Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    G751JY 2.5 SSD in SATA Port O not detecting in AHCI Mode.

    I am having problems switching out my M2 500gb for a 1TB Samsung 850 Pro. The Samsung 850 Pro SSD can boot in right side hard drive bay (Port 3) but will not boot or be detected in left side (bottom looking up) where M2 was located in Port 0. SSD hard drive can be detected in ide and raid mode, but says no bootable disk.

    I have windows 10 64 and Asus Bios 206.

    Anyone else have that problem and know how to fix it?

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    How did you set it up? Sounds like you need to check the sticky for Installing UEFI. If you had your OS on the M2 and clone that disk using Samsung data migration to the new one it should grab it straight away. Just a bit curious as to why you would swap out a drive thats 3-4 times as fast as what you are replacing it with.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Julskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    388

    I think what he means is his 2.5 inch will boot fine in the sata 2 bay but will not boot in the sata 3 bay (where the m.2 port is located in g751). Yes, you can try Mr. Justinthyme's suggestion by putting the 2.5 ssd in the sata 3 port together with the m.2 ssd then do a Migration using Samsung software. (note you will need to have your 2.5 ssd's case removed so it can be installed under the m.2 using a 3d printed bracket) https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...hlight=printed

    Or maybe you just need some configuration settings in your boot device priorities. You may have to create a new boot option because maybe the old one points to the sata2 port?
    Last edited by Julskey; 02-25-2016 at 04:01 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    How did you set it up? Sounds like you need to check the sticky for Installing UEFI. If you had your OS on the M2 and clone that disk using Samsung data migration to the new one it should grab it straight away. Just a bit curious as to why you would swap out a drive thats 3-4 times as fast as what you are replacing it with.
    I got the hard drive as a Christmas Gift and my C drive was partitioned into 2 smaller partitions and C (OS) was getting full.


    I did a clean install. Using Samsung data migration but I couldn't get the ssd to boot afterwards.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by cchung1263 View Post
    I got the hard drive as a Christmas Gift and my C drive was partitioned into 2 smaller partitions and C (OS) was getting full.


    I did a clean install. Using Samsung data migration but I couldn't get the ssd to boot afterwards.
    Can you post up a screenshot of your drive as its installed while booting from the other using disk management?

    Should look similar to my C drive. disk 1 without the unallocated space. I added that as over provisioning. You can even do without the recovery partition but the EFI has to be there. This is a direct clone of GPT partitions with the over provisioning added.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	disk.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	105.0 KB 
ID:	56036
    Last edited by JustinThyme; 02-27-2016 at 03:35 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •