Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation MAXIMUS VIII GENE XMP Issues

    Hey All,

    This is my first post on this forum so try not to be too critical. I am having issues setting Intel XMP with this MB. I have done this quite extensively in the past and never had any issues getting these values to set. I have certified ram modules (CMK32GX4M4A2666C16R) and they all past Memtest 86+ so I do not believe it is the memory causing issues. BIOS version 1402 allowed me to set XMP and then manually change the voltage to 1.35V (which is high) to successfully post. Upon flashing BIOS 1504 I cannot post with XMP at all. This is not right, because I should not have to change voltages or anything for XMP to work. I have called ASUS on the issue, but they say that XMP = overclocking and is "unsupported." If anyone has any suggestions please let me know!

    Build Specs (CAD Workstation):
    • MAXIMUS VIII GENE
    • i7-6700K
    • Corsair Hydro Series H100i GTX
    • 32GB CMK32GX4M4A2666C16R
    • EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2 80+ PLATINUM, 650W
    • Samsung 950 PRO -Series 256GB
    • NVIDIA QUADRO K2000
    • Corsair Obsidian Series 350D
    Last edited by fosser2; 03-28-2016 at 12:18 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Instead of using XMP, setup your RAM timings and voltage manually. See if that works.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Instead of using XMP, setup your RAM timings and voltage manually. See if that works.
    Thanks for the recommendation. I have manually set the timings and it seems to have posted. I attached a picture of my screen from CPU-Z and I'm hoping you can let me know if that looks accurate. As for the XMP values, I suppose that I'll just have to wait until ASUS issues a new BIOS that fixes this given issue...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPU-Z XMP CAPTURE.JPG 
Views:	46 
Size:	41.6 KB 
ID:	56620

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello fosser2

    There's nothing wrong with setting your ram manually vs using XMP and your ram is running at its rated specs, it looks good to me and I'd go with that.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello fosser2

    There's nothing wrong with setting your ram manually vs using XMP and your ram is running at its rated specs, it looks good to me and I'd go with that.
    Sounds good, I appreciate the help guys!

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by fosser2 View Post
    Thanks for the recommendation. I have manually set the timings and it seems to have posted. I attached a picture of my screen from CPU-Z and I'm hoping you can let me know if that looks accurate. As for the XMP values, I suppose that I'll just have to wait until ASUS issues a new BIOS that fixes this given issue...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPU-Z XMP CAPTURE.JPG 
Views:	46 
Size:	41.6 KB 
ID:	56620
    Yes, that looks fine!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •