Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array lukadjanelidze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Question G751 vibration feeling while touching metal back

    Hello everyone,

    I've recently bought G751JY-WH71 (WX), and while charging i noticed that the metal back on laptop is kind of vibrating when i touch it. i use adapter for 3 pin plug (american one) to 2 pin (europian) plug. can this be a problem?

    thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array ROG_HARDCORE PC Specs
    ROG_HARDCORE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GX501VI Zephyrus
    MotherboardROG RAMPAGE VI EXTREME
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4-4700MHz Trident Z RGB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti Platinum edition
    Graphics Card #2ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti Platinum edition
    Graphics Card #3ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti Platinum edition
    Graphics Card #4ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti Platinum edition
    Monitor2X ASUS ROG Swift Curved PG348Q
    Storage #12TB Samsung 960 PRO
    Storage #22TB Samsung 960 PRO
    ROG_HARDCORE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    211

    Grounding

    Quote Originally Posted by lukadjanelidze View Post
    Hello everyone,

    I've recently bought G751JY-WH71 (WX), and while charging i noticed that the metal back on laptop is kind of vibrating when i touch it. i use adapter for 3 pin plug (american one) to 2 pin (europian) plug. can this be a problem?

    thanks in advance for any help.
    This is the problem when the power plug are not grounded. Must use 3 pin plug for equipment safety in long-term purpose.
    Use 3 pin plug please.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    265

    You could easily Exchange terminal cable with one EU with 3 pin. check also if you power strip (eventually if you have one) has 3 pin and not 2 or the problem is just a little more down.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	51zn-+UWVJL._SY355_.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	10.1 KB 
ID:	55746
    Last edited by Dr4g0n36; 02-18-2016 at 02:54 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr4g0n36 View Post
    You could easily Exchange terminal cable with one EU with 3 pin. check also if you power strip (eventually if you have one) has 3 pin and not 2 or the problem is just a little more down.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	51zn-+UWVJL._SY355_.jpg 
Views:	61 
Size:	10.1 KB 
ID:	55746
    Sorry, but this one is Type L and it's used almost exclusively in Italy and Chile.
    If the 2 pin plug is Type F (used anywhere in Europe and Russia) then it is a grounded one.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos plug_type_F.jpg  


  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    265

    Quote Originally Posted by EttoreA View Post
    Sorry, but this one is Type L and it's used almost exclusively in Italy and Chile.
    If the 2 pin plug is Type F (used anywhere in Europe and Russia) then it is a grounded one.
    oh you mean schuko adapter (german type). this plug has 2 normal pin for electricity and 2 sided terminals that is ground cable. So is already 3 pin plug type.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array lukadjanelidze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr4g0n36 View Post
    oh you mean schuko adapter (german type). this plug has 2 normal pin for electricity and 2 sided terminals that is ground cable. So is already 3 pin plug type.
    i live in georgia(not state) and we have these types of sockets and plugs here, and i wonder if there are some kind of adapter to also ground.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1455832409322-519603065.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	93.1 KB 
ID:	55748

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    265

    Quote Originally Posted by lukadjanelidze View Post
    i live in georgia(not state) and we have these types of sockets and plugs here, and i wonder if there are some kind of adapter to also ground.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1455832409322-519603065.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	93.1 KB 
ID:	55748
    According to your photo you don't have ground cable in the wall. The 2 ways are to replace wall plug or buy an UPS .

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array lukadjanelidze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr4g0n36 View Post
    According to your photo you don't have ground cable in the wall. The 2 ways are to replace wall plug or buy an UPS .
    thanks a lot for advice.

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Flip the plug 180 in the socket, you have reversed polarity, hot where neutral should be and vice versa.

    Three prongs on laptop power supplies is a relatively new thing. I still have a bunch laying around without it. Couldnt find a schematic with the ground but penciled it in, you can see where the buzz comes from, Top input shoud be hot and bottom neutral.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grounded.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	41.0 KB 
ID:	55752
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 02-18-2016 at 11:31 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array lukadjanelidze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Flip the plug 180 in the socket, you have reversed polarity, hot where neutral should be and vice versa.

    Three prongs on laptop power supplies is a relatively new thing. I still have a bunch laying around without it. Couldnt find a schematic with the ground but penciled it in, you can see where the buzz comes from, Top input shoud be hot and bottom neutral.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	grounded.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	41.0 KB 
ID:	55752
    thanks you very much. besides that, can this buzzing cause any serious problem for laptop? i was running laptop for 3 days before i noticed this problem and nothing seems to happened except probably cpu temp hitting 86C max.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •