Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array youtoofan PC Specs
    youtoofan PC Specs
    Motherboardviii impact
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)corsair vengeange 2x 8
    Graphics Card #1msi gtx 980 4gb
    Storage #1samsung 950 pro
    CPU Coolercorsair i90h
    Casetristellar
    Power Supplybe quiet dark power pro 11 550w

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    qcode B2 when using gtx 980

    Hi,

    I recently added an MSI GTX 980 4G to my system, when i try to boot up the white VGA led on the motherboard lights up and QCODE B2 is displayed.
    Both GPU and Motherboard bios have the latest version.

    Previously I just used the iGPU without any problems.

    Both 8 pin connectors are hooked up to my card, I've tried 2 different cables with same result.
    The GPU logo is lighting up, initialy both fans on the card spin up but stop after a minute or so.

    I've performed numerous CMOS resets, forced PEG as primary GPU in the bios.

    After some trial and error i've managed some workaround:

    Disconnect power from GPU
    Boot system with iGPU
    When booted to Windows 10, connect power connectors to GPU
    Reboot system
    Switch monitor to GPU displayport
    And it works!

    However, when i shutdown the system and boot again the problem is back!

    Here's my system:

    Motherboard:
    viii impact

    Processor:
    6700k

    Memory:
    corsair vengeange 2x 8

    Graphics Card #1:
    msi gtx 980 4g gaming

    Storage #1:
    samsung 950 pro

    CPU Cooler:
    corsair h90i

    Case:
    gamerstorm tristellar

    Power Supply:
    be quiet dark power pro 11 550w

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Try reseating your GPU and make sure it's inserted all the way down the PCIe slot.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array youtoofan PC Specs
    youtoofan PC Specs
    Motherboardviii impact
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)corsair vengeange 2x 8
    Graphics Card #1msi gtx 980 4gb
    Storage #1samsung 950 pro
    CPU Coolercorsair i90h
    Casetristellar
    Power Supplybe quiet dark power pro 11 550w

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Try reseating your GPU and make sure it's inserted all the way down the PCIe slot.

    Tried that before, same result.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array youtoofan PC Specs
    youtoofan PC Specs
    Motherboardviii impact
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)corsair vengeange 2x 8
    Graphics Card #1msi gtx 980 4gb
    Storage #1samsung 950 pro
    CPU Coolercorsair i90h
    Casetristellar
    Power Supplybe quiet dark power pro 11 550w

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    At first I tried a single cable that splits into 2 8-pin connectors that came with my PSU.
    Then I tried the second cable.
    After that I used both: connected an 8-pin from cable 1 and an 8-pin from cable 2.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Hello youtoofan

    It could possibly be the monitor cable, try different cables that came with your monitor.

    If that doesn't help can you test your gtx 980 in another pc to confirm it works?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array youtoofan PC Specs
    youtoofan PC Specs
    Motherboardviii impact
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)corsair vengeange 2x 8
    Graphics Card #1msi gtx 980 4gb
    Storage #1samsung 950 pro
    CPU Coolercorsair i90h
    Casetristellar
    Power Supplybe quiet dark power pro 11 550w

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I've tried both DVI and Displayport cables.
    Would a faulty monitor cable cause boot problems ? Because once I used my workaround mentioned in my first post, the GPU works as expected. I ran some GPU intensive tasks and games with no problems.
    It's only the when booting up that things go wrong.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Ah ok yep I see you got it working with your work around so we know it does work.

    Is it any better if you set the primary gpu to pcie instead of peg?

    A faulty monitor cable can cause boot problems but I don't think it's the problem with your situation since it works although let's not rule anything out just yet.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array youtoofan PC Specs
    youtoofan PC Specs
    Motherboardviii impact
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)corsair vengeange 2x 8
    Graphics Card #1msi gtx 980 4gb
    Storage #1samsung 950 pro
    CPU Coolercorsair i90h
    Casetristellar
    Power Supplybe quiet dark power pro 11 550w

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    It was at PCIE by default in the beginning.
    I've tried 'auto' and 'peg' after that. With the same result.

    If I disconnect the power from the GPU, the LED will light up and one the fans spin up for a couple of seconds.
    Should the bios detect the GPU at that time? Or does it need both 8-pin connectors to 'see' it ?

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    Thank you

    I'm pretty sure it needs both pcie cables to be recognized in the bios.

    Can you try your gtx 980 in another pc to see if it still acts the same or would you have another gpu to try?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •