Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Maximus VIII Extreme

    So I'm trying to hook in my G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel Z170 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C16D-32GVK into my motherboard and we keep getting the code 55 or 41. We had them in slots A2 and B2 at first so we took one out and moved the other one to A1 and that seemed to work. We got all the software installed but when we went to try to hook the second one back in they wouldn't work... Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,787

    Hello Snakeeyesjedi

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Does this happen at default settings?

    There is another member facing the same problem and we haven't found why two 16GB sticks doesn't want to work. He can run one stick with no problem but as soon as he adds the other stick it doesn't want to start. He's replaced the cpu thinking it could be a weak memory controller but that did not help.

    I suggested contacting G.Skill to see what they suggest and I'm waiting for him to respond. If you would like to do the same here is their phone number, if you call them please come back and let us know what they suggest.

    G.Skill U.S.A. technical support phone number.

    1-909-598-6860

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yes

    Yes its on default settings. I can run it on one stick and my CPU is the Intel I7 6700 so i hope its not that. Idk whats going on but i want to use both 16gb cards if i can but if i cant then i will just have to resort to one.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,787

    Thank you

    Give G.Skill a call with the number I provided and see what they suggest.

    Please come back and let us know what they have to say.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Things yo verify:

    1. Screws for the heatsink aren't overtightened.
    2. No bent or missing pins in the CPU socket.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Just got done exchanging emails with G. Skill and they insist it's a deffective motherboard. They can't seem to graphs the message of it works with just one and not with both in

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,787

    Thank you

    Chino made some good suggestions, try loosening your cpu cooler a touch and if that doesn't help inspect the cpu socket for any bent socket pins with a magnifying glass in good light, look close and carefully.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Good day. I am new here; not sure if i must post here or start a new post. I got an asus z170 maximus viii extreme, 6700k, 4x 4gb corsair DDR3200 cl15, huntkey 900watt psu running windows 7 64bit. Everything running on stock as the psu does not have a 3rd 4pin cpu connector. I cant complete some of the windows updates and with that i got some issues with the aisuite. Aisuite sometimes crashes when i update my windows. Any help?

    Sent from Galaxy Note
    Last edited by Dho7rX; 07-28-2016 at 11:31 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •