Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Asus Maximus VIII Hero Motherboad Blue Screen of Death BSOD Issue [Need Help]

    Specs
    i7 6700k (Cooling by Hyper 212)
    (2) DDR4 8gb Corsair Vengeance LPX
    (1) Samsung Pro SSD 512gb
    (Back Up) Samsung Evo 256gb SSD
    (1) GTX 970 Video Card
    (1) 650 W G2 EVGA PSU
    (1) TP-LINK TL-WDN4800 Dual Band Wireless N900 PCI Express Adapter for WiFi
    Asus Hero Motherboard

    This build had been working since early January.

    So when I load up windows I keep getting a blue screen with a generic error reason.

    When I load up in safe mode its been working, but anytime I try a standard boot it ****s up.

    Tried isolating the ram by taking one out and then the other. Still kept happening.

    Removed current ssd with windows, put in back up installed fresh windows 7. Still happened.

    Removed Video card and used cpu graphics to boot and still happened.

    So at this point in my opinion its either the CPU or Motherboard.

    What do you think boys? Time to RMA?
    Last edited by 777Nick; 03-02-2016 at 09:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Hello 777Nick

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    List your psu, do you have anything else connected to your pc like a sound card or any other usb devices? The more detailed you can be with your problem the better we may be able to hone in on it.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello 777Nick

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    List your psu, do you have anything else connected to your pc like a sound card or any other usb devices? The more detailed you can be with your problem the better we may be able to hone in on it.

    Added the Wireless card and PSU to the post. USB Devices would be a Logitech Keyboard and Corsair m65 Mouse. Don't think its the PSU tho as the bios loads fine.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Thank you

    I'm not sure what would cause the generic error but you could run sfc /scannow in command prompt, leave a space between sfc and /

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    242

    Hello 777Nick,

    Does it run okay at stock settings/ Optimized default for the BIOS? Is your memory in the QVL?
    Did you install all the drivers with Windows update?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Legolas View Post
    Hello 777Nick,

    Does it run okay at stock settings/ Optimized default for the BIOS? Is your memory in the QVL?
    Did you install all the drivers with Windows update?
    Have never OC'd the PC so all stock settings, memory is on the QVL, Installed all drivers with windows update.

    Keep getting a different bug check code every time too. Really confused.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Look up 6700k skylake chips being warped by third party coolers. I am in the same position with my maximus viii formula with 6700k and swift tech h220 aio cooler.

    Was working for a couple weeks and now I get whea incorrectable error although I have never oc'd and have narrowed it down to the mobo or cpu.

    Just saw the article about thinner substrate on the skylake chips leading to warping of chip and/or socket and wondering if that is my prob along with many other people who seen to be in same boat with skylake.

    Furthermore what does this mean for RMA and what to do to prevent it in the future besides staying away from skylake.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by 777Nick View Post
    Have never OC'd the PC so all stock settings, memory is on the QVL, Installed all drivers with windows update.

    Keep getting a different bug check code every time too. Really confused.
    Was the RAM running at 2133MHz?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array rickytuk PC Specs
    rickytuk PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GS70 Stealth
    MotherboardHero VIII
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2A2800C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 970 Strix
    Sound CardAsus Essence One
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #1Samsung 950 pro Nvme
    Storage #2Lots of hard drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhantex Evolv ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 760
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse generic
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterVirgin media one. Awsome

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    43

    Sound like windows has just taken a dump which is good news . A clean install should do the trick. If you RMA the motherboard you'll need to do a clean install anyway so give it a try. These Z170 boards do seem to have lots of issues but if everything shows up in the bios & windows boots in safe mode then a clean install is the first thing I'd try

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array GG Bois PC Specs
    GG Bois PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processorintel i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 4x4GB
    Graphics Card #1Strix GTX1060 6GB OC
    MonitorLG infinity display
    Storage #1Transcend SSD
    Storage #2WD Blue
    CPU CoolerWatercooled
    CaseThermaltake Core P5
    Power SupplyCorsair RMX850i
    Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
    Headset Sades
    OS Win 10/win7
    Network RouterTPlink

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Maybe this woul help.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-Constant-BSOD

    Maybe this would put you into perspective...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •