Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 53

Thread: New BIOS 1504

  1. #21
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by illogik View Post
    XMP profiles have always, and still do work fine for me so I have no idea, sorry.
    I'd had problems with the XMP profile with my Corsair LPX 16GB at 2666Mhz, Very often, after a restart or boot up, it showed me Q-Code 55
    or the typical "Overclocking Failed!"
    With this new BIOS, my PC booted and started right away! y tried restarting and also a cold boot.
    It seems that finally the XMP problems are Fixed!!

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array xator PC Specs
    xator PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus X Hero WIFI AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 9900k
    Memory (part number)2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    MonitorDell U2518D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 evo NVMe SSD 250GB + HP S700 SSD 250GB
    Storage #22x WD RED SATA 3 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseCorsair 600C
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850X
    Keyboard Logitech K360
    Mouse Logitech M705
    Headset Sony MDR-XB650BT
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z4 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Accessory #1 Xbox 360 Wireless Receiver
    Accessory #2 Xbox One Wireless Adapter

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by dan93xd View Post
    I'd had problems with the XMP profile with my Corsair LPX 16GB at 2666Mhz, Very often, after a restart or boot up, it showed me Q-Code 55
    or the typical "Overclocking Failed!"
    With this new BIOS, my PC booted and started right away! y tried restarting and also a cold boot.
    It seems that finally the XMP problems are Fixed!!
    Not for everyone. This update is the first one that made my system unbootable. After flashing this new bios, i had to use "Memory OK" button to make it boot properly, and then, enable XMP on my HyperX Fury 2400Mhz. So, not all XMP problems are fixed...

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array reupens PC Specs
    reupens PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorCore i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 960 SSC
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S
    CaseLian-Li PC-60FNWX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX760
    OS Windows 10 64-bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Updated a little while ago from 1402. After rebooting, the black 'Updating BIOS...' screen appeared. After the next reboot, there was the usual hit F1 to reconfigure settings. I did that, and booted to Windows. Later, I rebooted and the black 'Updating BIOS...' screen appeared again It didn't clear my settings again, though. The flash drive with the BIOS was still in my front USB port.

    I've rebooted since and it hasn't happened again...

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by reupens View Post
    It didn't clear my settings again, though.
    Then the flash probably wasn't successful. If the update process was done correctly, it should bring your system back to stock defaults clearing any previous settings that you modified in the BIOS.

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array I-Siamak-I PC Specs
    I-Siamak-I PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX II
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512gb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Custom Loop
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1000 T2
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
    Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME Zero
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Then the flash probably wasn't successful. If the update process was done correctly, it should bring your system back to stock defaults clearing any previous settings that you modified in the BIOS.
    Hi Chino, I have the M8H along with 6700K and G.Skill Trident Z 3200mhz, I can run it at 3200mhz rated speed but from the time I press the power button until I see the Bios logo is about 8-10sec, is this the normal behavior? are you having the same behavior? I know the memory training is longer on DDR4 but I also wanna know with your own system you are having the same 8-10sec boot delay before you see the Bios logo?

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array pills PC Specs
    pills PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Hero VIII Z170
    Processori5-6600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.385v
    Memory (part number)16 gb Gskill Ripjaws V 3000 F4-3000C15D-16GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 TI SC+ 6GB
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorDell S2716DG
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 600T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural 4000
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad XTrac Ripper
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z680 5.1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Installed it but went back to 1402, simply setting XMP would cause POST to fail saying overclock failed, yet ratios and all other OC settings were set on default/auto. The only way I could get my PC to boot into windows was to reset to system defaults and not even switch to XMP.

    6500k
    Hero VIII
    16GB Gskill Ripjaws 5 3000 15-15-15

  7. #27
    ROG Member Array Mahaaveer PC Specs
    Mahaaveer PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Ranger viii Z170
    ProcessorIntel core i7 6700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair 2 X 8 GB LPX 2400 MHz DDR4
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 970 OC
    Sound CardXonar U7 Echelon Edition
    Storage #1Samsung 850 evo 120 GB
    Storage #2WD Blue 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Nepton 240M
    CaseCorsair carbide 400R
    Power SupplySeasonic 620W Bronze Fully Modular
    Keyboard CM Storm Devastator combo
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z506

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by dan93xd View Post
    I'd had problems with the XMP profile with my Corsair LPX 16GB at 2666Mhz, Very often, after a restart or boot up, it showed me Q-Code 55
    or the typical "Overclocking Failed!"
    With this new BIOS, my PC booted and started right away! y tried restarting and also a cold boot.
    It seems that finally the XMP problems are Fixed!!
    Yep, it did fix XMP errors ! Previously, I was getting 55 or 4F but now I can run xmp profile. Thanks for posting about the fix. I was blaming on my memory and almost sent for RMA .

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Before updating bios is better to clearcmos,reset to defaults or just leave it as it ? Thank you

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by I-Siamak-I View Post
    Hi Chino, I have the M8H along with 6700K and G.Skill Trident Z 3200mhz, I can run it at 3200mhz rated speed but from the time I press the power button until I see the Bios logo is about 8-10sec, is this the normal behavior? are you having the same behavior? I know the memory training is longer on DDR4 but I also wanna know with your own system you are having the same 8-10sec boot delay before you see the Bios logo?
    More or less. I haven't taken the time to measure it.


    Quote Originally Posted by pills View Post
    Installed it but went back to 1402, simply setting XMP would cause POST to fail saying overclock failed, yet ratios and all other OC settings were set on default/auto. The only way I could get my PC to boot into windows was to reset to system defaults and not even switch to XMP.

    6500k
    Hero VIII
    16GB Gskill Ripjaws 5 3000 15-15-15
    That's why it's recommended to stick with the BIOS that your system is most stable with. Don't update just to have the latest and greatest.


    Quote Originally Posted by baggio2121 View Post
    Before updating bios is better to clearcmos,reset to defaults or just leave it as it ? Thank you
    Yes, it's recommended to clear your CMOS before flashing your BIOS especially if you're overclocked.

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array eicalos PC Specs
    eicalos PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7-6700k
    Memory (part number)G.skill DDR 4 16GB 3600 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 970 Amp Extreme Core Edtion
    MonitorLG W2253
    Storage #1SSD Sandisk plus 120GB
    Storage #2WD Blue 1 TB
    CPU CoolerID Cooling Frostflow 240L
    CaseThermaltake Suppressor F51
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Platinum 750W
    Keyboard CM Strom Quickfire Ultimate Blue SW
    OS Windows 10 Pro Editon

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    WTF with the ROG (Republic of Gamer) wording ?

    The mechanical keyboard problem is the most ashamed in the gamer product.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •