Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array blacklotus83 PC Specs
    blacklotus83 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LED 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Toshiba Q-Series Pro 128GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Waterblocks Supremacy Evo
    Casebe quiet! Dark Base Pro 900
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Steelseries Siberia 840
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM200
    Headset/Speakers Nubert NuPro A-100 / SW-350
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Alphacool DDC 310 Water Pump
    Accessory #2 2x Alphacool Nexxos Radiators
    Accessory #3 Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 Pro
    blacklotus83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Maximus VIII Hero Lighting always on "Color Cycle"

    Hi

    Since I upgraded to BIOS 1504, the lighting of the ROG logo is reset to "Color Cycle" every time i shut down / start the pc. I can set the lighting to static with the Aura software but after the next start it's back to Color Cycle. Is this a bug?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    Code_Frenzy PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)LPX 3000MHz DDR4 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 980ti AMP!
    Storage #1(OS) Samsung SM951 256GB NVMe
    Storage #2(Data) SanDisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerXSPC Raystorm Pro with custom loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200W (Hx1200i)
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 XSPC Daul bay pump/res, EX420 + RX240 rads
    Accessory #2 ROG Front Base

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    152

    Are you turning the power off completely? To retain the setting you need to shut down but leave the PSU switched on.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    58

    For the rest of ur life

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array blacklotus83 PC Specs
    blacklotus83 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LED 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Toshiba Q-Series Pro 128GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Waterblocks Supremacy Evo
    Casebe quiet! Dark Base Pro 900
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Steelseries Siberia 840
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM200
    Headset/Speakers Nubert NuPro A-100 / SW-350
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Alphacool DDC 310 Water Pump
    Accessory #2 2x Alphacool Nexxos Radiators
    Accessory #3 Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 Pro
    blacklotus83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Code_Frenzy View Post
    Are you turning the power off completely? To retain the setting you need to shut down but leave the PSU switched on.
    Yes complete power down, but before 1504 the setting was saved

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Arron PC Specs
    Arron PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero VIII
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Fury 16GB (2x8) DDR4 2400Mhz (HX424C15FBK2/16)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 780ti ACX SC
    Sound CardXonar DX
    MonitorAcer XB270HU
    Storage #1OCZ vertex 4 (256GB)
    Storage #2WD Caviar Black 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 evo
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 450D
    Power SupplySeasonic Platnium 80+ 760w
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Astro A40 2013
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    +1 to this it's annoying, we need to a way to set the colour in the bios.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array blacklotus83 PC Specs
    blacklotus83 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LED 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX 3.0
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Toshiba Q-Series Pro 128GB SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Waterblocks Supremacy Evo
    Casebe quiet! Dark Base Pro 900
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 850W
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    Headset Steelseries Siberia 840
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM200
    Headset/Speakers Nubert NuPro A-100 / SW-350
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Alphacool DDC 310 Water Pump
    Accessory #2 2x Alphacool Nexxos Radiators
    Accessory #3 Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 Pro
    blacklotus83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Arron View Post
    +1 to this it's annoying, we need to a way to set the colour in the bios.
    Yes, for now I switched off the lighting, as color cycle does not match my color scheme. I think it's a bug, that the Aura software changes are not stored in BIOS 1504 correctly.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    58

    +1 this need a fix; it's a nonsense.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array rickytuk PC Specs
    rickytuk PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI GS70 Stealth
    MotherboardHero VIII
    Processor6700K
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M2A2800C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 970 Strix
    Sound CardAsus Essence One
    MonitorDell U2711
    Storage #1Samsung 950 pro Nvme
    Storage #2Lots of hard drives
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CasePhantex Evolv ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 760
    Keyboard Logitech G19
    Mouse generic
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterVirgin media one. Awsome

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    43

    I don't have a fix for this but am curious about the benefits of completely shutting off a PC. I don't think I've ever turned off my PSU. The power draw must be next to nothing, it keeps an LED on the motherboard and GPU lit but that's about all. I'd probably save less than a penny a year by turning it off.
    Is there any other benefit to switching off the PSU?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    58

    The question should be: Which are the benefits of having a software to control the features of a $400 mobo which can't save damned changes.

    In my case the combination of acrylic side panel with VIII Formula with bedroom is not good when you try to sleep, but I can find thousands of reasons why people would want to shut their PC down.

    I consider this something so basic that at the beginning I was 100% sure it was a bug.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Costas PC Specs
    Costas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Formula VIII
    ProcessorI7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 980Ti Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 980Ti Classified
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 512GB 950 PRO M2
    Storage #2Samsung 1Tb 850 PRO + WD Black HD's
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop
    CaseCaselabs SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair Ax1500i
    Keyboard Corsair K70RGB
    Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
    Headset Razer Tiamat 7.1
    Costas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    118

    Quote Originally Posted by rickytuk View Post
    I don't have a fix for this but am curious about the benefits of completely shutting off a PC. I don't think I've ever turned off my PSU. The power draw must be next to nothing, it keeps an LED on the motherboard and GPU lit but that's about all. I'd probably save less than a penny a year by turning it off.
    Is there any other benefit to switching off the PSU?
    It is imperative to do a complete power down when overclocking if say the video card etc locks up from overclocking. It is a pain to have to go back and redo the settings.
    Last edited by Costas; 03-19-2016 at 06:22 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •