Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Post

    Of course I did!
    I hope that was not a problem, never learned to do it any different.

    It get's the power. At least sometimes.
    Doesn't show any other effects with other psu too.

  2. #12
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    If your psu works fine in another pc then I'm leaning towards a faulty motherboard.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    I guess so too.
    How high are the chances that it's still my psu?
    I just imagine, that I let that specific psu run in a different pc for 2 days and the next mainboard is dead.
    Would rather see a dead psu, not a mainboard

  4. #14
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    When you tried your psu in another pc did you have the r9 390 in it as well?

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Ah no, there was an old cheap GT950 in it.
    Only needed 1x 6pin.

  6. #16
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Try it with your psu and r9 390 together in the other pc and let me know the results.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Uh, and maybe fry the next mainboard?

    Okay, I try it. It's a Sabertooth X79, so I don't have any QR-Codes to see there.
    If it's really my psu, is there a possible way to see any symptoms? I don't like silent deaths.

    And yes, I watched the voltages in bios and AI Suite, they are correct and in there tolerance-line.

  8. #18
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    OK that sounds good with the voltages and your psu sounds ok to me. The reason I ask to try with the r9 390 is it's a more power hungry gpu and I'm wondering if it could be causing problems with your psu.

    It's a good point to bring up about damaging your other board and we certainly don't want that to happen. An under powered or faulty psu can cause damage to other components. But seeing how the voltages are in line and are where they should be it sounds ok to try it.

    Guru 3d says a minimum of a 600w psu is recommended for the r9 390 so you're fine to try it.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Ok I will.

    If I look at the voltage at idle and under load and they seem still fine and at the correct range I can assume my psu could not be caused any problems?

    If I start Asus Real Bench (stress section), Prime95 and FurMark to max out the system, is that accurate enough to say it's safe, or not?
    Don't have any Voltmeter here the next day, so I can only orientate on software-solutions.

  10. #20
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    So far your psu sounds ok to me and yes keep an eye on the voltages for any sudden drops or spikes, if you have the anti surge protection enabled in the bios there shouldn't be any damage even if your psu is bad.

    I recommend running realbench and run the stress test only, if you pass the 15 minute test all sounds good to me.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •