Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array habbich PC Specs
    habbich PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32GB TridentZ - F4-3200C16Q-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980TI 6G
    MonitorDELL U3415W
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s
    CaseLian Li X2000 TYR
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova P2 1000W
    Keyboard MS Natural Keyboard 9000 + CM QuickFire TK
    Mouse Logitech G502 + 3M Ergonomical Mouse
    Mouse Pad Steel Series glass
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Wireless Xbox controler hub

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Raining Q codes :)

    Motherboard model:
    Rampage V Extreme/U3.1

    UEFI Version:
    2001

    CPU:
    Intel I7 5960x

    Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB:
    G.SKill TridentZ - F4-320016Q-32GTZ, 4x8GB kit (rated @3200MHz)

    GPU:
    MSI 980ti 6G

    SSD/HDDs/Optical drives:
    M2 Samsung SM951 - 125GB
    Samsung 850 EVO - 512GB
    Samsung 850 EVO - 250GB
    Bunch of other Sata HDDs
    Pioneer Sata DVD burner

    PSU:
    Corsair 850 TX

    USB Devices (model/version number):
    MS Xbox Adapter
    3M Ergonomic Mouse
    Logitech G502 mouse
    Cooler Master QuickFire TK

    Monitor:
    DEL U3415W

    CPU Cooler:
    Noctua NH-D15S

    PC CASE:
    Lian Li X2000

    Operating system:
    Windows 10 Pro x64 activated

    Drivers Installed (include version):
    Newest from Asus site.

    Any third Party temp/voltage software installed:
    No

    System Overclocked (provide details)?
    All stock (BIOS Defaults)


    Hi ROG-ers,

    Damn, **** just hit the fan...I had a stable overclock (hours of stress test - RealBench, SuperPI, Mem test, gaming, couple of days uptime), with more than 40 flawless shutdowns/reboots, but yesterday evening I was replying on this thread:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...t-boot-enabled, and wanted to try out CSM, thus I rebooted from windows, destined for BIOS to change that setting.
    But... I never got there - The system halted with Q code 32 (OC panel stoped on USB).
    I've rebooted multiple times, getting different Q codes (98, d6, 95), eventualy got to BIOS where I restored Optimized defaults. After that I am always getting bF Q code (attached picture).
    Cant boot to BIOS anymore (even by clearing CMOS).

    Guess my memory (or at least one of the sticks) went bye bye, right? It is weird by the way, didn't overvolt anything (DRAM voltage was set to 1.35, with manual timings and speed; CPU set @4.5GHz on 125MHz straop and 1.25V Vcore).

    So what am I to do?
    First (as soon as my tears dry out) I'll try to reflash the BIOS with Flashback, to rule out BIOS corruption, then test all the sticks, one by one (easier said that done - using big a** Noctua Cooler, which needs to be removed and attached with every change). I think I'll try it out with one new Ripjaws4 16GB kit which I still posses and I am sure it works.
    What if that does not work?

    Damn, it looks like I am never going to make the system rock solid (with adaptive and speedstep)
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos WP_20160331_21_46_58_Pro_LI.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Onimax PC Specs
    Onimax PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6950X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill RipJaws V DIMM Kit 128GB, DDR4-3000, CL14-14-14-34 (F4-3000C14Q2-128GVKD)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA TITAN X (Pascal)
    Monitor2* ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GiB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 1TiB
    CPU CoolerEKWB Custom loop
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum SMA8
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset SteelSeries H Wireless
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    149

    Hey habbich,

    try raising your VCCSA a little bit that should at least make the bF go away.
    Also happened to me when migrating to the 2001 version of the UEFI - seems as the 2001 requires a little bit more System Agent Voltage than the previous one.
    You should also try to go to the 100 strap, that should also be a lot less problematic (Maybe, and just maybe all your peripheral qcode errors originate from an unstable strap).

    Also stability wise, once you are booted the system's stable, right?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array AdamC PC Specs
    AdamC PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)8 x G.SKILL Ripjaws F4-3000C15Q-16GRBB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX980Ti
    Graphics Card #2MSI GTX980Ti
    Monitor3 x BenQ BL3201PH
    Storage #1SAMSUNG XP941 512G
    Storage #2Too many to list
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseRosewill THRONE-W
    Power SupplyEVGA 220-P2-1200-X1
    OS Windows 7 64 Ultimate

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    136

    Have you ever unplugged the power and completely drained the remaining?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    I don't know what to think BIOSwise at the moment...

    I was led to believe BIOS for 3.1 version and vanilla RVE were the same after 1302...but support site for both have been updated recently and only 1302 to 1801 appear on 3.1 site....1701 even has different description...

    Remove all USB devices before doing the following of course, if that's what it stopped on originally...something might be up with one of the devices...

    Iif things were working fine before just Clear CMOS and/or reflash BIOS BIOS flashback method...

    bF is unstable memory but if it was working before I'd try to get it back to working...tweaking if the BIOS has corrupted is pointless

    EDIT:

    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    This kind of contradicts the "flawless boots" of this thread

    Kind of suggests Your RAM is not really happy maybe
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 04-01-2016 at 03:54 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Avenger411 PC Specs
    Avenger411 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 5930K@4.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)G-Skills DDR4-3200 (16-16-16-36-1T) 1.375v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid AiO Liquid Cooler
    MonitorAsus RoG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1OCZ RD400A (Windows)
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro (Gaming)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1000w Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry-Mx Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
    Headset Roccat 5.1 True Surround Digital
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Iphone 6S 64gb
    Accessory #2 Brainwave Headset Stand
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox360 Pc Controller

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    617

    Hey,

    Do what adamC said first, just to make sure. You shutdown the computer, shutdown psu, remove power cable and hit the start button on your case. This way, you drain any residual current in the board. Clear CMOS right after. If it still doesn't start, try using the second bios. If the second bios boots, it would mean something went wrong in the other bios so a flashback is in order. If second bios isn't booting too now you might have a real problem. One thing at a time, try these first and report.

    Max
    Cpu : Intel 5930K@4.25ghz@1.2v / Cache @4.25ghz@1.20v
    Cpu Cooler : Corsair H100i
    Case : Corsair 780T
    Memory : G.Skills 32GB DDR4-3200mhz CAS 15-15-15-35-1T@1.370v
    Motherboard : Asus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    M2 : Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512gb (Gaming)
    M2 : SSD1 : OCZ RD400A 128gb (windows)
    SSD1 : Crucial MX100 512gb (data)
    Gfx : EVGA Titan X w/ 980 Hybrid Cooling AiO Liquid Cooler
    PSU : Antec HCP-1000W
    Monitor : Asus RoG Swift

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    Yeah simple things first

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array habbich PC Specs
    habbich PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32GB TridentZ - F4-3200C16Q-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980TI 6G
    MonitorDELL U3415W
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s
    CaseLian Li X2000 TYR
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova P2 1000W
    Keyboard MS Natural Keyboard 9000 + CM QuickFire TK
    Mouse Logitech G502 + 3M Ergonomical Mouse
    Mouse Pad Steel Series glass
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Wireless Xbox controler hub

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post


    EDIT:



    This kind of contradicts the "flawless boots" of this thread

    Kind of suggests Your RAM is not really happy maybe
    without Windows fast boot it was...
    Its strange since I could throw any stres test at it and it would pass... Rock stable.
    Last edited by habbich; 04-01-2016 at 06:32 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array habbich PC Specs
    habbich PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme U3.1
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32GB TridentZ - F4-3200C16Q-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1MSI 980TI 6G
    MonitorDELL U3415W
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s
    CaseLian Li X2000 TYR
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova P2 1000W
    Keyboard MS Natural Keyboard 9000 + CM QuickFire TK
    Mouse Logitech G502 + 3M Ergonomical Mouse
    Mouse Pad Steel Series glass
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Wireless Xbox controler hub

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Damn.. Tried to boot with my other bios chip. Got to the HDD part on OC panel when it changed to POST error with Q code being A2. No boot device?



    Weird for sure...since dont get any picture on my screen, BIOS is unacessible.



    Also pulled all my USB devices out, cleared CMOS by removing the battery for a couple of minutes with unpluged mains.



    Slowly loosing it..I have a feeling that at the end I will find a dead GPU
    Last edited by habbich; 04-01-2016 at 06:27 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    Sorry habbich...I may be having a bad day but I genuinely don't understand

    Your first post the other thread
    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    System Overclocked (provide details)?
    All stock (BIOS Defaults)
    Followed by
    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    trying to get a stable OC.
    and
    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    I though this has something to do with the OC
    Though you say
    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    It has something to do with Windows fast boot, since if I disable that option, it does boot normally.
    Now this separate thread

    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    System Overclocked (provide details)?
    All stock (BIOS Defaults)
    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    I had a stable overclock
    Quote Originally Posted by habbich View Post
    I restored Optimized defaults. After that I am always getting bF Q code
    Only want to help...

    What I would do is strip system...everything USB and disk drive that is not necessary off....maybe one stick of RAM.

    Make sure CPU cooler is not too tight...hand tight only

    Clear CMOS

    Flash 1801 from 3.1 board page...fresh download...from a pendrive after formatting this way
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...l=1#post398383

    Reseat everything...cables included...make sure 24pin 8pin and 4pin ATX power are connected

    And sure...try your other RAM

    EDIT:

    OK so found this other post (you do like to keep us hunting for clues LOL)
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ebooting-to-A2

    Basically if you seem stable when in OS but it costs you to get there on boot you are not stable..."seems" stable is not stable...stable OC has no problems booting or running...ever.
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 04-01-2016 at 07:18 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    1. "unhappy ram" is my first go-to with BF and I've seen it A LOT trying to get 128G to run at full sticker speed
    2. fast-boot - my understanding is that this skimps on training (see #1)
    3. LOL at stress tests... I ran 16 hours of aida64, then into linux ran an hour of my usual daily-driver stuff - no problems - temps great - performance great. Then after everything had idled down, I type in a URL and hit enter. out like a light-switch. Nope, not stable yet.

    Stress tests have their limits and they focus on stability under load, but that's only 1/2 the battle (if not less given the gymnastics these chips do at lower loads).

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •