Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    MAXIMUS IV EXTREME no post, signal not detected

    Hello all, before I jump into my problem, here are my specs:
    Asus MAXIMUS IV EXTREME (mobo)
    Intel core i7 2700k 3,5 GHz (overclocked to 4,4)
    Gigabyte GTX780 GDDR5-3GB gpu
    RAM: Gskill ripjaw 4x, amounting to 16 gb
    hardrive: samsung 850 EVO 500 GB ssd
    EK-CoolStream PE 360 radiator with 3 fans ontop blowing out of case
    Monitor BENQ XL2430T 144 Hz
    PSU Be quiet! Pure Power CM BQT L8-CM-630W

    Okay so basically a few days ago I decided to replace/renew my watercooling loop for my system. I currently have my cpu and mobo water cooled and my loop component order looks something like this: resrvoir -> pump -> radiator ->mobo -> cpu and back into res. The replacement went ery well and the computer started fine and was working like before. I currently have a total of 4 fans, 3 on top of radiator and one in the back of case.Radiator fans are connected to cpu fan (4pin) on mobo and last fan is connected to 4 pin PWR fan. One thing I noticed after the replacement though was that my radiator fans were spinning slightly faster than what I was used to, so me, being a not so clever person, decided to open the case while computer was running and touch the power cable connecting the 3x radiator fans to mobo, thinking it might have been a bit loose. Once I touched itslightly and pushed it with barely any force onto the mobo, the system suddenly shut down. I then started to reboot but with no success.I fiddled around for a while with cables, reconnecting and connecting all of them and after a many tries the system started again, but nowit looks like it doesn't want to boot. I don't have the system set up so that I get any beep codes, but I do see LED decode numbers which are stuckat 32. Looked in the asus manual and the code doesn't say any more than CPU post-memory initialization is started".

    After I boot the pc my monitor says "No signal detected!" and the system doesn't seem to boot very far, I can't even get into bios. I've triedpretty much every method suggested on many forums, such as clearing any dust, removing and reconnecting power cables, changing to another power supply,taking out ram and replaced individually and together in all possible combinations, removed cmos and drained all power from system, triedrunning without gpu and also I've tried draining monitor power but all of these methods didn't seem to fix my issue. I'm connecting the gpu to monitor withDVI cable, and I made sure that the source input on monitor was correct. I tried using hdmi cable as well but with no luck. I know my monitoris not faulty because I'm using it right now connected with my laptop. I'm really out of ideas asto what I can do. Sadly I don't have another system where I can test my gpu. I have a feeling that one or all of the components got destroyed when Ifiddled with the cable while the system was running.What should I do?

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Laremin; 03-25-2016 at 01:21 PM.

  2. #2
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    got another PSU you can test?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    got another PSU you can test?
    Hey there kkn, yes I've tried with my old psu but it makes no difference, still same issue.. thanks for your post

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array drop4205 PC Specs
    drop4205 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)What are laptops
    MotherboardMaximus XI Formula
    ProcessorI9-9900K
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident Z F4-3200C14-32GYZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Reference RTX2080TI
    Graphics Card #2ha I wish
    Graphics Card #3ha I wish
    Graphics Card #4ha I wish
    Sound Cardha I wish
    MonitorAsus VN247H-P 23.6"
    Storage #1Samsung970 EVO Plus 1T
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller
    CasePhantex Evolove X
    Power SupplySessonic Prime Titanium 850
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Headset Astro A40
    Mouse Pad Corsair
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
    Accessory #1 Ek GPU Block
    Accessory #2 EK SE 360 Rad, EK PE 360 Rad
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario 140 Pump/Res
    drop4205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    519

    Have you tried reseating cpu and ram and trt to boot with 1 stick? Sounds like you have tried about everything. Sorry to hear. Do you have a volt meter and trip pus on and test the connections that would plug into motherboard.
    Maximus XI Formula, I9-9900k, Phantex Evolove X, Seasonic Titanium 850W, Custom loop PE360+SE360 Rad, G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C14 32g, Nvidia Reference RTX 2080 TI, Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1Tb, ROG Strix Flare keyboard, ROG Gladius II

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by drop4205 View Post
    Have you tried reseating cpu and ram and trt to boot with 1 stick? Sounds like you have tried about everything. Sorry to hear. Do you have a volt meter and trip pus on and test the connections that would plug into motherboard.
    No I haven't tried to reseat the cpu. One minor issue is that I currently have water in my loop and if I were to reseat cpu I'd have to empty everything and disassemble the loop. I might to that as a last resort though. As for the ram sticks, I did try to boot with only one ram stick but the system would still not boot. Measuring the voltage sounds like a good idea but I don't have the required utilites. Might want to invest in that as well.
    Thank you for your suggestions though.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello Laremin

    Try updating/reflashing the bios.

    Here's a guide you can follow using the bios flashback method, format a usb flashdrive to FAT32 and rename the bios file to M4E.CAP

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...BIOS-Flashback

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    139

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello Laremin

    Try updating/reflashing the bios.

    Here's a guide you can follow using the bios flashback method, format a usb flashdrive to FAT32 and rename the bios file to M4E.CAP

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...BIOS-Flashback
    Hey there, thank you for your suggestion. I did try reflashing my bios but it didn't change anything. I guess one or more of the components are at failure..

  8. #8
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    Quote Originally Posted by Laremin View Post
    Hey there kkn, yes I've tried with my old psu but it makes no difference, still same issue.. thanks for your post
    what size PSU did you try?
    if the system does not get enough power it will not boot.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    what size PSU did you try?
    if the system does not get enough power it will not boot.
    Currently I have my 600w installed, but I've also tried with 850w, but still no difference. The computer has worked on both these PSU.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •