Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 35 of 35
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Julskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    388

    I see what you mean. The breaker may not trip because of possible ground resistance from grounding rods and pose threat of electrocution.

  2. #32
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Well, sort of. The ground of the appliance must meet the ground of the distribution system for the breaker to trip. Otherwise with a separate ground the fault current is trying to flow from the distribution panel to the point of fault then to its ground source, through the earth then to the distribution systems ground and back to the breaker panel to complete the path. Look at the goofy drawing of stickman standing in water, now erase the blue ground going back to the panel and make the puddle of water the alternate ground rod. It gets much deeper in commercial and industrial applications when people bond to ground at different points and create ground loops but I'm not even going to attempt explaining that here. Bottom line is there is to be a single grounding point/neutral bond for each separately derived power system. There are two ratings on all breakers. One is fault current or KAIC rating that determines when it will trip on fault current such as a short circuit. The other rating is on overload which is nothing more than a bi-metal switch in the breaker that when it heats up it releases the trip mechanism. This is why you can run a 20 amp breaker at 20 amps often for an extended period of time and it never trips where others will trip more readily and all will trip more readily if they have been run at capacity for extended periods. Our lovely wives like to test this theory in bathrooms by having a curling iron plugged in while running a hair dryer. Often they work fine for years then start tripping all the time and the poor guy that goes to fix it for them has to listen to "well it worked fine before" As an engineering rule any circuit should never be run at a constant load exceeding 80% of its rated capacity. When calculating feeders for ampacity and over current protection you always take the full load and multiply it by 125% then use the wire and breaker rated at or the next level up. Example 20 amp circuit should never run a constant load of more than 16 amps.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 02-21-2016 at 05:16 PM.

  3. #33
    ROG Member Array lukadjanelidze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    so to find the cause of this i should check grounding in my house. if not, than the problem is with power brick. i also forgot to mention that here is georgia we use 220V instead of 110/120V as it is in america(?). so can this also be a culprit?
    Last edited by lukadjanelidze; 02-21-2016 at 05:59 PM.

  4. #34
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    The voltage difference doesn't matter, one of the two conductors is still a mistral and grounded or supposed to be grounded. I wouldn't go digging into your homes electrical system first. I would try the machine somewhere else first, maybe several of the second place shows the same issue. If it doesn't do it anywhere else and you have flipped the plug 180 with no avail then it's definitely in your premises wiring. I do not recommend anyone who is not properly trained, licensed and qualified to mess with electrical systems. Too easy to lose your life if you don't know what you are doing. I see professionals leave behind wives and children over stupid mistakes. Then if you survive that part did you do it right and not create a fire hazard? Anything else I say go for it and re do your plumbing etc but don't mess with electricity of you are not a professional.
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 02-22-2016 at 03:06 AM.

  5. #35
    ROG Member Array lukadjanelidze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    The voltage difference doesn't matter, one of the two conductors is still a mistral and grounded or supposed to be grounded. I wouldn't go digging into your homes electrical system first. I would try the machine somewhere else first, maybe several of the second place shows the same issue. If it doesn't do it anywhere else and you have flipped the plug 180 with no avail then it's definitely in your premises wiring. I do not recommend anyone who is not properly trained, licensed and qualified to mess with electrical systems. Too easy to lose your life if you don't know what you are doing. I see professionals leave behind wives and children over stupid mistakes. Then if you survive that part did you do it right and not create a fire hazard? Anything else I say go for it and re do your plumbing etc but don't mess with electricity of you are not a professional.
    thanks again for advice. i'll charge laptop somewhere else, maybe in another house.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •