Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 79
  1. #1
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    G752VY BIOS 211 released with AHCI and RAID 0

    New release available for download You can put it in AHCI mode now like the VT but you cannot do the AHCI and RAID0 its either or which is to be expected.

    BIOS 211
    "Please install OS by USB drive or external USB optical disc drive. Do not use internal SATA optical disc drive.

    Please install Intel IRST driver 14.6.3.1032 before crate RAID 0 volume."


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1255.JPG 
Views:	85 
Size:	881.3 KB 
ID:	55658


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1256.JPG 
Views:	61 
Size:	797.4 KB 
ID:	55659


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1258.JPG 
Views:	60 
Size:	846.4 KB 
ID:	55660


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1257.JPG 
Views:	56 
Size:	1,014.5 KB 
ID:	55661

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Boot time to log in unchanged. Still does not save fast boot enabled.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-2igQFknSw

    Ordered up another 512GB 950 pro from new egg and can get it at will call 20 mins from home when they send me the email that its picked and ready to see if the raid 0 will work. Not expecting any huge jump in speeds due to the ceiling on the DMI link being 3.5Gbps.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 02-15-2016 at 03:43 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    but if I have two ssd 256 nvme the original raid 0 will work ?
    mine is g752vy t7003t
    and you can return to the old bios ?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I suspect - but please feel free to correct me out - that you will have to reinstall your OS from scratch if you want to create a RAID 0 volume (RAID with RAID0 enabled) from actual ssd disks. Not sure what happens if you switch from RAID (RAID0 Disabled) to AHCI. Possibly you'll need to install Samsung's drivers which should work well with AHCI now.

    Or did I miss the obvious ?
    Last edited by EttoreA; 02-15-2016 at 08:14 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by karl6774 View Post
    but if I have two ssd 256 nvme the original raid 0 will work ?
    mine is g752vy t7003t
    and you can return to the old bios ?
    I may wrong but reading better at your question I think you're confusing RAID (with RAID0 Disabled) which BIOS 206/208 comes with to RAID0, i.e. RAID with RAID0 Enabled. The actual RAID (is that you call original one ?) should still work with BIOS 211 with no change at all.

    The problem comes out when you want to merge your 256GB ssd disks to just one RAID0 volume of 512GB; in that case, I guess, you need to reinstall Windows 10 by installing Intel IRST driver 14.6.3.1032 before as recommended.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    I created the raid bios but when I try to load drivers
    14.6.3.1032 continually crash course Reinstall S.O. from zero

  7. #7
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Guess it was me that missed it. I did not see Raid0 on any previous versions. Second image down above there was only the word raid and you could not change it. I was there and there was no raid 0 at all. You could not change anything.

    You cannot go to raid0 install then go back. This is an either or scenario. If you want to install Samsung software and drivers you have to select the AHCI mode which ill disable raid but be careful. There are a few posts where others did this with their G752VT machines and ended up with a reinstall but one user did it differnetlly with some creative booting into safe mode and making some changes, check the VT thread on that. If you just change to AHCI and try to go with that its not just going to boot into AHCI and be fat dumb and happy. Personally I have zero interest in the AHCI mode, Samsung drivers offer no benefit over native drivers. Proven that point here multiple times. The only thing you can do with Samsung Magician that you cant accomplish otherwise is firmware updates or use the rapid mode which is not at all recommended as the only thing that does is gives you better crystal marks so long as you use the smaller clusters. Its actually proven to perform worse in a real world environment than leaving it disabled. Ill let you now in a little while if the raid 0 works now. Im doing some file transfers ATM and when all thats done Im going to try a couple of things but Im failry sure its going to take a clean install.

    You can install it on the two 256GB drives, if it works. Trouble is you cant just morph from one to the other. Its either going to take some creative cloning which Im going to try or a clean install loading the Intel IRST drivers with an f6 prompt.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Ok thanks. Let's see if you can make RAID0 working with some a creative cloning, although I suspect it'll be kinda of impossible mission.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by EttoreA View Post
    Ok thanks. Let's see if you can make RAID0 working with some a creative cloning, although I suspect it'll be kinda of impossible mission.
    raid 0 created and S.O. installed but the performance is not that great in 2760 in reading and writing in 2657 so I reinstalled the 950 pro also why so occupy only one slot instead of 2

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi
    I just installed newest (211) bios for my G752VY. I bought this machine with two pieces of Samsung ssd 950 pro 256GB.
    As all around the world I cant install Samsung native drivers, because when trying error message appears, that 950 pro is not present. Now, finally, I can use Samsung ssd's 950 pro with native drivers, and Samsung magician software works fine, properly recognizing disks. I describe what I have to do, to achieve this (I use Windows 10 64Bit):

    1. Make a backup copy of your system disk - I used Acronis True Image. Its just for safety, I dont like risk.
    2. Download Samsung nvme drivers for 950 pro and save them on disk
    3. Run as administrator: msconfig.exe
    4.Go to boot section and select safe boot - other options leave unchecked
    5. Restart computer and enter bios settings
    6. Switch from RAID to AHCI mode in IRST section (in older bios like 206 or 208 this option was unavaiable)
    7.Save changes and quit.
    8. Windows start in safe mode - now install Samsung nvme drivers - now your 950 pro will be recognized properly
    9. run msconfig.exe again - and uncheck safe boot
    10. Restart windows - check the device manager - both Samsung nvme controllers installed
    11. Samsung magician software now works fine with 950 pro disks

    And CrystalDiskMark on Samsung drivers:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Clipboard01.jpg 
Views:	425 
Size:	67.8 KB 
ID:	55689

    P.S.
    ASUS - make option FAST BOOT able to be save!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 2016-02-16 (1).jpg  

    2016-02-16 (2).jpg  

    Last edited by Slandscree; 02-16-2016 at 03:36 PM.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •