Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Freezing and sleeping, Skylake issue?

    Hello,

    I'm new to the forums so pleased to meet you.


    I've been having issues with my PC I built a few months back which I can't seem to resolve.

    Not sure if this is one issue or two seperate ones, but this is the order of things it happens:

    1. Randomly, every few days (depedning on the settings in BIOS, every 3 to 9 days), my PC would freeze, sometimes I get a glitchy screen, sometimes I get a random solid color. Once this happens, the keyboard and reset button stop to work. Hard shutdown is the only thing I can do.
    - Worth noting that after I updated to the latest BIOS (704), the freeze happens every day.

    2. After hard shutdown and turning the PC on again, the PC is like in a sleep state, it works (you can hear the fans, all lights are on) but there is no signal on the monitor and once again, the keyboard and reset button don't do anything (mouse is lit, but doesn't do anything).
    - When this happens, no matter what I do (clear CMOS, take out battery, simply uplug it for a while...) it keeps booting into this "sleep" state, only after a few hours does it boot normally, after which the CMOS reset kicks in if I did anything with it.

    So, while the freezing is managable, the fact I can't use my pc for hours after it happens is kinda making it hard to work on it. I did a lot of things, sent to the repairs a few times, but nothing worked (well, nobody can't find te fault that is). I am currently trying to get my hands on some different RAM to see if that will help, if not, I dunno what to change.

    My system:
    * i5 6600 (non k)
    * Asus z170m-PLUS
    * WD Caviar Blue 1TB
    * 2x4 Kingston HyperX Savage 2400 Mhz DDr4
    * XFX TS 550w
    * Windows 10 (was windows 7, same issues)

    If you need some extra information, please tell me what you need, thank you.
    Last edited by Otakon7; 03-10-2016 at 06:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello Otakon7

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Depending on your gpu I will lean towards your psu causing you problems.

    What gpu do you have?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Pull out your graphic card and see how it behaves with only the onboard Intel iGPU.

    I'm not a big fan of your XFX PSU, how old is it?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    155

    Are you oveclocking? If so set to optimised defaults. And maybe clear the CMOS too.

    Check all temps... CPU under load, GPU under load.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I'm using the iGPU (HD 530) so can't do much there.

    The whole PC is 3 months old, everything is freshly bought.

    I did try default BIOS settings, it freezes under 12 hours, when I disable C states, EIST and overall play with the settings, I can get extra days (up to 9) without freezing (though it seems the latest BIOS update makes it so it freezes every day no matter the settings).
    This is a non-k CPU so I'm not overclocking (not using the BCLK OC if that's what you mean). Although, most stuff in the BIOS is set on AUTO so it might be OCing it without my knowledge.

    Temps ae around 35 when idle, go up to 60 when gaming, go up to 80 when stress testing. The board is around 40 at stress but worth noting the freeze happens no matter what I do, even if I idle, it's like a timed event. Event Viewer gives no info around the time of freeze.


    In case you haven't seen this, it does seem to be tied to this:
    http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/...-crashing.html

    But I can't seem to get people to tell me what their exact issues are, since it seems the solid color and sleep is unique to me (though the color happens only with DVI, on VGA, the screen simply says there is no input).


    P.S. The Pc was under heavy stress testing for a whole week (Prime, Memtest, Furmark...) when I sent it to the repairs, nothing happened, all worked well.
    Last edited by Otakon7; 03-10-2016 at 12:22 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    155

    Have you tried one stick of ram at a time to determine if there's a dodgy stick or indeed slot? I know you ran Memetest, but in my experience it's not foolproof.

    If you continue to have issues, I'd consider Asus support. Especially as it got worse when you installed the latest BIOS.

    You can pick up a PSU tester on Amazon really cheap if you want to check the PSU. Whats the make of the PSU? Wattage? How many amps on the 12 volt rail?

    What about the diagnostic LED's on the motherboard, any lit? Do you have the Q-Code feature? If so any code displayed when it has issues?
    Last edited by quark54; 03-10-2016 at 04:09 PM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    A 550w psu should be enough with just using the iGPU but it still could be what's causing you problems.

    It could also be a bad stick of ram as quark54 mentions.

    What did the repair shop test/check?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    @Quark: Yeah, I've tried all slots for both RAM sticks, I used memtest+ and HCI memtest (as well as the windows memory tester). But apparently, with Z170+Skylake, you need specific RAM for it to work (aka, it needs to be from the QVL).

    The PSU is in general of a hier tier, made by Seasonic, it has 45A on the 12v, but of course, there's always a chance of it being faulty.

    Getting a PSU tester might be a bit tricky since I have no means of ordering online, but I'm sure the shop where I bought the PC has one (problem is, the problem happens once a week or so, so it's hard to diagnose at the right moment, they kinda started getting annoyed by me so I'll send it to them again only if needed.)

    As far as I can see, the board only has one LED light, which I guess shows only on/off. No Q code sadly.


    @Natel: Well, they tested Prime, memtest, some HDD tools, pretty much all standard stuff, they also left it streaming overnight.
    Problem was they used their own HDD for testing for 3 days, then swapped to mine, which might have resetted the freeze, though this was during the days it took 5-9 days for it to freeze, so I guess it never fired or it means that it doesn't trigger under full load (the fact it chnages when I change the power saving optionsi n BIOS would indicate it only happens when things fluctate, but if it's constantly under load, the voltages don't go up/down I guess).

    I'm planning to wait for another BIOS update just to see if it helps at all, if not, I have to either force a RMA (since from the shop's perspective, if it works during the time they test it, it means it must be something on my end, hence, it's not broken), buy new RAM to see if it was an issue, or contacting Asus (wasactually planing to do that first, but all the data you have to input kinda scared me off)

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    You don't list your hard drive(s).

    Which hdd/ssd are you using? You could run CHKDSK on it to make sure there's no problems with it.

    You can also run sfc /scannow in command prompt.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    You don't list your hard drive(s).

    Which hdd/ssd are you using? You could run CHKDSK on it to make sure there's no problems with it.

    You can also run sfc /scannow in command prompt.
    Ah, my bad, I forgot, it's:

    WD Caviar Blue 1TB


    And yes, I did run both of those, including running a few different HDD test tools, including the one from WD.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •