Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Asus rog g771jw no post no bios no boot

    Hello guys. I have a problem with my G771JW laptop.
    At one point i was using Ubuntu as a secondary OS next to Windows 10.
    I stopped using it and went to the bios options to delete the boot options for the Ubuntu so it doesn't prompt me at every startup.
    But then the notebook wouldn't boot at all - no POST (the ROG logo at startup), i screen wasn't lit at all - just nothing.
    The keyboard backlight just goes on and off every 2 seconds and the status LED's just blink from right to left one after the other like a pendulum.
    The DVD drive seems to be working properly. I tried to boot from a CD nor USB stick with no success.
    I tried swapping the hard drives, the RAM and took out the cmos battery to reset the bios but no luck at all with nothing.
    Has anybody experienced this and if so what did you do? The notebook is 9 months old and has been used heavily.

    Thank you.

    Specs:
    i7 4720HQ 2.6-3.6 Ghz
    16gb ddr3 ram
    Adata 120 GB SSD Drive
    Hitachi 1TB 7200rpm Hard Drive
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB
    WIndows 10

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Have you been able to get back in the BIOS at all?
    Sounds like you may have been a bit over zealous with the deletion of boot options.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Have you been able to get back in the BIOS at all?
    Sounds like you may have been a bit over zealous with the deletion of boot options.
    NOPE. i tried blindly navigating but it seems that the laptop reboots itself every 3 seconds and i even if i was blindly accessing the BIOS there isnt enough time to change any settings...

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Is your AC adapter putting out the right voltage? Are you getting any beeps at all?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Is your AC adapter putting out the right voltage? Are you getting any beeps at all?
    I tried with 2 different adapters from friends the the same model - no success. No beeps no nothing. It literally does nothing besides blinking led notifications below the touchpad (i tried looking up the sequence of the blinking but found no reference of it) and turning the backlight of the keyboard on and off

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array Gps3dx PC Specs
    Gps3dx PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Current: G751JT | Retired: G55VW, G51JX
    MotherboardInc M.2 slot
    Storage #1Samsungs EVO 850 128GB
    Storage #21TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 (HTS721010A9E630)
    CPU CoolerMother Nature & Thermodynamics laws
    Mouse Logitech MX 518
    Headset/Speakers Logitech T6060
    OS Cleaned installed Windows 10 HOME x64
    Accessory #1 Leap Motion

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    71
    Posts
    777

    If indeed you cannot enter the BIOS AT ALL, then it might be corrupt.
    Try to perform bios recovery flash, sort of like asus's motherboard "bios free-crash".
    Please take a look here for more info.
    I guess your bios bin file should be renamed "G771JWAS.BIN", as this is the file name that asus provides in the official download site for the G771JW.
    The source of that procedure is based on info from THIS THREAD that discusses the recovery procedure on the G75/G55 serie...
    so it might be true also for the G751/G771 serie and up as well.

    Please note that you need to put the BIN file in the root folder of C drive... for that, take the HDD/SSD out and use another PC for that.
    hope that helps you.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •