Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 53

Thread: New BIOS 1504

  1. #31
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    58

    Just updated the Formula BIOS and so far the only noticeable change I've seen is that MoBo leds have a different default setup when turning the PC on. Sadly same (slow) boot up time and guess it won't be improved due to DDR4.

  2. #32
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Just updated.all seems good !!!! Cpu temp on q led monitor .....

  3. #33
    ROG Enthusiast Array AmirShred PC Specs
    AmirShred PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Graphics Card #1GTX 970
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by seanbarkley View Post
    Sadly same (slow) boot up time and guess it won't be improved due to DDR4.
    You can always set mrc fast boot to enabled. The longer post is due to memory re-training on each start up. You can just enable MRC fast boot to use the last settings. ASUS included that setting for that purpose. I have used MRC fast boot for months with zero stability issues and have passed hours of realbench, 24 hours prime, and 600% coverage in memtest for win. Even 6 hours of aida64. Works great and I boot cold in less than 10 seconds.

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array pills PC Specs
    pills PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Hero VIII Z170
    Processori5-6600k @ 4.7Ghz @ 1.385v
    Memory (part number)16 gb Gskill Ripjaws V 3000 F4-3000C15D-16GVR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980 TI SC+ 6GB
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorDell S2716DG
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 600T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Microsoft Natural 4000
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad XTrac Ripper
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z680 5.1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    That's why it's recommended to stick with the BIOS that your system is most stable with. Don't update just to have the latest and greatest.
    Well yes, however, there is a difference between using whatever BIOS is the most stable/best OC and having a new BIOS completely not work at all. As others have reported the new BIOS gives them some better overclocks so it can't be too surprising that many are updating an otherwise perfectly stable version in favor for the new one in hopes to squeeze a bit more out. I'll have to try mine again and see if I can get it to work, there shouldn't be any reason why simply switching to XMP alone should prevent the system from booting.

    :edit: 1504 seems to be working now. I reflashed back and then back to 1504 and again got OC failure just from enabling xmp. I then went to boot up today to flash back to previous but missed the bios and it booted into windows just fine. Now I've OCed back to 4.7ghz no problem. Strange.
    Last edited by pills; 03-06-2016 at 10:30 PM.
    I5-6600k @ 4.7Ghz @1.385v | Corsair H100i cooler | Asus Hero viii | 16gb Gskill Ripjaws V 3000 CL15 | EVGA 980ti SC 6GB | 500GB Samsung 960 Evo | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO

  5. #35
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I've just updated my M8H to 1504 and so far everything works fine. I am running 2 separate kits for a total of 4x 8GB ram(F4-3200C16D-16GVKB)at 3000 15-16-16-35 1T and no issues for now. I've completed HCI memtest for 500%. So far i dont see any difference between the older bios.

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array Arron PC Specs
    Arron PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero VIII
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB (2x8) DDR4 2400Mhz (HX424C15FBK2/16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 780ti ACX SC
    Sound CardXonar DX
    MonitorAcer XB270HU
    Storage #1OCZ vertex 4 (256GB)
    Storage #2WD Caviar Black 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 evo
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 450D
    Power SupplySeasonic Platnium 80+ 760w
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Astro A40 2013
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Updated from 1102 so far everything seems to work great, and voltage seems more stable.
    The new Cpu temp monitor is a cool idea but does anyone know what sensor it's reading?
    It gives quite different readings to other programs which is odd.

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array kaptanedi PC Specs
    kaptanedi PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus viii formula
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)16gb
    Graphics Card #1gtx980 kingpin
    Storage #1samsun 950 pro
    Storage #2corsair force 3 120gb
    CPU Coolerek xtx360+xtx240 64mm
    Casecorsair c70
    Power Supplycorsair ax860i
    Keyboard logitech g710+
    Mouse logitech g502
    OS win 10 64bit

    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    153

    It came the nice features. ASUS really congratulations.

  8. #38
    ROG Member Array bayfront_benny PC Specs
    bayfront_benny PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorI7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4 2666 16 GB
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GV-R939G1 GAMING-8GD G1
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorBenQ 32" 4K Monitor 3840x2160
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512MB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 2 TB (MZ-7KE2T0BW) (2 x D:& E:)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H55 Quiet
    CaseCorsair Carbide Series Black 300R Windowed
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 850i
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by pills View Post
    Well yes, however, there is a difference between using whatever BIOS is the most stable/best OC and having a new BIOS completely not work at all. As others have reported the new BIOS gives them some better overclocks so it can't be too surprising that many are updating an otherwise perfectly stable version in favor for the new one in hopes to squeeze a bit more out. I'll have to try mine again and see if I can get it to work, there shouldn't be any reason why simply switching to XMP alone should prevent the system from booting.

    :edit: 1504 seems to be working now. I reflashed back and then back to 1504 and again got OC failure just from enabling xmp. I then went to boot up today to flash back to previous but missed the bios and it booted into windows just fine. Now I've OCed back to 4.7ghz no problem. Strange.
    I got similar results but I didn't flash back to previous 1402 bios - just flashed 1504 (the installed version) once again and this time it got it right.

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GotKevlar PC Specs
    GotKevlar PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC)
    Processori7-8700K @ 4.4 Ghz
    Memory (part number)F4-3466C16D-32GTZ (2x16) (XMP On)
    Graphics Card #1ZT-P10800H-10P
    Sound CardSupremeFX 8-Channel HDA CODEC S1220A
    MonitorSamsung 55" Curved
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO 250G NVMe M.2
    Storage #2Intel 660p Series M.2 SSDPEKNW020T8X1
    CPU CoolerNZXT RL-KRX42-02
    CaseTT Level 20 VT
    Power SupplyPS-TPG-0850FPCPUS-P
    Keyboard SteelSeries MERC Stealth
    Mouse R2 Omnimouse
    Headset SteelSeries H Wireless
    Mouse Pad KILLENFLOR DECK
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha SR-300
    OS Win 10 Pro X64 1803 (os build 17134.345)
    Network RouterUbiquiti USGv3
    Accessory #1 (1) ThermalTake 200 mm Fan
    GotKevlar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    mine updated fine. I wrote down all my settings because i knew the update would blow them out anyway. i did get the black "bios is updating" screen only once then it rebooted and asked for F1. Everything seems fine here after inputting same settings as before. i dont see any substantial improvements though.

  10. #40
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Gofran PC Specs
    Gofran PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS XI FORMULA
    Processori9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32gb
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti
    MonitorDell 2417dg
    Storage #1970 evo 500gb
    Storage #2951 nvme 500gb
    CPU CoolerROG RYUO 240
    Power SupplyAsus RoG Thor 850W
    Keyboard Asus claymore
    Mouse Asus Spatha
    Mouse Pad Asus rog sheath
    OS Windows 10
    Accessory #1 Phanteks Evolv x

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    280

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by seanbarkley View Post
    Just updated the Formula BIOS and so far the only noticeable change I've seen is that MoBo leds have a different default setup when turning the PC on. Sadly same (slow) boot up time and guess it won't be improved due to DDR4.
    i have the same problem did you fix it ?

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •