beating.

    i went to Fry's and picked up a [ Thermaltake 1200W "toughpower grand" ] for 229.0usd. they had a "Corsair 1200 something" for well over 300.0usd, too much for my wallet today. figured if the Thermaltake didn't work, i'd return it and wait to see what Corsair offered, even if they would offer a RMA.

    the Thermaltake powered right up along with everything else, i.e. Sabertooth x79 + peripherals. so there ya go, the old PSU all along was failure point. whew, glad too, an easy fix, not too costly in time and $$$.

    i have no idea yet if Corsair will RMA the 850w at this point in time. and too if 850w was going to be flaky with these two GPUs, i was going to need more wattage anyways, though 1200w is overkill for this host really. and my vmware host would be down longer than i would like waiting on Corsair, though its just a homebased test unit.

    after purchase, i go on web and i see Thermaltake might not be the top % of PSU, yet got a "good grade". see link below for anyone interested:
    http://www.hardocp.com/article/2015/...g1200f_review/

    its working today, got my vm's all synched and backed up.

    if Corsair replies regarding RMA, i'll wrap up this thread and post that.

    appreciate the help @nate152

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •