Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    JY Nvidia drivers issue w/362.00. Please. Need advice what to do next. :/ [solved]

    Running JY-WH71 windiws 10 980m i7-4720 gsync.

    I was getting good temps, 50-74 fps with high-very high settings but also display driver errors/crashes juat recently in GTA V running 353.84 (came with the PC) I had a notification that 362.00 was available through geforce experience so (like an idiot) I went ahead and installed it. BIG MISTAKE. Now I'm running hotter, 20-30fps with med-high settings. My lack of knowledge about drivers had me near a panic attack when I saw the results.

    Is there a recommended driver for my rig and running GTA V I should install? (The driver list is so large I wanted to ask here before I make it worse...)

    My stock nvidia 353.84 is NOT listed on there website driver list so I don't know where to go or what to do next...

    Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. (Once/if I get this running properly again geforce experience is getting uninstalled immediately)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    321

    Install latest nvidia driver. Clean unninstall using http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html.
    Your driver is not listed because it is a variation created by ASUS.
    Install latest one from nvidia...
    http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    321

    And also...you don't need to unninstall geforce experience.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    121
    Posts
    2,253

    Quote Originally Posted by Weirdoutworld View Post
    My stock nvidia 353.84 is NOT listed on there website driver list so I don't know where to go or what to do next...
    1. Consider trying to 'rollback' to your previous nVidia driver version through device manager which should normally give you this option under your display adapters.

    2. The ASUS download site has the G751JY Win10 nVidia vga driver 'Version V10.18.13.5384 ' which should be version 353.84 in my opinion (not sure why we list the versions differently on the ASUS download site, but just take the last 5 digits and ignore the period to see what I mean) if you want to get it.

    Link from the U.S. site: http://www.asus.com/us/Notebooks/ROG-G751JY/HelpDesk_Download/

    Hope this helps!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    321

    Quote Originally Posted by cl-Albert View Post
    1. Consider trying to 'rollback' to your previous nVidia driver version through device manager which should normally give you this option under your display adapters.

    2. The ASUS download site has the G751JY Win10 nVidia vga driver 'Version V10.18.13.5384 ' which should be version 353.84 in my opinion (not sure why we list the versions differently on the ASUS download site, but just take the last 5 digits and ignore the period to see what I mean) if you want to get it.

    Link from the U.S. site: http://www.asus.com/us/Notebooks/ROG-G751JY/HelpDesk_Download/

    Hope this helps!
    +1
    If you prefer this approach I am also backing up cl-albert.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    140

    I won't comment on Geforce Experience but I don't recommend to use it, even more to install new drivers with GFE.
    Always make a clean install of the new driver (remove old one) because this can make a conflict that
    will cause the issue your are facing.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    Thank you guys so much. I will try a fresh manual install when I get off work tonight. Also i forgot to add when GFE was finished un-installing and reinstalling the driver it was "not responding" and I had to task manager end GFE. Then, my start menue (left corner click/Windows key) was not working until I rebooted the PC. I right clicked the logo and was able to shut down that way. GFE seemed to good to be true for somebody who isn't software savy.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    37
    Posts
    140

    Quote Originally Posted by Weirdoutworld View Post
    Thank you guys so much. I will try a fresh manual install when I get off work tonight. Also i forgot to add when GFE was finished un-installing and reinstalling the driver it was "not responding" and I had to task manager end GFE. Then, my start menue (left corner click/Windows key) was not working until I rebooted the PC. I right clicked the logo and was able to shut down that way. GFE seemed to good to be true for somebody who isn't software savy.
    The reason why you face the issue "not responding" it is because GFE couldn't close a certain task, if you want my point, only if you want, don't use GFE, GFE reserve a part of your GPU for silent tasks, each time you launch, GFE collect lot of information about GPU or Hardware usage in general, if GFE find a connection, it will stay connected to the Grid servers, until you drop the connection, other than that it has a real time service that control in a certain way your hardware.

    GFE is mostly a service more than a software.

  9. #9
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,855

    Ditch the GFE. You don't need it and a lot of the times the optimized settings are worse than original. You can tweak your own settings in Nvidia control panel for each individual game for what works best for you. Shadow play being enabled drags down performance quite a bit. Just uninstall GFE, use DDU to uninstall your current driver. Even when you uninstall using control panel it leaves behind registry entries and files that will conflict with other driver packages. This is not new, has been an Nvidia short coming for quite some time, as long as I can remember anyhow. The DDU will prompt you to go safe mode, just click OK and it will reboot you into safe mode then choose clean and restart, its marked as recommended. Then install the latest WHQL driver after the reboot.

    DDU is HERE

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    9
    Posts
    321

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Ditch the GFE. You don't need it and a lot of the times the optimized settings are worse than original. You can tweak your own settings in Nvidia control panel for each individual game for what works best for you. Shadow play being enabled drags down performance quite a bit. Just uninstall GFE, use DDU to uninstall your current driver. Even when you uninstall using control panel it leaves behind registry entries and files that will conflict with other driver packages. This is not new, has been an Nvidia short coming for quite some time, as long as I can remember anyhow. The DDU will prompt you to go safe mode, just click OK and it will reboot you into safe mode then choose clean and restart, its marked as recommended. Then install the latest WHQL driver after the reboot.

    DDU is HERE
    As i said one my first post.
    DDU is god.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •