Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Unhappy ROG G751JL Display problem, randomly stops working for a second then back to normal?

    Hello everyone!

    Like all folks here on the forum i'm a proud owner of a ROG gaming system, precisely G751JL. It's been in my possesion for like 4 months, but after 2 months a wierd problem appeared out of nowhere. So here it goes:
    While watching videos, working on CAD software and especially gaming, the display stops working for like a second then all goes back to normal. This occurs extremly random, like one black screen per day or multiple ones in a aprox. one hour or even 30 min interval, while the application/video/game is still running in the background (the sound still plays in a normal way). No errors are displayed after the black screen. The notebook is allways connected to the power source.
    I tried all the fixes i could think of: reinstalled the video drivers after a clean uninstall using DDU while in safe mode, used many earlyer version of drivers in the quest to find one that is stable but no luck, tweaked 3D settings in NVIDIA control panel, reinstalled windows (currently running windows 8.1), upgraded BIOS from v. 204 to v. 205, all of this with no luck.

    So, if anyone experienced this situation, and may have found a solution, preety please share it to a fellow republican of gaming.
    Any suggestion is apreciated.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Sounds like a hardware or display connection problem. You might also want to double check your power settings and disabling turn off display functions as well as hibernate and sleep to see if that changes anything.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I forgot to mention that. I did try disabling the hibernate and turn off display after x min under the advanced power settings on the high performance plan i'm using but no luck on solvin the problem. It might be a hardware issue, but i doubt it since many have this similar problem, this post proving that: https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...then-recovers/. I hope it's not a problem for linking this, if it's not allowed i ask a moderator of this forum to delete the link with my sincere apologies. Any other solutions i might try? Anyone?

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    I dont think I would put these into the same category as your link. Those are desktop graphics on windows 7 and old drivers from 2014. What we are dealing with now is a GTX 965M mobile GPU with current drivers and windows 8.1

    This is either Drivers or hardware. Have you tried an external monitor by any chance?
    Have you installed any undocumented tweak tools?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I didn't try an external monitor to be honest, i have an old 15" i could try it on but it has only a VGA connector. What do you mean when you say "undocumented" tweak tools? Something like MSI Afterburner?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Bump!
    It's hard for me to belieave that i'm the only G751 owner that has this problem on this entire forum. Any other suggestions/solutions? Anyone?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    i have the same problem, did you fix it ?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Sadly, no... Every day this problem is herrasing my inner calm lol. And i honestly dont think it's a hardware problem since i saw that many have this issue. I really dont want to send my notebook back for RMA. How about you Edward? Any luck on solving the problem?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Bump!

  10. #10
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by watzuuuup View Post
    I didn't try an external monitor to be honest, i have an old 15" i could try it on but it has only a VGA connector. What do you mean when you say "undocumented" tweak tools? Something like MSI Afterburner?
    Yes that among others.
    Have you watched to see what your temps are doing?
    There are only two things that cause this, one is drivers, the other is hardware. You seem to have done a thorough job at going through the drivers and with it happening at random that goes back to hardware. Most who post of a similar issue on other machines as well as this one its a driver issue and is remedied by reinstalling or maybe going to another older version, but you said you already did all that so we are right back to hardware.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •