Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    TPM 14 Pin for ROG Maximus VIII Hero

    Hi, I've just taken delivery of my lo0vely new Mobo - but I cannot find a 14 pin TPM (Trusted Platform Module) anywhere...
    Can anyone help me out with where I can get hold of one please???

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardSupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    377
    Posts
    17,369

    Hi Notator

    Welcome to the ROG forum !

    I found some here if this is what you're looking for.

    https://computersurpluswarehouse.com...pm-module.html

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Thanks so much Nate - that's the ONLY one I've seen...
    I hope they can ship to the UK because I can't find one anywhere in this country!
    Much appreciated - I don't suppose anyone knows of any UK supplier do they?

  4. #4

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    That is NOT the correct TPM chip. Don't buy it. They don't sell it.

    They "think" it's only for enterprise users, yet they have it on their enthusiasts boards. lol

    Trust me, I own both of these. Doesn't work. They screwed us.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    Wondering if there is any update on this issue. Just purchased a Maximus VIII Formula mobo and plan to install Win10 Pro and use bitlocker. According to MS, this requires that a TPM module be installed.

    Hoping that this capability is supported on this mobo without adding additional hardware. I see that the BIOS supports key management but there is no mention of TPM in any of the ASUS documentation.

    I'm assuming that there are at least a few ROG Maximus VIII users running bitlocker. Comments?

  7. #7

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    I appreciate the links. This may seem like a dopey question but where on the Maximus VIII Formula mobo is the 14-1 (or 20-1) TPM header? I see nothing in the mobo layout drawing and there is no reference to TPM in the manual.

    TPM/bitlocker is "supposed" to be state of the art encryption. It replaced Trucrypt (which requires no additional hw) which I've been using for a very long time.

    The module on ebay/amazon has been chronically out of stock on Newegg.... always a bad sign. A newer looking 20-1 FW3.19 module is available but apparently doesn't work on skylke mobos.

    One would think that a $400 mobo would have all the hardware needed to support a current release OS like Win10 Pro and all of it's features (like bitlocker) out of the box.

    A side concern would be what happens if the TPM module dies? It sounds like the keys are tied to the module that was used to encrypt the HDD/SDD. Is there a way to revover if the TPM module goes bad?

    Is there any ASUS documentation on all of this?

    Many thanks in advance.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    I've beem informed by support (tersely) that the Maximus VIII Formula mobo has no provision to install a TPM board. I presume that there are other Max8 mobos that also do not support TPM. This is possibly a good thing since this capability ought to be native to a $400 mobo anyway. ASUS Support offered zero guidance...... not a very impressive effort on their part.

    So the question becomes, is anyone out there running Win10 Pro bitlocker in any M8 mobo that does NOT support TPM?

    The BIOS has provisions for key support so I'm up in the air on what to do next. I don't want to pay $200 for Win10 Pro is ASUS doesn't support bitlocker. On the other hand, I don't want to buy the home version and figure out a workaround if my M8F motherboard will support Win10 Pro bitlocker.

    Anyone out there running Bitlocker? Many thanks in advance.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jones0610 PC Specs
    Jones0610 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750 JX
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel Pentium G4400
    Memory (part number)g.skill ripjaws 3200 16Gb (8x2)
    MonitorLG LED 28"
    Storage #1WD 3TB red
    Power SupplySeasonic X-series 650
    Mouse Roccat

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    31

    TPM (W10Pro bitlocker support) for Maximus VIII Formula

    Changed the title to be more on-point

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •