cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Whats the difference in these AC/DC adopters

Rudolf_Buirma
Level 7
Greetings,

I'm a proud owner of the G750JX and recently had to replace my AC/DC Adopter, but just cant seem to find the original one for purchase online anymore. Now I'm stuck with another model and I'm wondering, what's the difference?

This concerns the FA180PM111 model and the ADP-180MB F model. Does anyone know if there is a difference and if the G750JX has a preferred one for optimal usage?

I'd like to hear what the community thinks or knows. What are your adopter models and where can I find an original FA180PM111 for purchase online?

Cheers
7 REPLIES 7

Rudolf_Buirma
Level 7
THE CASE
For all you detectives out there.

Hi, I'm a Dutch game developer, currently stationed in Germany for a short period.
I purchased my G750JX at a Dutch shop and am still my warranty period.

The original adopter that came with my notebook was the FA180PM111. (Sturdy thing, INPUT 100-240V, 50-60Hz, 2.5A | OUTPUT: 19.5V, 9.23A)
I think I must've ran over the DC cable with my office chair, there's no way to verify this, but one day it didn't work.
When testing the adopter at a PC repair shop, they confirmed that it no longer supplies power and that there's probably an issue with the cable.

Though I could return it to ASUS and get a new one in my warranty, they warned me that if the adopter broke because of "user inflicted damage" I would be obligated to pay the research fee of 75EUR and additionally pay the full price of a new adopter. (Also, it would take up to about two weeks until I could get the item returned.)
So, if I felt lucky, I could send it to ASUS and hope they won't check it and send me a new one in return for free. Or risk a 75 EUR fine and two weeks of no adopter.

WHAT I BOUGHT