Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 53

Thread: New BIOS 1504

  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by mtrxx View Post
    Ok, otherwise booted up as it should. Are there any notes regarding this update?
    Just says Improve system stability. I'll try that cartoon.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Jagdseelen PC Specs
    Jagdseelen PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700k @4.8ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 ti SC2 Gaming
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG278Q and Samsung C24F390FHE 23.5"
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro M.2 1TB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate 3tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Graphite 760T Black
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 750W Modular
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad Logitech G240
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetgear D8500 (Beta Sample)
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG Front Base
    Accessory #2 ASUS DRW-24D3ST Black SATA DVD Burner
    Accessory #3 Oculus Rift Touch Bundle (New)
    Jagdseelen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    117

    ASUS need to up their game when it comes to details in regards to what a new firmware does.

    Improve system stability could mean just about anything from locking out functions, enabling functions or optimizing how functions work.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array cartoonistas PC Specs
    cartoonistas PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VΙΙΙ Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-3000MHz (CL15)
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX-GTX1070-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2414H
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO NVMe M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair CPU Cooler Hydro H100i GTX
    CaseCORSAIR OBSIDIAN SERIES 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X 850W
    Keyboard Logitech RGB G810 Orion Spectrum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    70

    Quote Originally Posted by Jagdseelen View Post
    ASUS need to up their game when it comes to details in regards to what a new firmware does.

    Improve system stability could mean just about anything from locking out functions, enabling functions or optimizing how functions work.
    I agree with that. Some of us would stick with current bios if the change doesn't affect our rig.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Orici PC Specs
    Orici PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS N56JR
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K 4,0GHz Socket 1151
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Black DDR4 PC21300/2666MHz CL16 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus GeForce GTX 980 Ti Strix Gaming DirectCU III OC HDMI 3xDP 6GB
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series MZ-V5P512BW 512GB (M.2 NVme)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i GTX
    CaseNZXT H440W NE
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860 860W
    Keyboard Logitech
    Mouse Logitech G9
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500
    OS Windows 10 Education x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    136

    One change i noticed is that the display on the motherboard now can show CPU temp

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array illogik PC Specs
    illogik PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processor6600k @ 4.9ghz\1.375v
    Memory (part number)8gb 2400 Corsair LPX @ 2900mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980ti SC+ ACS II +backplate
    Sound CardAsus Xonar D2X
    MonitorAsus PB298Q Superwide 2560x1080 IPS LED
    Storage #1Sandisk Ultra II 960gb
    Storage #2WD Sata 3 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho Rev B
    CaseAntec 1200
    Power SupplyAntec TruePower New 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito 3mm mid size
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 Saitek X52 Pro
    Accessory #2 Afterglow Blue Xbox Controller
    illogik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    17

    After updating to this bios then re-applying my OC settings, the bios automatically set maximus tweak to mode 1 which stopped my pc from booting up with error code 55, no ram insalled. I had to manually set it back to auto for it to boot. All is fine again after doing that.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array rickytuk PC Specs
    rickytuk PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GS70 Stealth
    MotherboardHero VIII
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2A2800C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 970 Strix
    Sound CardAsus Essence One
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #1Samsung 950 pro Nvme
    Storage #2Lots of hard drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhantex Evolv ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 760
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse generic
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterVirgin media one. Awsome

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    43

    Hi. I've been wondering why tools like CPU-Z and hardware only report Core VID and not Vcore. It seems you have the same issue.

    What's with these ROG boards and why won't these tools allow accurate Vcore measurements inside the O/S???

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array illogik PC Specs
    illogik PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processor6600k @ 4.9ghz\1.375v
    Memory (part number)8gb 2400 Corsair LPX @ 2900mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980ti SC+ ACS II +backplate
    Sound CardAsus Xonar D2X
    MonitorAsus PB298Q Superwide 2560x1080 IPS LED
    Storage #1Sandisk Ultra II 960gb
    Storage #2WD Sata 3 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho Rev B
    CaseAntec 1200
    Power SupplyAntec TruePower New 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito 3mm mid size
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 Saitek X52 Pro
    Accessory #2 Afterglow Blue Xbox Controller
    illogik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by rickytuk View Post
    Hi. I've been wondering why tools like CPU-Z and hardware only report Core VID and not Vcore. It seems you have the same issue.

    What's with these ROG boards and why won't these tools allow accurate Vcore measurements inside the O/S???
    Try HWiNFO64, it will give you readings for the vcore and the VID. http://www.hwinfo.com/

    I don't know what version of CPU-Z you're using but mine displays vcore accurately no problem. I'm using version 1.75 x64 RoG.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Xmp?

    So, does this fix XMP profiles or do we still need to wait for that?

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array illogik PC Specs
    illogik PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processor6600k @ 4.9ghz\1.375v
    Memory (part number)8gb 2400 Corsair LPX @ 2900mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980ti SC+ ACS II +backplate
    Sound CardAsus Xonar D2X
    MonitorAsus PB298Q Superwide 2560x1080 IPS LED
    Storage #1Sandisk Ultra II 960gb
    Storage #2WD Sata 3 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalright Macho Rev B
    CaseAntec 1200
    Power SupplyAntec TruePower New 750w
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito 3mm mid size
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 Saitek X52 Pro
    Accessory #2 Afterglow Blue Xbox Controller
    illogik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Lauri View Post
    So, does this fix XMP profiles or do we still need to wait for that?
    XMP profiles have always, and still do work fine for me so I have no idea, sorry.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Jagdseelen View Post
    ASUS need to up their game when it comes to details in regards to what a new firmware does.

    Improve system stability could mean just about anything from locking out functions, enabling functions or optimizing how functions work.
    They don't give much details so other brands can't see what has been changed.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •