Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    265

    Lightbulb PETITION: ASUS, please allow RAID console for G752xx users!

    Since the G752xx came out with 2 x m.2 slot and RAID option is already available in chipset BIOS menù, also compatible with UEFI boot, could be possible with next BIOS release to enable RAID console in order to mount 2 m.2 SSD and configure them in RAID 0 or 1?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Signed

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    No Thanks, Im happy with an M2 NVMe without raid.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    What is RAID and what does that do ? Better speed transfer between drives or what ?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr4g0n36 View Post
    Since the G752xx came out with 2 x m.2 slot and RAID option is already available in chipset BIOS menù, also compatible with UEFI boot, could be possible with next BIOS release to enable RAID console in order to mount 2 m.2 SSD and configure them in RAID 0 or 1?
    firmato

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    No Thanks, Im happy with an M2 NVMe without raid.
    so if you're happy because you posted ?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    265

    Quote Originally Posted by karl6774 View Post
    so if you're happy because you posted ?
    JustinThyme "just" replied here continung our discussion started in another thread

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    265

    Quote Originally Posted by wy666 View Post
    What is RAID and what does that do ? Better speed transfer between drives or what ?
    Absolutely yes, according to the RAID 0 concept. Half data transfer to #1 disk and half to #2 disk. Same size of file = half of transfer time. RAID 1 instead is a continuous-shadow-copy of your disk to another one, avoiding disaster.

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr4g0n36 View Post
    Absolutely yes, according to the RAID 0 concept. Half data transfer to #1 disk and half to #2 disk. Same size of file = half of transfer time. RAID 1 instead is a continuous-shadow-copy of your disk to another one, avoiding disaster.
    If you dive a bit deeper you will see that while the speeds are increased its not as it would seem. Currently the NVMe platform in raid peaks at 3.5GB/s with 3 drives in raid 0. Single drive=2.5GB/s. 2 in raid 0=3.0GB/s 3 or more in raid 0 =3.5GB/s.

    You will never get half the time or double the speed, however you want to look at it its not going to make 5.0GB/s with the current technology as the DMI link saturates at 3.5GBs The only real perceived gain would be reduced latency.


    The downside for those who are not familiar with raid, one drive fails all the data is lost on all drives in that array. I run raid 0+1 on my desktop machines where i can get sufficient drives. That gives me the benefit of the speed with the redundancy.

    On these drives I find it a bit ludicrous. In a shot time we have gone from 120MBPS of a spinner to 500MBPS for a SATAIII SSD to 2500MBPS for M2 SSD. IMO another increase from 2500 to 3000 with the risk of losing all the data is a pointless proposition.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    "The downside for those who are not familiar with raid, one drive fails all the data is lost on all drives in that array"

    Isn't that the case for any drive, if you lose the drive you lose the data. All you are doing is making the equivalent of a larger and faster single drive by raiding two or more drives. As with any drive just make sure you have a backup. Or am I missing something?

    W.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •