Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1ceTr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    322

    Arrrrgh! I cannot figure how how to get my 4790k to use less voltage on my Hero VII !

    Allright, i've been battling this damn thing for a year and I really could use some help with this freaking Devils Canyon. I've got a 4790k Devils that i'm pushing at 4.7ghz on my Hero VII mobo on DDR3600 G.Skill Trident memory.* On auto voltage my 4790k is swalling up 1.349v on the core though my temps keep reasonable below 70c on my Thermalright True Spirit 140 power.

    I have been trying to figure how the hell to exactly get the vcore to go lower and still allow the CPU to downlock and reduce voltage on lower/idle loads vs just manually adjusting the voltage.* The menu system on this ROG board is making it really hard for me to figure out how to use either offset or adaptive voltage.* Any help from overclocking guru's would be great. I've got included screenshots of my current settings and mobo UEFI layout












    Last edited by 1ceTr0n; 02-17-2016 at 07:41 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,571

    Work out what voltage you need to run stable using manual....then simply input this figure in Additional Turbo mode CPU Core Voltage

    Offset mode sign leave + and offset field leave on auto

    Should give you the voltage for turbo...your OC...and leave your CPU downclocking and downvolting (provided you don't have performance power plan set in windows or speedstep disabled in BIOS...you can have performance power plan set and edit Minimum CPU Frequency to 10% and speedstep will work too).

    Disable CPU spread spectrum if you have that somewhere in the BIOS....end of AI tweaker tab?


  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1ceTr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    322

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Work out what voltage you need to run stable using manual....then simply input this figure in Additional Turbo mode CPU Core Voltage

    Offset mode sign leave + and offset field leave on auto

    Should give you the voltage for turbo...your OC...and leave your CPU downclocking and downvolting (provided you don't have performance power plan set in windows or speedstep disabled in BIOS...you can have performance power plan set and edit Minimum CPU Frequency to 10% and speedstep will work too).

    Disable CPU spread spectrum if you have that somewhere in the BIOS....end of AI tweaker tab?


    Could you highlight in screenshots what sections I need to modify? Thats whats confusing me the most

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Hello Icetron

    As Arne says find your maximum stable overclock in manual mode first then switch to adaptive.

    Let the cpu core ratio to 47, set the cpu core voltage to manual and enter in 1.30v in the "cpu core voltage override". F10 and Enter and run a stress test, if it's stable lower the voltage .01v to 1.29v and test again. Keep lowering the cpu core voltage .01v until it becomes unstable then bring it back up .01v, if you want a higher overclock continue on. A good 4790k can do 4.9GHz with approx. 1.35v give or take.

    Run a stress test after each voltage change to ensure stability.

    Once you find your maximum overclock simply switch from manual mode to adaptive mode and enter in the voltage in the "Additional cpu turbo mode"

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,571


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IJLAtV6.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	128.1 KB 
ID:	55713

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array 1ceTr0n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    322

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello Icetron

    As Arne says find your maximum stable overclock in manual mode first then switch to adaptive.

    Let the cpu core ratio to 47, set the cpu core voltage to manual and enter in 1.30v in the "cpu core voltage override". F10 and Enter and run a stress test, if it's stable lower the voltage .01v to 1.29v and test again. Keep lowering the cpu core voltage .01v until it becomes unstable then bring it back up .01v, if you want a higher overclock continue on. A good 4790k can do 4.9GHz with approx. 1.35v give or take.

    Run a stress test after each voltage change to ensure stability.

    Once you find your maximum overclock simply switch from manual mode to adaptive mode and enter in the voltage in the "Additional cpu turbo mode"
    Hello again, sorry, i suck at this if you can't tell already

    My temps get insane with using Prime 95 and I don't feel like paying for AID64, any suggestions?


    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IJLAtV6.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	128.1 KB 
ID:	55713

    Lol sorry, i'm a noob to this, I need hand holding. So you think I should turn off that Spectrum setting as well?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,571

    Yes, overclocking..turn off CPU spread spectrum.

    For a stress test I would really recommend RealBench....just run 15min stress test with full RAM selected and if you pass that you should be good to go....real stability is just day to day running.

    http://dlcdnmkt.asus.com/rog/RealBench_v2.43.zip

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,362

    Yep with the realbench stress test you'll have much lower cpu temps. Be sure to run the stress test and not the benchmark. yes turn off cpu spread spectrum, at the bottom of the bios page it gives little tips for most settings.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    1ceTr0n, personally I like setting the CPU Core Voltage Offset [Auto]->[0.001]; this is how my setup is.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Extreme Tweaker 3.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	174.4 KB 
ID:	55750

    Like you I'm on air, if you do run P95 use non AVX version (27.9), what I like about RealBench stress mode is not only is the CPU on test but the GPU, so whole system getting a good workout.

    Looking at your other screenshots your system should lower voltage at idle, what power profile do you use in windows?
    Last edited by gupsterg; 02-18-2016 at 10:15 PM.
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  10. #10
    ROG Junior Member Array UnsungHero PC Specs
    UnsungHero PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorCore i5-4690K

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi, I have a similar question.
    After determining that my CPU could be undervolted safely by 100 mV in Intel XTU (Advanced Tuning/Core Voltage Offset -100 mV), I would now like to delete iXTU and save this settings into BIOS. However, there are so many settings .. Shuould I change the "system agent voltage" or something else?

    Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •