Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array The Veterant PC Specs
    The Veterant PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS-X99-Deluxe,Bios-3101
    ProcessorIntel- i7 5960X, OC-4.5Ghz @1.280V, Xeon e5 2696 V4
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15Q2-128GRKD @15-15-15-35-2T
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 HC - BC@ 1550Mhz
    MonitorASUS ROG Swif - PG278Q
    Storage #1400GB Intel 750 NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2512GB Samsung XP941-M.2 Pci-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Elite Supremacy W/ AquaComputer AirPlex Rad.
    CaseOsidian 650D
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Gaming
    Mouse SENSEI - 62150
    Headset Logitech Sound System
    OS Windows 10 Pro in a UEFI setup
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U firw.84950
    The Veterant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    243

    Dimmdrive Software, have anyone try it?

    I just want to open this thread to ask everyone or anyone on this community if they have try this program before or currently using it and how it is works, cause I haven't got any luck in using it. I purchased the software the server won't let me authenticate my credential to use the program, I have contact the administrator of the forum and I have got ignore so far.

    So I want to know other experience with this program if any. The reason why I'm asking here is cause this program is mainly use for gamers to load partial or complete game to ram. And I want to know anyone's experience to see if I have waste my money. Thanks for the feedback.
    "I'm not an OCer just looking a good MENTOR". UyqtCojoXecQlo.".

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    I was going to try it but I did not try Dimmdrive because I couldn't get an evaluation license and I never buy before I try.

    I did try to install ROG RamDisk software, it does install o.k. but it checks to see if you have an ROG motherboard and if not it stops.
    It only works if you have an ROG product and not just any ASUS Motherboard.
    I contacted ASUS support to ask if I could purchase a general version of ASUS RamDisk. Answer = No.

    I can tell you what really does work though.

    This is the fastest Ram Disk software I have tested (Using Atto and CrystalDiskMark) to date.
    http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/primo-ramdisk/
    You can get an evaluation license.
    I am using the RamDisk to run Mozilla Firefox, 3DMARK and some Steam and Origin Games.
    I am really happy with it and I am definitely going to purchase when my evaluation license runs out.
    I had 32GB Ram with about 16GB not doing much when I wasn't running production tests so I pushed my frequently used apps onto it.

    One other notable one is from AMD. They give you a free evaluation copy.

    From AMD.
    =======
    http://www.radeonramdisk.com/software_downloads.php
    I like the interface and if you have AMD RAM you get additional RAMDISK capacity.
    My measurements on Atto and CrystalDiskMark also showed it was really fast compared to others I tried but
    still slower than the Primo Ramdisk.

    There is an article here that compares different versions of RamDisk Software that I found very useful. ,
    http://www.overclock.net/t/1381131/r...up-and-testing

    By the way if you are interested in speeding up your Mechanical Hard Drives using a small flash or dedicated SSD then
    PrimoCache is worth a look.

    Sorry I couldn't give you the answer you were after but hopefully I pointed you to two good alternatives.

    If the Dimmdrive people don't answer your requests for help and don't even offer a few days evaluation license
    that says a lot to me. Tell them you have gone on the ROG forum. Ask them for your money back if you get no help.

    Did you contact Dimmdrive via Steam? http://steamcommunity.com/app/337070/discussions/
    There seem to be many happy customers on the above discussions page ...

    Primo RamDisk and AMD offer two really good alternatives.

    Bye
    Colesdav.
    Last edited by colesdav; 03-12-2016 at 11:55 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array The Veterant PC Specs
    The Veterant PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS-X99-Deluxe,Bios-3101
    ProcessorIntel- i7 5960X, OC-4.5Ghz @1.280V, Xeon e5 2696 V4
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15Q2-128GRKD @15-15-15-35-2T
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 HC - BC@ 1550Mhz
    MonitorASUS ROG Swif - PG278Q
    Storage #1400GB Intel 750 NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2512GB Samsung XP941-M.2 Pci-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Elite Supremacy W/ AquaComputer AirPlex Rad.
    CaseOsidian 650D
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Gaming
    Mouse SENSEI - 62150
    Headset Logitech Sound System
    OS Windows 10 Pro in a UEFI setup
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U firw.84950
    The Veterant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    243

    Thanks guy for the kindness to take your time on read my post and answer. I seen a youtube video made by LinuxTec and well explain and detail on this application that their is not benefit from it at all but my fault by not doing or better taking my time doing research before buying, and yes they did solved the problem I had authenticating the software, finally the administrator of the forum which it was't TIM did solved the issue, thanks to him.

    In the other hand I do own the program that you mention here by Romex and I have use it, but I guess I don't know how use it well, it's very easy moving the TEMP file creating drives cause you can create more then one drive but the JUNTION section is the one not well documented on the forum. I guess dimmdrive its a lot handy for browser catching video editing and for those apps that are very heavy to start but for gaming their it not a lot or any benefit. TIA Colesdav.
    "I'm not an OCer just looking a good MENTOR". UyqtCojoXecQlo.".

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Hi,

    No problem. I like to help if I can.
    I think you mean Linus Tech Tips Video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywAAHuCshnA

    Provided you have enough RAM then :
    I think there is an advantage to using a RamDisk for gaming if your games are normally installed on a mechanical hard drive and you do not have an SSD.
    RamDisk Software is also useful if you are running out of SSD space and want less important things like games stored on a secondary mechanical hard drive.
    You may as well store your games in a RamDisk Image file and load the file into RAM as a Disk when you want to run Steam.
    You can set the Ram Disk as your main or secondary library folder in Steam.
    You can update your games in Steam and then save an Image file after update.

    OK so you already own Primo Ramdisk. Great.
    I am looking into the Junction Points section of Utilities at the moment.
    I have not completely worked out a few aspects of how to use it so when I do I will let you know if I come up with anything especially useful.

    Bye for now.
    colesdav.
    Last edited by colesdav; 03-25-2016 at 05:54 PM. Reason: fix typing error.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array The Veterant PC Specs
    The Veterant PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS-X99-Deluxe,Bios-3101
    ProcessorIntel- i7 5960X, OC-4.5Ghz @1.280V, Xeon e5 2696 V4
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15Q2-128GRKD @15-15-15-35-2T
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 HC - BC@ 1550Mhz
    MonitorASUS ROG Swif - PG278Q
    Storage #1400GB Intel 750 NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2512GB Samsung XP941-M.2 Pci-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Elite Supremacy W/ AquaComputer AirPlex Rad.
    CaseOsidian 650D
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Gaming
    Mouse SENSEI - 62150
    Headset Logitech Sound System
    OS Windows 10 Pro in a UEFI setup
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U firw.84950
    The Veterant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    243

    Thanks, do that keep me in touch
    "I'm not an OCer just looking a good MENTOR". UyqtCojoXecQlo.".

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I have spent three days on research. This topic is the best info I have found regarding the RamDrive.
    Thanks for being here.
    Bob

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Dimm or Primo?

    By now you must have made the jkump. What did you get,

    I'm still lopokiong. The following is what I'm trying to find.
    I Have an Asus Rampage V Extreme with 64 gig of memory Windows 10 professional.
    Here are my questions:
    1. Can I have different ways to set up my RAMdisk? I would like to use my single ramdisk in the following three ways.
    a. Chrome, Act!, Google and Camtasia programs
    b. Chrome, Access, Dragon and Act!
    c. Photoshop, Illustrator, Chrome

    Note: three profiles all use chrome. Two profiles use Act! So I'm looking to load to my RAMdisk the above for set ups. Also is it better to install the program right to the ram drive. Of course that would not be possible if there was a way for me to load each of the above scenario separately.
    Bob
    Last edited by Amerifaxx; 10-26-2016 at 01:56 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,405

    This is good ramdisk software and free https://www.softperfect.com/products/ramdisk/

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Amerifaxx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus
    MotherboardLGA2011 Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel - Core i7-5960X
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX980-DC2OC-4GD5
    Sound CardMotherBoard
    MonitorAsus 3 27"
    Storage #1C - Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #2All WD Black - 1 Intel Raid & 1 Startech Raid plus 2 6t
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCM Strrom Trooper
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Plantronics Savi 700 - Dragon Compatible
    OS Windows 10 professional
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Thanks for the response. As my father once told me, nothing is for free. So I'm, kind, of hooked on the pay-as-you-go. But it seems most people out there would rather have it your way. So I'm going to load Softperfect, Primo RamDisk and Super Speed-RamDisdk Plus on separate computers. I will come back here with an evaluation. I have so many issues that I have found no answers for anywhere on the Internet. I want to answer the issues and make the results available for the market.

    I remember back in the day when DOS was the only option, Windows not on the scene yet, that allow you to create a RAM disk, based on my recollection. I think most heavy users today have gotten so complacent with the marketplace that they truly believe that the RAMdisk is old tech that should be considered obsolete. It's kinda like using Raid today many people say you don't gain that much with zero Raid. I find you do.

    I should mention that I'm not a gamer. I'm a very heavy user of graphic design. I design model homes, subdivision maps and anything relating to the new-home industry in Wisconsin. My computer is a Rampage V Extreme with an Intel X99 chipset, i7-5930K, using the Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 2400MHz memory, 64gb of memory. I'm currently building an additional computer a Rampage V Addition 10 which I will be using the fastest Intel processor and Corsair memory.
    Bob's
    Last edited by Amerifaxx; 10-26-2016 at 07:27 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    I also use the Softperfect RamDisk. Works great and a little easier to use than ROG's.

    I have even managed to install software directly to the RamDisk when it is set up to save to HDD on shutdown and reload on startup. That works with stable hardware, but not always when overclocking because a crash doesn't save the RamDisk.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •