Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    Still testing and trying to eliminate variables in linux (windows tends to take longer to show issues. Linux finds them right away, but my issues might be dual GTX980s and poor support for same in linux by nvidia).

    But here's where I am right at the moment as an example:
    CPU: 4.5GHz
    Cache: 4.0GHz
    VCore: 1.118v
    VCache: 1.1v
    SA: Auto
    LLC: Auto
    DDR: 2800 (128G @ 1.35v)

    1. I didn't try to tune down VCache - I've run this same CPU at 5.0/4.5 @ VCache 1.25v, so I suspect it may be able to do better. Linux is rough on the cache (see above - it will find cache instability much faster than windows for reasons I cannot fully explain).
    2. Those are BIOS commanded values - I saw, but did not fully debug aida64 reporting slightly higher voltages with these same settings in windows.
    3. I may need to bump them to declare 24/7 stability despite 16+ hours of Aida64 earlier because I need it to work in linux or its useless to me.

    I'm going to keep working to get this machine to 24/7 status (since I need to get back to work shortly). I'll update this thread with the final settings of this and my other 5960x once I think it is as good as I am going to get it.
    Last edited by cekim; 04-02-2016 at 04:49 AM.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Martsmac1982 PC Specs
    Martsmac1982 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I7 5960X @4.4GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 RAM @ 2800Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #2ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #3ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #4ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Sound CardONBOARD
    MonitorDELL SP2309W
    Storage #1OCZ SSD (OS DRIVE)
    Storage #22X SSD'S IN RAID (GAMES ARRAY)
    CPU CoolerCUSTOM WATER EK BLOCKS
    CaseCASELABS STH10
    Power SupplyEVGA T2 1600W
    Keyboard UPGRADING SOON K850
    Mouse RAZER OROBOUS
    Headset N/A
    Mouse Pad RAZER
    OS WIN 7/8.1/10
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    97

    That is incredible, my 5960x seems to want no less than vcore 1.35v to hit 4.455 and even then it's still not stable with 64gb DDR4!
    My Rig.

    Caselabs STH10
    Rampage V Exteme
    64GB G. SKILL DDR4 2800 (F4-2800C15Q2-64GRK)
    4x Asus Titan X 12GB VRAM GPU'S IN SLI
    2 x SSD's in RAID 0 for Games
    1 x OCZ SSD purely for OS
    1 x 960GB Crucial SSD for Downloads

  3. #13
    !@#$ you, CPU! Array Gobe PC Specs
    Gobe PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5960X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB Quad 3200 14-14-14-34
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    Graphics Card #2Asus STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro m.2 NVMe 512 Gb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro m.2 NVMe 512 Gb
    CPU CoolerPhobya UC-2 LT w/Phobya DC12-400 pump w/Phobya G-Changer 360mm & Phobya Xtreme 200 V.2 radiators
    CaseCorsair 750D Airflow Edition - Want BIGGER!
    Power SupplySeaSonic X-1250
    Keyboard Vintage (1989) IBM Model M Clicky 'cuz I'm old (PN: 1390131) Bolt-Modded
    Mouse The cat kills 'em, the dog kills the rats and possums, racoons are a problem. Life in the country!
    OS Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
    Network RouterDon't remember; don't care.
    Accessory #1 Ice bucket for the Phobya Xtreme 200 V.2 Radiator
    Accessory #2 Caffeinated beverage du jour
    Accessory #3 The occasional 18 year Glenfiddich, because I've earned it, dammit.

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    I have to say that cekim's 1.118 Vcore at 4.5 GHz is nothing short of astounding.

    I'm beginning to think that there's no telling with the I7 5960X. I have two of them and one is cherry-picked and is able to run individual cores easily at 4.9 GHz with the other 7 cores disabled, and a few of the cores can individually pull off 5 GHZ. The other CPU runs individual cores between 4.7 and 4.9 GHz (all under regular custom loop). From these numbers, you would think that the cherry-picked 5960X would be hands down a better overclocker. Yet, when I run RB H.264 Handbrake with the radiator in an ice bucket, I can get the "regular" 5960X up to around 4.86 GHz and the cherry-picked 5960X up to 4.90 GHz. Not totally stable for either, might get ten cycles on the bench before it crashes, might not get a single cycle run. Not much difference in the end between the $900 off-the-shelf CPU from Microcenter and the $1200 cherry-picked CPU. The cherry-picked 5960X can match core and cache up to about 4.8 GHz and the off-the-shelf 5960X needs to drop cache a couple hundred MHz, so I guess there is that difference.

    Of course, I'm not done looking for sweet-spots in the various settings.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    Quote Originally Posted by Gobe View Post
    I have to say that cekim's 1.118 Vcore at 4.5 GHz is nothing short of astounding.

    I'm beginning to think that there's no telling with the I7 5960X. I have two of them and one is cherry-picked and is able to run individual cores easily at 4.9 GHz with the other 7 cores disabled, and a few of the cores can individually pull off 5 GHZ. The other CPU runs individual cores between 4.7 and 4.9 GHz (all under regular custom loop). From these numbers, you would think that the cherry-picked 5960X would be hands down a better overclocker. Yet, when I run RB H.264 Handbrake with the radiator in an ice bucket, I can get the "regular" 5960X up to around 4.86 GHz and the cherry-picked 5960X up to 4.90 GHz. Not totally stable for either, might get ten cycles on the bench before it crashes, might not get a single cycle run. Not much difference in the end between the $900 off-the-shelf CPU from Microcenter and the $1200 cherry-picked CPU. The cherry-picked 5960X can match core and cache up to about 4.8 GHz and the off-the-shelf 5960X needs to drop cache a couple hundred MHz, so I guess there is that difference.

    Of course, I'm not done looking for sweet-spots in the various settings.
    With some more time in linux, I am seeing the old "there is windows stable and then there is linux stable". Specifically with this chip that will run happily in windows up to 4.8/4.6 (core/cache) and run less happily to 5.0/4.6 but indefinitely without load, linux + speedstep + adaptive has proven to be much more elusive.

    Again and again though, what I find is that 100% load for hours at a time appears to be this chip's "easy". The hard part is all the gymnastics of speed-step.

    Also not surprisingly, the cache appears to play a critical role here (not surprising given the number of gates/area it represents - it is massive).

    I am fairly confident that 1.18 is NOT going to be sufficient in linux for 24/7 stability despite aida64 giving me the thumbs up (16+ hours)

    My other chip with an AIO cooler (so, I can't push it as hard - but it lives in a cool/dry basement normally), is stable in Aida at 4.5/4.5 1.2/1.3 so far. Haven't tried linux yet...

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Martsmac1982 PC Specs
    Martsmac1982 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I7 5960X @4.4GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 RAM @ 2800Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #2ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #3ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #4ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Sound CardONBOARD
    MonitorDELL SP2309W
    Storage #1OCZ SSD (OS DRIVE)
    Storage #22X SSD'S IN RAID (GAMES ARRAY)
    CPU CoolerCUSTOM WATER EK BLOCKS
    CaseCASELABS STH10
    Power SupplyEVGA T2 1600W
    Keyboard UPGRADING SOON K850
    Mouse RAZER OROBOUS
    Headset N/A
    Mouse Pad RAZER
    OS WIN 7/8.1/10
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    97

    Forgive my ignorance but what on earth are you guys using to cool your chips at 4.5+Ghz at such low voltages as you are using??? (my clocks wont stay stable above 4.4Ghz with anything less than 1.36v vcore which is ridiculous compared to 1.18v ish, i mean thats not even in the range of "I just got lucky in the silicon lottery with my chip" 1.18v at over 4Ghz is mental.
    My Rig.

    Caselabs STH10
    Rampage V Exteme
    64GB G. SKILL DDR4 2800 (F4-2800C15Q2-64GRK)
    4x Asus Titan X 12GB VRAM GPU'S IN SLI
    2 x SSD's in RAID 0 for Games
    1 x OCZ SSD purely for OS
    1 x 960GB Crucial SSD for Downloads

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    Quote Originally Posted by Martsmac1982 View Post
    Forgive my ignorance but what on earth are you guys using to cool your chips at 4.5+Ghz at such low voltages as you are using??? (my clocks wont stay stable above 4.4Ghz with anything less than 1.36v vcore which is ridiculous compared to 1.18v ish, i mean thats not even in the range of "I just got lucky in the silicon lottery with my chip" 1.18v at over 4Ghz is mental.
    I don't think it is an issue of cooling, but frankly, your guess is as good as mine. Could just be processor batch or dumb luck. I started from the assumption of my 4970k haswell - set to 1.3v to do anything fun and maybe shave a little off after tuning. So, I added cooling capacity and voltage like everyone else...

    This odyssey of low voltages started with:
    1. I got a 5930k that hit 4.6 effortlessly at 1.35 (the as rock auto OC 4.6 that I hit accidentally). I then found that chip would run to 5.1 at 1.37-1.38 (though far from stable)

    2. then captflippy posted his 1.117 4.5GHz and I had some time to play around this past week, so play I did.

    Cooling on this thing is an EK mono-block plus a 420 (3x140) rad (aka: lots, but no ice or phase change).

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Martsmac1982 PC Specs
    Martsmac1982 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
    ProcessorINTEL I7 5960X @4.4GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 64GB DDR4 RAM @ 2800Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #2ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #3ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Graphics Card #4ASUS TITAN X 12GB VRAM
    Sound CardONBOARD
    MonitorDELL SP2309W
    Storage #1OCZ SSD (OS DRIVE)
    Storage #22X SSD'S IN RAID (GAMES ARRAY)
    CPU CoolerCUSTOM WATER EK BLOCKS
    CaseCASELABS STH10
    Power SupplyEVGA T2 1600W
    Keyboard UPGRADING SOON K850
    Mouse RAZER OROBOUS
    Headset N/A
    Mouse Pad RAZER
    OS WIN 7/8.1/10
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    97

    Yeah thats what amazes me so much. I run with 3 540mm Rads and 1 pump in a single loop (although It shares the loop with 4x Titan X GPU's) and my temps (and clocks) are pathetic compared with yours on my 5960X back to the drawing board with my OC, good work though sir! Kudos to you!
    My Rig.

    Caselabs STH10
    Rampage V Exteme
    64GB G. SKILL DDR4 2800 (F4-2800C15Q2-64GRK)
    4x Asus Titan X 12GB VRAM GPU'S IN SLI
    2 x SSD's in RAID 0 for Games
    1 x OCZ SSD purely for OS
    1 x 960GB Crucial SSD for Downloads

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    Quote Originally Posted by Martsmac1982 View Post
    Yeah thats what amazes me so much. I run with 3 540mm Rads and 1 pump in a single loop (although It shares the loop with 4x Titan X GPU's) and my temps (and clocks) are pathetic compared with yours on my 5960X back to the drawing board with my OC, good work though sir! Kudos to you!
    The chip will do what the chip will do, my only contribution is many hours figuring out what that is. Most of them were fun/productive and do keep in mind I am still hunting for something I'd call rock-solid. Windows is happy and I can't crash it, but linux + speedstep + cache are giving me trouble.

    I have discovered that linux is doing "its own thing" WRT speed-step. That is, if I turn off speed-step and c-states in the bios, linux is still busy tuning the clocks. The only way I stop that entirely is intel_pstate=disable at boot-time which gives me only all-or-nothing control of the clocks (min or max, no auto).

    That (all or nothing) may actually be why windows is stable though, so at the end of the day, that might be the final answer is good temps and voltage + no stepping for max stability. I don't like that answer - I WANT IT ALL!!!! :-)

  9. #19
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    This is linux under low load with speed-step and c-states disabled in the bios (clocks are 4.7/4.2):
    more /proc/cpuinfo | grep -i mhz
    cpu MHz : 1241.250
    cpu MHz : 4444.804
    cpu MHz : 1243.945
    cpu MHz : 2892.890
    cpu MHz : 2930.273
    cpu MHz : 2614.687
    cpu MHz : 4248.750
    cpu MHz : 3172.851
    cpu MHz : 2177.343
    cpu MHz : 2931.914
    cpu MHz : 2780.273
    cpu MHz : 2014.570
    cpu MHz : 2722.968
    cpu MHz : 4262.109
    cpu MHz : 1200.820
    cpu MHz : 2528.671

    If I peg it to 100% load, they all go to to ~4700. It behaves like I have a "performance" speed-step governor running (except more stable so far at any given clock/voltage).

    In fact, it is even "twitchier" than the performance governor. It blips to max very quickly compared to the performance governor and lightning fast compared to the power-save governor.

    Here we are under full load:
    more /proc/cpuinfo | grep -i mhz
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4700.390
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4700.039
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    cpu MHz : 4700.156
    cpu MHz : 4699.921
    Last edited by cekim; 04-04-2016 at 01:10 AM.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    Another 16 hrs now (following 26 hours of stable), but this time with speed-step enabled in the BIOS. No change in behavior within linux with or without. I was mistaken, it is just as twitchy (prone to jump to max freq) with and without speed-step enabled in linux if the performance governor is enabled.

    BUT, I did not re-enable C-states.... (previously auto when I was having random shutdowns).

    Commanded freq/voltage:
    4.5/4.2 @ 1.2v/1.0 (adaptive CPU at 1.2 turbo, offset cache at +.200).

    This sort of setup was not stable with C-states at "auto". It would run fine under load and crash when randomly while idle, but no chance of making it to 16+ hours as it has 2x now (at 4.7@1.25 and now 4.5 @ 1.2). Going to let it run until tomorrow like this before I try the next experiment with C-states.
    Last edited by cekim; 04-05-2016 at 08:57 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •