Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Dead CPU warrant motherboard RMA?

    So I bought the R4BE back in july and swapped from the P9X79 WS ( after 3 years) for more sata ports and NVMe support. Everything was working fine until last week when I decided to swap cases. After booting up with all the same components I just got the Error Code 00 and the CPU LED on. After checking all the parts and wires it proceeded to do the same thing. I did everything I could think of and than swapped the chip (i7 3930k) back into the old board. which gave the same error. I concluded it was a bad chip. Because with the same ram, psu, video card I was able to use the old X79 WS with a Xeon chip just fine.

    So my question is, does a dead cpu warrant an RMA? It was running at stock speed before I did the swap. No damage to the socket, plus I didn't remove the cpu until after the issue to re-seat it. I can only conclude either it was extremely unlucky the chip died or the motherboard killed the chip. This is my first CPU i've ever had died in 15 years of computer building. Heck I even have a P2 laying around that works. Even if I had another cpu to try it out with (The Xeon is not supported) I wouldn't. After doing a bit of reading some people have killed multiple cpus trying to determine if its the motherboard. I dont have the $$ to do that.

    I'm willing to go though the hoops again if it means I can RMA this board.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hello iamacow

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Code 00 usually means a dead cpu or faulty motherboard. It sounds to me like the cpu died since your motherboard works with a xeon cpu.

    All boxed processors from Intel have a three year warranty from the date of purchase so if you're still covered, get with Intel immediately.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    unfortunately I got the i7 when it first came out. So its been over 3 years. Lasted a while...

    Do you think Asus will accept an RMA?

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Asus warranty's their motherboards for three years too if it's under warranty yes.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array jaggerwild PC Specs
    jaggerwild PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)NONE
    MotherboardMANY
    ProcessorMANY
    Memory (part number)MANY
    Graphics Card #1MANY
    Graphics Card #2MANY
    jaggerwild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello iamacow

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Code 00 usually means a dead cpu or faulty motherboard. It sounds to me like the cpu died since your motherboard works with a xeon cpu.

    All boxed processors from Intel have a three year warranty from the date of purchase so if you're still covered, get with Intel immediately.
    Why you give your opinion when your suppose to be helping people here! OO code is a corrupted BIOS nothing more. You'll need to do a blind flash, dude probably went n bought a new computer 9k posts you know nothing.....


    Here's a link for people who get Q code OO
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XI-zGV8SLho
    Last edited by jaggerwild; 02-19-2016 at 12:18 PM.
    Asus X79 DELUXE
    3930K WATER
    2X Intel 520 Raid o
    2X GTX 780ti DCII OC WATER
    16 GB G skill 2133
    Corsiar AX1200
    Acer 24" 1080
    Swiftech MCP655 Vari
    HWlabs 3/120
    Asus DVD

    BLIND BIOS FLASH LINK http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...BIOS-FlashBack

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,666

    Quote Originally Posted by jaggerwild View Post
    Why you give your opinion when your suppose to be helping people here!


    No one is supposed to be helping anybody here...except for ASUS employees and they are scarce..

    Users may choose to support other users and give their opinions. Troubleshooting from half a world away is not an exact science and yet people like Nate have a huge hit rate.

    Have you read the OP?

    Quote Originally Posted by iamacow View Post
    I did everything I could think of and than swapped the chip (i7 3930k) back into the old board. which gave the same error. I concluded it was a bad chip. Because with the same ram, psu, video card I was able to use the old X79 WS with a Xeon chip just fine.
    This suggests more than BIOS problems

    Quote Originally Posted by jaggerwild View Post
    9k posts you know nothing.....
    That's 9K posts of help and guidance...Nate has probably forgotten more than most will ever know

    Got something to contribute? Different idea?...by all means do share it but I'd suggest the forum would be a much better place without the previous type of post...

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    If it was just a 00 Code I would dive a little deeper. I ended up swapping motherboards and PSU I had laying around. Same problem. CPU Led comes on and 00 Code. Its a dead CPU. Its strange just by moving to another case would kill it, but i've seen stranger things in 15 years of computer building. I was mainly concerned Asus wouldn't take RMA because of a dead CPU. Gonna file for it tonight...

    Thanks for the help! I really was hoping it was something I overlooked. Just bad luck, though I suspect the motherboard has something to do with it because I cannot believe it would die on its own. Not the way I handle my stuff.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    432

    Quote Originally Posted by jaggerwild View Post
    Why you give your opinion when your suppose to be helping people here! OO code is a corrupted BIOS nothing more. You'll need to do a blind flash, dude probably went n bought a new computer 9k posts you know nothing.....


    Here's a link for people who get Q code OO
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XI-zGV8SLho
    I don't get why you would post this kind of message. Nate knows his stuff and he's a extremely respected member of the ROG community and regarding the 00 qcode error is not always to do with corrupt BIOS...I've been selling computer systems for over 12 years and I've come across the 00 qcode error quite a few times. I shared my experience in another thread that one time it had to do with the power supply and series of steps before I got the board to stop showing this damn error. Just recently on a newer board, I got the same error and I did everything and couldn't fix it and was ready to RMA the board and to my surprise it was actually the CPU as I opened up another i7-6700K and swapped it in and the error was gone. Sent back the CPU and replacement is on its way.
    Last edited by InfernoStorm; 02-20-2016 at 09:40 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,666

    Quote Originally Posted by iamacow View Post
    I did everything I could think of
    Just to make sure...I am presuming when you say this you have swapped over between BIOS chips and even tried to flash a new BIOS on chip 1 that sort of thing.

    Cleared CMOS of course

    Have you inspected the chip? All the mini capacitors/resistors on the bottom in place?

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Yep nothing left to do... inspected cpu for damage, checked pins, swapped PSUs, Swapped boards. The chip is bad :/ sending in the R4BE Monday and gonna sell it the second I get it back.

    Moving on to the 1151

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •